Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rustic Salmon Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rustic Salmon Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2013

      Sooooo tasty! And the flavors were even better the next day: best leftovers ever! I used fresh salmon (canned salmon is a travesty!) and this was a beautiful, hearty dish. I do think it could be jazzed up a bit; I made a cream of mushroom soup as an accompaniment, and the pie tasted even better with a few spoonfuls of soup drizzled over it like gravy, and more cheese added on top. Next time I make this, I'll add lots of mushrooms; a few vegetables might be nice too. One point with the recipe: it said to chill the pastry dough. I did so and the result was hard and dry and very difficult to work with, although it tasted very good in the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

    • on October 26, 2009

      My first time doing a salmon pie. The pastry is very easy to do and has a great taste. For the filling, I kept the liquid of salmon and used less milk. I added more mashed potatoes (maybe 1 more cup). Instead of swiss cheese, I used reduced cheddar. I used the green onion. I roasted a small onion and more green onion and added that to the mixture. It is so good. A great recipe I'll do again for sure. Thanks Derf :D Made for Cookbook tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Just wonderful. Made it for Christmas Eve dinner for my husband, his mom and her mother, and all loved it. I used 1lb of fresh salmon, pan-sauteed with a little butter and salt. Used milk instead of cream ... NO need for that extra fat. And if you can let it rest for 5-10mins before serving it firms up -- but not essential. This was only the second pie crust I've made in my life and it was EASY. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Wow. This was wonderful. Made this for the Derf-a-thon. I made it with fresh salmon that my husband caught (we have a freezer full!). Also used regular yellow onion in place of green and fat free evaporated milk in place of the cream (reduced amount by 2 tbsp). The crust was flaky and light, the filling was set and came out nice and firm so the pieces held together nicely when placed on plates. Nice mild salmon flavor and please do use swiss if you can, it makes this dish, in my opinion. Very filling! Excellent recipe and easy directions. Great cold weather recipe for guests! Will make again and again. THANKS DERF!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      Easy and delicious. I used milk and only had cheddar cheese but it turned out great. I even made it the night before - kept crust and filling separate - and left my boyfriend to bake it for after work. He raved about it so much. Guess this will become a staple in our cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      This was delicious! The pastry of this pie was flaky, light and buttery. I did not make it myself but was lucky enough to be served this at Derf's home when we visited her several weeks ago. I can certainly see myself making this and also play around with different fillings for this pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      I have a many decades long & well-earned rep for being able to screw up a boxed cake mix, but I made this today & was so proud. It looked spectacular & the taste was just beyond words. My DH said this will be the !STAR! of our next dinner party. This crust isn't luscious - it's better than luscious! Didn't have whipping cream, so used milk & added 4 tbsp cream cheese to try to compensate ... I used leftover fresh salmon steaks we marinated & grilled last nite ... & I used 3 cloves roasted garlic. Pay attention all you RZ chefs - you gotta try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rustic Salmon Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 407.9
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    55%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 138.6 mg
    46%
    Sodium 581.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes