Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Russian Tea Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Russian Tea Cakes

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2002

      These are delicious, one of my favorite cookies of all time. Just had them out our cookie exchange and I can't stop eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Wonderful recipe. I made them a couple of weeks before Christmas. My husband and son looked at me like I was crazy when I told them I was making tea cakes, but they sure did eat alot of them. Then my niece tried one and requested the recipe for a get together where she and her mother-in-law make Christmas goodies. She said they "stole the show" and she was on her way to get the ingredients to make some more. I think it is safe to say these merit a 5 star rating!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      My sis makes another version of these every year for Xmas--she couldn't believe how much simpler the steps are for this one and they turned out better! Husband claims best cookies he's ever had. That's his taste! They ARE really good. I chill them for just a few minutes to make sure they don't spread --SOFTEN the butter--don't melt it, that's why they spread !! Also, if you don't have 2 full cups of nuts they will still taste great. This last batch I made had only 1 cup and I couldn't tell the difference. Lastly, mine crumble if I try to roll while hot, they really need to cool, so I sift the powdered sugar on while they sit on the cookie sheet. Less or more of that is another thing that doesn't seem to ruin them or make them better, just prettier.... GREAT RECIPE! A keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I've made these cookies for years, but unfortunaltely, this recipe did not work for me. They spread out and were flat instead of staying in the ball shape and also burned very easily. I threw them out, sorry to say.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This recipe is too greasy for us. The dough never came together like I expected, I had to add more water, and the cookies themselves need more sugar in the dough, I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      My family loved it, my dad's only complaint was that it was too oily and rich, next time I think I'll use a little less butter or maybe a less buttery butter :p? But the taste was excellent -- for those of you who aren't watching your weight, this is excellent food that's not too sweet but just right :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I must admit, I do not care for these cookies in general, but my husband loves them, so I made these for him. He said they were, "to die for." They were really easy to make and smelled wonderful. As another reviewer suggested, I did grind the pecans and everyone seemed to really love the flavor/texture. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      These were/are a tradition in my family, too. The only thing I do differently is to grind up the pecans. It gives the cookies a really delicate, melt-in-your-mouth texture. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      Excellent and easy, great holiday dessert

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      Delicious. I believe that this is the recipe that my mother used to use when she made these for Christmas. Always have to keep a REALLY close eye on these so that they don't burn, but they're soooooo good! Thanks so much for posting this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      I made the recipe exactly as instructed. The results were similar to what I tasted in other cookies like these. I thought they were good, but I wasn't blown away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      Simple to make, taste great too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      These are the best cookies. My mom makes these for Christmas every year and they get eaten so quickly by everyone! Plus, they're easy to make. These are probably one of my most favorite cookies to eat. Thanks for posting the recipe! (Oh yeah, you really need to use pecans in this recipe -- finely chopped -- no other nut will do it justice!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      I made three batches; one with pecans which EVERYONE LOVED and immediately gobbled up. One with almonds which got an "O.K."reception and lots of "Where are the pecan ones?" but I thought they were just as good. And since I love walnuts I made a batch with walnuts too, but I was the ONLY one who liked those. Everyone seemed to like the pecans alot more than the almonds and walnuts. This is a very good tea cake recipe, actually alot better than my Oma's. Thank you Erin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2004

      Thank you so much for posting this wonderful recipe Erin. I made these cookies today and they are so tasty and tender. I didn't have any pecans so I used almonds instead and the cookies turned out great. This recipe is certainly a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      My favorites! My mom makes them for Christmas every year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2003

      These are one of my all time favorite Christmas cookies! My Grandmother always made these but she is very old now and can't really tell me how to make them it seems and didn't have the recipe written down. Her recipes were mostly stored in her memory. Made them today and these were it! They turned out perfect! They were easy to make too! This will be the cookie I always make at Christmas now! Thank you so much for sharing one of my favorites! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      ah, another one of my christmas-time favorites. thanks for giving it away to everyone erin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Russian Tea Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (832 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 742.5
     
    Calories from Fat 515
    69%
    Total Fat 57.2 g
    88%
    Saturated Fat 21.7 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 81.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 218.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 18.4 g
    73%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites