Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Russian Mushroom and Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Russian Mushroom and Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2010

      My wife is from Russia and she raved how it tasted exactly like homemade Russian soup. It was gone in a day. We will be adding this to our regular meal rotation. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Found this recipe and made it right away. Scrumptious! As others have said, it's hearty with great flavor and very satisfying. I did not use the dried mushrooms as I didn't have any on-hand. It was just fine without them though I'm sure they would add some additional rich flavor. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      getting cold here in sydney.... yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      great flavor, my husband loved it, and even my fickle toddler ate it. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      I had a similiar mushroom soup many years ago when I lived in another state and have been trying to find a recipe for a mushroom soup that wasn't cream based. Thanks so much for posting this! I love this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      I used veggie boullion in place of the consomme and about half the butter called for(trying to reduce our fat intake). This turned out more like a casserole than a soup, but that may be because I used pearl barley instead of instant. Nonetheless, this dish has incredible flavour and is very filling. I tried it without the sour cream and loved it so I skipped adding it. Thanks for a great vegetarian recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      I've made this several times and never rated it. Should have after the first time. This is a great soup, especially during the winter when you need something hearty. I usually don't use the dried mushrooms, but otherwise leave the recipe as is. Its in my recipe book with spatters and stains all over the page. A friend of mine says that's how you tell a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      great soup I substituted french onion soup mix for the consomme worked out very well. everyone thought it was very meaty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      I made this for my friends and I substitued brown rice for the barley and they loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2003

      Yep, Russian that is, know it first hand ;) Great recipe, just what I have. I actually prefer fresh mushrooms over dried. We used to add Sunflower oil but for the lack of it sour cream works just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      Best soup I've ever made! I'm a fanatic about mushrooms so this was perfect. I doubled the amount of mushrooms -- I quartered/halved 24 oz. of fresh button mushrooms and then really finely chopped another 8 oz. for a difference in texture. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. The boyfriend was initially concerned about the lack of meat in the recipe but after he tried some there was no complaining. So rich and delicious! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Russian Mushroom and Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (590 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.9
     
    Calories from Fat 206
    46%
    Total Fat 22.9 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 47.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 911.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon zest

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites