154 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious recipe! I don't have a working bread machine, so I used my KitchenAid Stand Mixer. I added the sugar and yeast to the warm water, let it foam for 10 minutes before adding it to the other ingredients. Using the bread hook, I kneaded the dough for a few minutes, covered it in a little oil (so it wouldn't stick to the bowl), and covered it for about 25-30 minutes. Then I punched it down, formed the load, and covered it again to rise. I didn't use egg wash, just sprayed water on it before baking. When she says "large loaf," she means it. It's hard to tell in the photo, but it's about enough to feed 8-10 people. I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for sharing!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danakscully64 April 12, 2010

This is the first time I've made homemade bread. I too mixed it in my KitchenAid, then kneaded a few times before letting it rise. The bread was not too dense with great texture and crust. Let it cool and bake it again for 5-8 min to really crisp the crust. Delicious and easy. Thanks andypandy for a great recipe for the rookie bread maker.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffincups March 12, 2011

I've been using this recipe for quite a while and didn't realize I didn't rate it. So, here goes - it's a wonderful, simple Italian bread recipe. I use my KitchenAid mixer to make the dough, and it always turns out wonderful. Great with a bowl of homemade soup, or sometimes I form it into rolls for wonderful homemade hoagie rolls. Yum!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat6456 October 31, 2010

This dough is wonderful. I am making a loaf as I write this. The first time I used it for a pizza dough. After using the dough cycle on the bread machine, I put it into a greased pizza pan and just spread it out with my fingers. Put the topping on and let it rise about 30 min. and then in the oven till done at about 375F. Turned out great.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover May 09, 2010

Fantastic!! My bread machine has bitten the dust so I made it by hand following instructions as written by reviewer Rokmelon "For non breadmachine instructions: Mix yeast with warm water and sugar. Let proof for 10-15 minutes until it gets foamy. Add salt and oil, then flour one cup at a time. Knead till smooth, cover and let sit for an hour, punch down, shape into loaf and bake!" This produces such a great loaf...nice crust and a beautiful light and fluffy centre. Thanks for sharing. :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie March 01, 2008

This is the bread recipe I now use. I kept jumping from one to another because I wasn't satisfied. I use half whole wheat flour in the recipe. Most of the time the loaves tasted too dense using half whole wheat. This one doesn't. I am making this right now and this is about the 5th time making. Wonderful. I use my dough cycle in my bread machine and decide from there whether I want rolls or Italian bread. Great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaJoy! November 19, 2010

Good bread. My bread came out a little dense but I think it's because I did it by hand instead of in the bread machine. Really nice and easy to make. Rises really high in the oven so you might want to move the top rack up a bit.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moe13a June 23, 2010

I have made this many times. It is delicious and has many uses and flavors; loaves, sandwich buns, different spices, flours, etc. It is a very forgiving recipe. I make it in my stand mixer. Just mix all of the dry ingredients in the bowl, then add the water with olive oil mixed into it. Use dough hook on mixer. The secret is as stated in the recipe "... round, soft, sticky to the touch ball." Thanks so much for a delightful and easy bread! Terra

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana-Terra March 28, 2010

Wonderful Italian Bread!!! I made this exactly as written, except I made it into two smaller loafs and froze one loaf, after the 1st rise, and baked the other for dinner. I served this with Lemon Chicken Pasta and green beans for a fabulous meal!! 17 yo DS ate 1/2 of loaf himself!! I will definitely make this again. Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 10, 2010

Easy and tasty. I used my mixer to mix the dough and let it rise for a little over an hour for the first rise.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
g24 September 29, 2010
Rustic Italian Bread ABM