18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are delicious, one of my favorite cookies of all time. Just had them out our cookie exchange and I can't stop eating them!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troyh December 14, 2002

Wonderful recipe. I made them a couple of weeks before Christmas. My husband and son looked at me like I was crazy when I told them I was making tea cakes, but they sure did eat alot of them. Then my niece tried one and requested the recipe for a get together where she and her mother-in-law make Christmas goodies. She said they "stole the show" and she was on her way to get the ingredients to make some more. I think it is safe to say these merit a 5 star rating!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dixiediva December 22, 2008

My sis makes another version of these every year for Xmas--she couldn't believe how much simpler the steps are for this one and they turned out better! Husband claims best cookies he's ever had. That's his taste! They ARE really good. I chill them for just a few minutes to make sure they don't spread --SOFTEN the butter--don't melt it, that's why they spread !! Also, if you don't have 2 full cups of nuts they will still taste great. This last batch I made had only 1 cup and I couldn't tell the difference. Lastly, mine crumble if I try to roll while hot, they really need to cool, so I sift the powdered sugar on while they sit on the cookie sheet. Less or more of that is another thing that doesn't seem to ruin them or make them better, just prettier.... GREAT RECIPE! A keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beeivis January 27, 2009

I've made these cookies for years, but unfortunaltely, this recipe did not work for me. They spread out and were flat instead of staying in the ball shape and also burned very easily. I threw them out, sorry to say.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladydawn December 14, 2008

This recipe is too greasy for us. The dough never came together like I expected, I had to add more water, and the cookies themselves need more sugar in the dough, I think.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gr8full One December 26, 2007

My family loved it, my dad's only complaint was that it was too oily and rich, next time I think I'll use a little less butter or maybe a less buttery butter :p? But the taste was excellent -- for those of you who aren't watching your weight, this is excellent food that's not too sweet but just right :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss.rogue April 22, 2007

I must admit, I do not care for these cookies in general, but my husband loves them, so I made these for him. He said they were, "to die for." They were really easy to make and smelled wonderful. As another reviewer suggested, I did grind the pecans and everyone seemed to really love the flavor/texture. Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cortneytreat December 23, 2006

These were/are a tradition in my family, too. The only thing I do differently is to grind up the pecans. It gives the cookies a really delicate, melt-in-your-mouth texture. Thank you for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl December 14, 2006

Excellent and easy, great holiday dessert

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
add30 November 26, 2006

Delicious. I believe that this is the recipe that my mother used to use when she made these for Christmas. Always have to keep a REALLY close eye on these so that they don't burn, but they're soooooo good! Thanks so much for posting this! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maura666 September 19, 2005
Russian Tea Cakes