Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Russian Tea Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Russian Tea Cakes

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2010

      Yes, these are wonderful, Christmas cookies. Yes, they come from the 1956 edition of Betty Crocker. The actual directions instruct to chill the dough, and bake them for 10-12 minutes. You don't have to put them 2" apart because they don't spread. I made them this Christmas (family tradition), and I did get 48 cookies out of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I have a question!? Is the powdered sugar one of the ingredients that I'm supposed to "mix in" to the batter? or is the 1/2 cup powdered sugar what I'm supposed to be rolling the balls in?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Love these - they weren't the biggest hit with my holiday guests, perhaps because they are messy but they happen to be one of my favorites this year. They keep very well. We used pecans this year. I followed the baking instructions in the Betty Crocker Cooky book, I'm not sure if it makes much difference or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Replaced the butter with Earth Balance, which made these totally vegan. These cookies are the perfect sweet, buttery bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      These are the ones we've been making for 30 years. We all thougth these were handed down from our German grandmother, imagine the disappointment when we learned Betty C. was the originator. Althought these are perfectly fine & delicious cookies, I ONLY use pecans and double the batch with one half subbing the 1/2 cup of powdered sugar for brown sugar (light or dark--dark is more intense). Same process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Excellent cookie. This is my favorite cookie by far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      This is the recipe I remember from Christmas cookies. Very hard to roll the little things without them falling apart, patience and heating up the batter a bit in your hand is necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      The quintessential Russian Tea Cake/Mexican Wedding Cake! They taste just like my grandmother's--who knows, she probably used the original Betty Crocker recipe, too! I took others' advice and processed my nuts (using pecans) until fine in the blender. Perfect, light, delectable. Everyone loved them! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      A friend of mine made these lastnight and shared with me. I had never heard of them before. They were SOOO good, I looked them up and found this recipe. So easy too! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      A ! This is the recipe my grandpa used too. Unbelievable! I used a just a pinch of salt and they came out wonderfully anyway! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I've been meaning to try this recipe because I always loved Danish Wedding cookies when I was a kid. These are exactly what I wanted and were so easy. The family loved them too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Fantastic turn out! I'm not sure what these are supposed to taste like as I've never had them before, but I took them to my restaurant and got rave reviews from the chefs and waitstaff alike! Thank you, CookieMonster2323!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This is the same recipe I've had for years and they are delicious!! The one thing I never add is the salt. I always use pecans and put them in a food baggie and roll over them numerous times with my rolling pin to get them chopped as fine as possibe. It works great. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      No question that this makes a tasty cookie, but I barely got 36 from the recipe, nevermind 48. I thought they were 1" balls, but maybe they were off a little - but a whole dozen? Mine also browned on the bottom and were very gooey to the touch. I'm hoping that they are cooked in the middel because I'm giving them as gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      These are pretty much my favorite cookie to make at Christmas. My Grandmother always made these & they will always remind me of that. One thing that I really must stress - please use good quality walnuts. I prefer to use the Diamond Premium walnuts (sometimes I buy them finely chopped - sometimes I buy the can & use my mini-chopper). The reason I say this is that one year I used the grocery store brand chopped walnuts & they were hard with black specks from the peel. It changed the taste of the cookie for me & they were harder when you bit into them. LOVE LOVE THESE though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This was so easy and so tasty. I love these cookies. I needed to make 6 dozen for a cookie exchange, and this filled the bill perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Lovely simple recipe that is excellent & quick! My first batch of Christmas cookies done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      These are soooooo good. A very simple recipe too!! Absolutley delish!!!!! Can't wait to make these during the holidays which fortunatly is just around the corner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Just the ones I wanted, thanks so much for posting! I left the lil pamphlet I had with these and a dozen other ones on it. So perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      My mom's favorite! I toasted the nuts to enhance the nutty flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Russian Tea Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.0
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    61%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 60.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites