23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out to be an amazing bread... like others stated i also added an additional 1/4c of water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Itchmesir August 31, 2008

This was my first time doing a bread without a bread machine. I knead it for about 10 minutes like PanNan. I like the texture. I'm glad of my first bread but it was hard on the wrist LOL Thanks Lauralie :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 24, 2008

I made this with my stand mixer and dough hook attatchment. The kneading only took about a minute and a half with the dough hook. Very easy and quick to put together. It's cold here so it took a while to rise. I ended up putting the dough in my laundry closet while I had the dryer going. (covered with plastic wrap, of course!) It rose great after that and cooked up wonderfully! Great recipe for a beginner bread maker! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing January 29, 2008

We thought this was okay. Specifically, I didn't care for it at all, DH was neutral (wouldn't cry if he never had it again but doesn't hate it, was his description), and DS ate it like he eats all bread--voraciously. It didn't seem very flavorful to me (and I don't think it was due to the flour--fresh bags of King Arthur flours), and despite the very small amount of sugar in it, the bread was strangely sweet. The dough had a tendency to be both stiff and sticky--it's the first time I've ever had bread dough stick to my nonstick bread machine pan (and boy, did it stick!). I don't think we'll be making this again. Thanks for posting, anyway, Lauralie--sorry it didn't work out for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve January 21, 2008

Very good, very rustic!!! Just as stated!!! I made the dough in the bread machine and then baked it off in the oven. Lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 October 24, 2007

YUMMY! I too made the dough in my bread maker then baked it in the oven. Came out a little lopsided, but that didn't affect the taste. Wonderful texture too! Ate most of this just plain with butter but used some as cubes for fondue. Held up really well to the hot cheese. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bippie October 04, 2007

Great Lauralie! Something a little different but so so simple, lovely texture. I prepared the dough in the breadmaker and baked the loaf free form in the oven. The only thing I regret is not spraying the loaf to give a nice crust, but I'll do that next time. I served it with a spinach dip and it went really well! Also great with sweet or savoury for breakfast. Cheers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee September 22, 2007

After reading the other reviews I added a little extra water (1 1/2 cups instead of 1 1/3) and cheated anyway; I mixed this on the dough cycle of my bread machine. I think I should have had a little more faith - everything came together just fine and the dough was pretty sticky when I pulled it out; it probably would have been fine with just 1 1/3 cups water. At any rate it came out great. Dense but it rose nicely. My whole family liked both the taste and the texture. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle March 15, 2007

I too needed to add aditional water, but had no trouble with the dough. I made it in my stand mixer and it came together beautifully. After the first rise, the punching down and the 30 more minutes, I divided the dough in two--froze half and formed the other half into a ball. I baked it at 425° and after about 30 minutes I had a lovely little loaf--like a boule. It sliced beautifully, a great crumb and crust--I was very happy with this bread. thanks, Lori!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate October 18, 2005

I had no problems getting the bread to rise, but also added more water to be able to knead it. I decided to knead by hand (something I haven't done for a long time), and it took about 8 - 10 minutes of kneading until it was "elastic" enough. I did score the bread (to allow the steam to escape), and spritzed with water (to get a crispy crust) before putting on a baking stone in the oven. The high temperature worked just fine for me. I used a digital probe thermometer (poked through one of the scores to the center of the bread) and when it reached 190F degrees, I removed it. At that point the exterior was perfectly brown. It took about 35 minutes. This is a heavy, dense loaf - I think a Polish rustic loaf is supposed to be that way. For my own taste preference, I might try adding a little oil to the recipe next time, to add some moisture. Overall a very nice recipe. It produced a beautiful rustic loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan October 16, 2005
Rustic Country Loaf