38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We made this up and had some friends over and everyone just loved it!! It has a very nice orange, spicy flavor. Thanks for posting this recipe!

70 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz February 12, 2002

I really enjoyed this tea!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peach February 15, 2002

I wonder if Karen and I went to the same university :) Brings back memories of college era hayrides. I dug out my recipe - and it's exactly the same. It's a wonderful warmer upper and a nice combination of ingredients. Kind of sweet, kind of spicey. Do not expect it to taste like tea. There is no ingredient that overpowers the others.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satisfied Kris January 05, 2003

I used to make this over 25 years ago, in college ... and couldn't believe I could find the recipe here. Thank you so much for providing it! It's exactly as I remembered it. Perhaps not to everyone's taste, but a refreshing change from the typical hot drinks. My husband, who is on chemotherapy and finds little to like, was surprised how much he enjoyed it. Next time I make it, I'll slightly increase the amount of cinnamon and cloves, and slightly decrease the Tang.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen W. Johnson November 23, 2002

no it doesn't taste like real tea..it's more of a spiced drink but it is sooooooo good!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sallyabreak September 15, 2002

Yum and delicious! I love Russian tea, and this was a great mix idea for gifts! I will be handing these out for Valentines Day! I only added 3/4 cup of sugar. It is such a warming and quick treat for these cold Wisconsin nights, but it is quite good cold too. Made and Reviewed for Comfort Cafe - Tea For Two - Thanks! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ January 29, 2009

I have been making this recipe since college days, too. I had to twist arms to get the recipe, as the person did NOT have a Zaarian philosophy about sharing recipes! Another nice way to share this as a holiday gift is in a baby food jar. You can dress it up by tying a circle of holiday printed cloth over the lid with some ribbon. The kids always ask for this at the first sign of a cold. Think I'll put some in DS's next college care package.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy from Hawaii February 21, 2004

I didn`t have unsweetened lemonade mix so I used sweetened yes along with the called amount of sugar. And it came out fabulous! I hated tang as a child was a little nervous about this but it`s great. This would be and will be made in a crock for autumn parties!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 19, 2003

I made this to give as gifts for friends at our Girls Weekend. As recommended I reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. I also bought small decorative jars and made a gift tag with the instructions. Thanks for a great tea and gift idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz February 25, 2011

We just made this for our Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPS) mommy's group as a winter craft activity! Made neat little half-pint jars with pretty ribbons, fancy gift cards, and we went home with a great recipe and a neat little gift for a friend or neighbor! I had to come home and make a big batch for us - I can jellies etc alot so have lots of jars, and mixed mine in a quart-sized jar (this fits perfectly) with a plastic lid (available in the canning supplies - it twists on and off like a breeze, with no little metal lids etc). The zinc lids look nicer for a gift, but the plastic works great for something here at home! Super for winter dry throats, cold and flu recovery, and is low caffeine enough to have in the evenings too. I did cut the sugar down quite a bit as my Tang and lemonade mixes already included sugar. Great recipe, thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJ-Montana January 05, 2010
Russian Friendship Tea Mix