Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rustic Italian Bread ABM Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rustic Italian Bread ABM

    Average Rating:

    152 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 152

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2010

      This is a delicious recipe! I don't have a working bread machine, so I used my KitchenAid Stand Mixer. I added the sugar and yeast to the warm water, let it foam for 10 minutes before adding it to the other ingredients. Using the bread hook, I kneaded the dough for a few minutes, covered it in a little oil (so it wouldn't stick to the bowl), and covered it for about 25-30 minutes. Then I punched it down, formed the load, and covered it again to rise. I didn't use egg wash, just sprayed water on it before baking. When she says "large loaf," she means it. It's hard to tell in the photo, but it's about enough to feed 8-10 people. I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      This is the first time I've made homemade bread. I too mixed it in my KitchenAid, then kneaded a few times before letting it rise. The bread was not too dense with great texture and crust. Let it cool and bake it again for 5-8 min to really crisp the crust. Delicious and easy. Thanks andypandy for a great recipe for the rookie bread maker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      I've been using this recipe for quite a while and didn't realize I didn't rate it. So, here goes - it's a wonderful, simple Italian bread recipe. I use my KitchenAid mixer to make the dough, and it always turns out wonderful. Great with a bowl of homemade soup, or sometimes I form it into rolls for wonderful homemade hoagie rolls. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      This dough is wonderful. I am making a loaf as I write this. The first time I used it for a pizza dough. After using the dough cycle on the bread machine, I put it into a greased pizza pan and just spread it out with my fingers. Put the topping on and let it rise about 30 min. and then in the oven till done at about 375F. Turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Fantastic!! My bread machine has bitten the dust so I made it by hand following instructions as written by reviewer Rokmelon "For non breadmachine instructions: Mix yeast with warm water and sugar. Let proof for 10-15 minutes until it gets foamy. Add salt and oil, then flour one cup at a time. Knead till smooth, cover and let sit for an hour, punch down, shape into loaf and bake!" This produces such a great loaf...nice crust and a beautiful light and fluffy centre. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      This is the bread recipe I now use. I kept jumping from one to another because I wasn't satisfied. I use half whole wheat flour in the recipe. Most of the time the loaves tasted too dense using half whole wheat. This one doesn't. I am making this right now and this is about the 5th time making. Wonderful. I use my dough cycle in my bread machine and decide from there whether I want rolls or Italian bread. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      Easy and tasty. I used my mixer to mix the dough and let it rise for a little over an hour for the first rise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Good bread. My bread came out a little dense but I think it's because I did it by hand instead of in the bread machine. Really nice and easy to make. Rises really high in the oven so you might want to move the top rack up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I have made this many times. It is delicious and has many uses and flavors; loaves, sandwich buns, different spices, flours, etc. It is a very forgiving recipe. I make it in my stand mixer. Just mix all of the dry ingredients in the bowl, then add the water with olive oil mixed into it. Use dough hook on mixer. The secret is as stated in the recipe "... round, soft, sticky to the touch ball." Thanks so much for a delightful and easy bread! Terra

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Wonderful Italian Bread!!! I made this exactly as written, except I made it into two smaller loafs and froze one loaf, after the 1st rise, and baked the other for dinner. I served this with Lemon Chicken Pasta and green beans for a fabulous meal!! 17 yo DS ate 1/2 of loaf himself!! I will definitely make this again. Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Loved this recipe. I used my bread machine to make the dough and it was very easy. After taking it out of my bread machine and making it into the log, I let it rise at least 35 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Great texture in this bread. Worked well for me using Aussie ingredients and in our Aussie summer. I have also made this up into bread rolls and flash frozen before they had a chance to rise. I then placed them in a zip lock bag and stored in the freezer. Defrosts and rises in about 1 hr (though it's hot here). Makes me feel like a domestic godess! Thanks for a great recipe - I really like the structure and chewiness without heaviness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      Very yummy and easy to do.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      This bread is soooooo good. I love the texture, and like the author I make the dough in the bread machine and then take it out and shape it for the last rise. Thanks for posting andypandy!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      This was super easy to make in my Kitchenaid mixer. The bread rose well and looked beautiful when baked. The texture was perfect - a good crust and soft and airy on the inside. The only issue I had was that it did not have a lot of flavour, as another reviewer has pointed out. Maybe more sugar or salt is needed?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Love this bread... So easy using the bread machine. I used vegetable oil instead of olive oil as I don't like the smell of olive oil and instead of using egg white I used the vegetable oil to brush on top of the bread,then sprinkled rolled oats. Wonderfully soft inside and slightly crusty on top. I baked for 35 minutes before I could get a golden colour and a hollow sound on tapping the bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Good tasting bread, but I was looking for a more rustic bread. I wanted a bread that has a thick crusty, crunchy crust with a soft,moist crumb.
      This is a great bread to get done quick for a meal.Nice size also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      I followed danakscully64's instructions for the stand mixer. The bread smelled great, looked professional a the texture is nice. I did not give it 5 stars because we found the taste bland in comparison to other white breads that I make. I think next time I will add a bit more salt.
      Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      This recipe is fabulous. My family asks me to make it several times a week. The flavor is terrific, the crust is amazing, and it disappears fast in our home. Makes terrific rolls, buns, toast, etc. You can shape it any way you like - add toppings, herbs, whatever., I will make this for years to come - so glad I found this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      Another great way to get that nice hard crust is to fill a little spray bottle with water. Every 8-9 mins slip open the oven door and spray the oven a few times. Its amazing the difference it makes in the crust. Happy eating....I just finished making about 40lbs of lasagna, so Im looking forward to making this bread to go along....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rustic Italian Bread ABM

    Serving Size: 1 (34 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.9
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    16%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 90.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes