Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rustic Country Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rustic Country Loaf

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2014

      This worked out great for me! The only changes I made was to use 1 teaspoon of sugar and 2 tablespoons of light olive oil to keep the bread fresher longer. I used 1/2 cup water and the sugar to proof my yeast, added the 2nd 1/2 cup before I put it on the stand mixer. While the mixer was running, I added 1 tablespoon at a time. I believe it took about 1 1/4 cups, but I also added the oil. My flours were King Arthur bread and white whole wheat. It raised up like a champ. I had to leave the house during the process, so stuck it in the fridge (covered) while I was gone. I made my loaf round, but wished I had made a more oval shape. It has a nice chewy texture, but lacks the holes of French country bread. I love rustic breads and this one was quite easy. I wonder how it would be with rye instead of the whole wheat and some caraway seeds? Lauralie41, thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      Excellent bread! Rises high and has a nice soft texture. I made this with my kitchenaid mixer since I have arthritis and my heavy kneading days are history. I also used water at 110F. Glad I tried this, it's definitely a keeper recipe! Thanks for sharing-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      Excellent! Tasty, even texture, and nice color. Impressed that there isn't any fat, eggs, and hardly any sugar. Did add a tad more water and used my dough hook but other than that made as posted. Thank you Laurie for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      FABULOUS! We loved this bread (and probably ate way too much of it with dinner tonight)! The only slight change to the recipe was that I needed to add a bit more water to the dough to get it to the right consistency to knead (maybe about 1/4 C). This produces a crusty exterior and a dense, hearty interior. We absolutely loved this rustic loaf of bread. Worth the effort and wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I received a bread machine about a year ago, and haven't done much bread baking since. This was fairly easy for me.I'm not a whiz bread baker. Mine didn't come out quite so pretty as all of the pics I see, but it still tastes fantastic, and I made it with my vey own hands! Thanks for a great recipe! I will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I followed this to a tee only I used 3 teaspoon of yeast, this is a slightly different bread/method than I am used to making but it turned out great and makes a lovely bread to serve with soup or stew, I will make again, thanks for sharing Lori, this was made for KK's Chef's Pick game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Made this For Kittencals Tag Game. I made this exactly as you said in the recipe, except due to the altitude did add an extra 1/3 cup water, and wound up losing track of time so it baked a bit longer than you called for, Still made a nice crusty full bodied bread, best eaten with soups, or stews. Ohhhh yes I will be making this again, thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      I make all our own breads all the time. I followed your measuring instructions exactly. I used my bosche for mixing/kneading as I lack the hand strength any more. The family devoured what I put out with dinner. lol Thanks for sharing! Made for the September 2009 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I did this using 1.5c water, 1t sugar, and gave it two rises (prob. 1hour each). It came out very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I cook a lot of bread by hand. This recipe is okay but the loaf is small. I did not have to add any water and I did not find the dough sticky- I used Bob's Red Mill organic wheat flours (white unbleached and whole wheat). It took hours to rise, though- I don't know why. A plus was the whole wheat ratio- just enough to put the taste in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      This turned out to be an amazing bread... like others stated i also added an additional 1/4c of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This was my first time doing a bread without a bread machine. I knead it for about 10 minutes like PanNan. I like the texture. I'm glad of my first bread but it was hard on the wrist LOL Thanks Lauralie :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I made this with my stand mixer and dough hook attatchment. The kneading only took about a minute and a half with the dough hook. Very easy and quick to put together. It's cold here so it took a while to rise. I ended up putting the dough in my laundry closet while I had the dryer going. (covered with plastic wrap, of course!) It rose great after that and cooked up wonderfully! Great recipe for a beginner bread maker! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      We thought this was okay. Specifically, I didn't care for it at all, DH was neutral (wouldn't cry if he never had it again but doesn't hate it, was his description), and DS ate it like he eats all bread--voraciously. It didn't seem very flavorful to me (and I don't think it was due to the flour--fresh bags of King Arthur flours), and despite the very small amount of sugar in it, the bread was strangely sweet. The dough had a tendency to be both stiff and sticky--it's the first time I've ever had bread dough stick to my nonstick bread machine pan (and boy, did it stick!). I don't think we'll be making this again. Thanks for posting, anyway, Lauralie--sorry it didn't work out for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Very good, very rustic!!! Just as stated!!! I made the dough in the bread machine and then baked it off in the oven. Lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      YUMMY! I too made the dough in my bread maker then baked it in the oven. Came out a little lopsided, but that didn't affect the taste. Wonderful texture too! Ate most of this just plain with butter but used some as cubes for fondue. Held up really well to the hot cheese. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Great Lauralie! Something a little different but so so simple, lovely texture. I prepared the dough in the breadmaker and baked the loaf free form in the oven. The only thing I regret is not spraying the loaf to give a nice crust, but I'll do that next time. I served it with a spinach dip and it went really well! Also great with sweet or savoury for breakfast. Cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      After reading the other reviews I added a little extra water (1 1/2 cups instead of 1 1/3) and cheated anyway; I mixed this on the dough cycle of my bread machine. I think I should have had a little more faith - everything came together just fine and the dough was pretty sticky when I pulled it out; it probably would have been fine with just 1 1/3 cups water. At any rate it came out great. Dense but it rose nicely. My whole family liked both the taste and the texture. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      I too needed to add aditional water, but had no trouble with the dough. I made it in my stand mixer and it came together beautifully. After the first rise, the punching down and the 30 more minutes, I divided the dough in two--froze half and formed the other half into a ball. I baked it at 425° and after about 30 minutes I had a lovely little loaf--like a boule. It sliced beautifully, a great crumb and crust--I was very happy with this bread. thanks, Lori!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      I had no problems getting the bread to rise, but also added more water to be able to knead it. I decided to knead by hand (something I haven't done for a long time), and it took about 8 - 10 minutes of kneading until it was "elastic" enough. I did score the bread (to allow the steam to escape), and spritzed with water (to get a crispy crust) before putting on a baking stone in the oven. The high temperature worked just fine for me. I used a digital probe thermometer (poked through one of the scores to the center of the bread) and when it reached 190F degrees, I removed it. At that point the exterior was perfectly brown. It took about 35 minutes. This is a heavy, dense loaf - I think a Polish rustic loaf is supposed to be that way. For my own taste preference, I might try adding a little oil to the recipe next time, to add some moisture. Overall a very nice recipe. It produced a beautiful rustic loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rustic Country Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (829 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1805.5
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    70%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2931.3 mg
    122%
    Total Carbohydrate 376.6 g
    125%
    Dietary Fiber 25.6 g
    102%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 58.6 g
    117%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites