Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Russian Tea Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Russian Tea Cakes

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2014

      I made these great cookies for the Sweet December event & for my X-Mas food gifts for DH's family this yr. They were so delicious & a trip down memory lane as well since they were my Mom's favorite X-Mas cookie. I made 2 chgs w/o chg'ing the heart of the recipe. My DH is diet-restricted from nuts, so I left them out. My containers were round & each item layered in them, so I also chg'd the presentation. I patted the dough into half-inch thickness, used a circular cookie cutter to get a shortbread-type cookie, then generously dusted them w/powdered sugar & re-rolled the excess dough to repeat the process. It worked great for my plan. Thx for sharing this lovely recipe w/us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      These were so good. I have lots of memories of my Mom making these. Sorry there aren't many in the pic - but we scarfed up on these before the pic was taken. lol. Thanks, Lynn. These were delish and I will make them again. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      What a lovely cookie, I doubled the recipe and shared with friends and office colleagues, everyone loved them. I followed the suggestion of cooking on a lower heat (325), worked well for me. Thank you LLynn, lovely recipe, made for I Recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      These are so good, they melt in your mouth. I served them on my holiday goodie plates this year. I have to say the yield of 48 is right on the money. Originally I rolled them too big and only got 23 or 24. But then I decided to cut each one in half and they were a much more attractive size. Thanks Lavender Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Love it, Love it, Love it!! these cookies are a hit and home run, i had to make 3 batches because my kids kept stealing them, but thats ok, my Christmas cookie plates still had plenty for everyone. thanks for sharing ( if there was a 6 star choice i would have selected it)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      These were marvelous. I used 1/2 margarine and 1/2 butter which turned out fine. Mine were a little larger than 1" I guess, because I only got 33. Because they were big, I was worried they'd get too brown on the bottom before they were fully baked, so I followed Seasoned Cooker's suggestion to bake at 325. They were perfectly done at 23 minutes. Thanks for sharing this new keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      SO GOOD! Just make a batch of these to throw on a cookie tray. Remind me of Sandies (one of my favorites). My BF keeps sneaking into the kitchen to grab a bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I remember this recipe growing up as Nut Puffs, but regardless of the name the taste is the same. These are a quickly disappearing holiday cookie. Thank you for posting a long lost recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      These are some of my favorite cookies. I made them with my cooking class that I teach. Most of these girls have never even seen a measuring cup, so we had fun. They LOVED them! Made for ZWT 4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Awesome cookie!!! These were always known around our house as Pecan Sandies, and there was never a Christmas gone by that I didn't make these for my cookie trays when I made them. They are sweet and buttery and loaded with nuts with just the most delicious taste. One of my "Faves" for sure! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I did two batch of these little gems. The first was on a non-stock cookie sheet. They turned out wonderful! The second batch I used one of those cooking liners and the bottoms of the cookies flattened! No matter, they were still loved and gone by the end of the Day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      These are great! My mom made them years and years ago. They are still a family favorite. We've always used pecans instead of walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I make these all the time. I've used pecans as often as I've used walnuts, and it always turns out great. What I love the most is that they don't spread out, so you can fit all the cookies on the same sheet. This is a one-bowl, one batch recipe! I usually sift powdered sugar over the tops while they're still hot, and then roll them once thay've cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      My Christmas would not be complete if I didn't have these goodies!!! They are known by many names...butter balls, sand tarts and sanddunes. I have found that I am so busy making cookies that I do not have time to roll each into a ball. My quicker method is to roll the dough out into a 1 inch long strip and cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces, making "little logs". These are not so overpoweringly sweet and just melt in your mouth! Thanks Lynn for sharing!(Edit on 12-18-07 - I cook these precious little goodies at 325 degrees for 25 minutes. This allows the pecans inside to get done and the lower heat helps prevent overbrowning.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Made for photo tag Winter 07 Very easy to prepare and it made exactly 48 cookies just like Lynn posted,that never happens to me.LOL I think these will be even better after a week or two as they are somewhat like a shortbread dough. Can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      On the forums, someone asked what your must-have recipe for Christmas was. I came looking to see if this was posted, and here it is. I've been making this for years. In the cookbook, it says they are especially favored by men, but I've never met a soul who didn't love them. They look like little snowballs. I would not be allowed through the holiday season without them. Watch the bottoms to make sure they don't get too dark,as the chef said, you want the cookies set, but not brown. Thanks, chef, for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Russian Tea Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (13 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.1
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    62%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes