22 Reviews

The flavor of this bread is soooo good. Strong rye flavor and just what I was looking for. That said I did have some problems with making it, I'm thinking it's not the recipe issue but probably as I'm fairly new at working with rye bread. I thought I followed the recipe and loved that it made a small loaf so that I didn't have a lot of waste. The size turned out perfect for me and DH. But while the ABM was working I noticed that the dough was really dry and crumbly - not coming together into a ball. I added more water a tablespoon at a time and it took about a half a cup more before it began to come together as I expected. Being rye I expected a sticky dough not a dry one so this was a surprise to me. When I did get the dough, it had a good rise and the flavor when done was just what I was looking. Worth the extra effort.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 October 29, 2013

This was wonderful bread! Mixed the dough in the bread machine, then took it out, kneaded it about 30 seconds, formed into a loaf and let it rise again. Baked it in the oven. Turned out great! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HRaba June 30, 2012

I wanted a small loaf and this fit the bill. Because I don't like the shape of any loaf in my machine, and I knew a small loaf would be a 4-inch FLAT square, I finished this off by hand, and baked in a small loaf pan. I got a perfect snack-sandwich size loaf. This is a light rye, so flavor is subtle. As per a previous review, I used half light honey and half molasses for the dark honey. Thanks for this keeper, for when we want just enough rye bread to go with our soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey August 14, 2011

Maybe I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe as outlined. The bread was lumpy, and didn't rise properly. It didn't seem like there was enough moisture in the dough. Tasted good, but I think it would take me a few tries and some minor adjustments to get a well formed loaf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
br2brown June 13, 2010

Makes for a perfect great tasting small loaf - just the right size for the two of us. Great texture, slices beautifully and best of all tastes really good! Made the first loaf in the breadmaker, the second I used the dough cycle and shaped into a 'French' style loaf baking in the oven giving us great little slices - perfect served with Hearty Vegetable and Lentil Soup. First loaf made as posted - the second cut the honey to one tablespoon using 2 tablespoons of the butter to compensate - both made for excellent results. My flour required using an extra tablespoon of water. The caraway seed which I love was just right for our tastes. This breadmaker highly recommends this to the Rye bread lovers. I thank you Annacia and my dh thanks you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry December 12, 2009

Really wonderful rye bread, soft and delicious. I made this by hand and then baked it in the oven. I used my favorite Ultragrain flour, which is whole grain but has the texture of white flour. Since it's not bread flour, I added gluten. My rye flour is dark rye flour, and the color of these loaves is a rich light brown crumb, with a golden crust. I think I may try this next time with a sourdough starter adaptation. Yummy bread, Annacia! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too June 18, 2008

Made as written for the Quest event as 1 part of a "Bottomless Breadbasket" & served w/sml baguette rolls for a cuisine fusion family dinner party for 8. 1 guest was known to have a big appetite & there were 2 teenagers, so I made 2 loaves to be sure I had enough. As a legacy of my childhood, I am esp fond of rye bread. This had a good flavor & texture, but (like many reviewers) I also felt the need to add water to the dough. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. It will be repeated. . .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis August 11, 2014

I agree with other reviews that it needs a little more moisture-dough ball was very dense and dry when I removed it from the bread machine. It also didn't rise much but I think my yeast was a little old. Loaf turned out very dense but still is very tasty! I didn't have any caraway but added some flax seed since my doc told me I have to start eating better! Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PubRat January 16, 2014

Followed the recipe but it didn't rise correctly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dho08 December 14, 2012

So delicious! I love Russian rye, made it many times. I changed it a bit. I used barley malt syrup instead of honey and baked it in the oven after the bread machine was done with the first rise. I increased the water, my flour must be dry and I omitted the caraway as DH doesn't care for it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl December 04, 2012
Russian Rye Bread for the Bread Machine