Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Russian Friendship Tea Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Russian Friendship Tea Mix

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2002

      We made this up and had some friends over and everyone just loved it!! It has a very nice orange, spicy flavor. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2002

      I really enjoyed this tea!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      I wonder if Karen and I went to the same university :) Brings back memories of college era hayrides. I dug out my recipe - and it's exactly the same. It's a wonderful warmer upper and a nice combination of ingredients. Kind of sweet, kind of spicey. Do not expect it to taste like tea. There is no ingredient that overpowers the others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      I used to make this over 25 years ago, in college ... and couldn't believe I could find the recipe here. Thank you so much for providing it! It's exactly as I remembered it. Perhaps not to everyone's taste, but a refreshing change from the typical hot drinks. My husband, who is on chemotherapy and finds little to like, was surprised how much he enjoyed it. Next time I make it, I'll slightly increase the amount of cinnamon and cloves, and slightly decrease the Tang.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      no it doesn't taste like real tea..it's more of a spiced drink but it is sooooooo good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Yum and delicious! I love Russian tea, and this was a great mix idea for gifts! I will be handing these out for Valentines Day! I only added 3/4 cup of sugar. It is such a warming and quick treat for these cold Wisconsin nights, but it is quite good cold too. Made and Reviewed for Comfort Cafe - Tea For Two - Thanks! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      I have been making this recipe since college days, too. I had to twist arms to get the recipe, as the person did NOT have a Zaarian philosophy about sharing recipes! Another nice way to share this as a holiday gift is in a baby food jar. You can dress it up by tying a circle of holiday printed cloth over the lid with some ribbon. The kids always ask for this at the first sign of a cold. Think I'll put some in DS's next college care package.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      I didn`t have unsweetened lemonade mix so I used sweetened yes along with the called amount of sugar. And it came out fabulous! I hated tang as a child was a little nervous about this but it`s great. This would be and will be made in a crock for autumn parties!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      I made this to give as gifts for friends at our Girls Weekend. As recommended I reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. I also bought small decorative jars and made a gift tag with the instructions. Thanks for a great tea and gift idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      We just made this for our Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPS) mommy's group as a winter craft activity! Made neat little half-pint jars with pretty ribbons, fancy gift cards, and we went home with a great recipe and a neat little gift for a friend or neighbor! I had to come home and make a big batch for us - I can jellies etc alot so have lots of jars, and mixed mine in a quart-sized jar (this fits perfectly) with a plastic lid (available in the canning supplies - it twists on and off like a breeze, with no little metal lids etc). The zinc lids look nicer for a gift, but the plastic works great for something here at home! Super for winter dry throats, cold and flu recovery, and is low caffeine enough to have in the evenings too. I did cut the sugar down quite a bit as my Tang and lemonade mixes already included sugar. Great recipe, thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This was a lot like a favorite recipe from years ago. I did change a little: no added sugar, 2 cups UNsweetened ice tea powder, 1 container Crystal Light lemonade. It was plenty sweet and a lovely treat on a sub-zero afternoon! (Funny how everyone has different tastes about the sweetness - to each their own!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Made this for myself and for Christmas gifts. Loved it!! I didn't buy the sweetened tea and ended up adding more sugar. Next time I will look for the sweet tea and I'm sure it will be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Just what I was looking for. I halved the recipe and ground it in the blender to smooth it out. I am working on the equations for a one cup recipe, and will add to this review when I figure it out. Thank you for bringing back memories from my home church and the wonderful ladies there that served this so long ago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

    • on December 17, 2008

      I made up some of this to give to friends for Christmas. It was so good when I tried it myself, that I had to give some to them to try, and this was the perfect time to make them for the holidays. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I've enjoyed this recipe. I followed the ideas of some reviewers and blended the powder in a food processor. Made for a smoother, more well-blended mix. However, I think there was too much sugar in this recipe. I've had to add extra unsweetened iced tea powder to dilute the sweetness. I would use the recipe again, but cut way back on the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      I was so happy to find this recipe! My Nana used to make this for me as a child and I lost the recipe several years ago. This is a delicious, autumn tea and anyone whom I have ever given it to has absolutely adored it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Very nice hot cup of tea. I made this up and ran it thru my coffee grinder to mix everything up and to get a smoother texture. But, I found when doing this that one teaspoon is enough. I left out the sugar completely as I was using sweetened lemonade and unsweetened tea and found it to be sweet enough for my tastes. This will make a lovely drink this fall/winter that I will enjoy. Thank you for posting Heatherfeather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I had gastric bypass about one and one half years ago and I'm always looking for new drinks that i can drink all day long. I replaced the tang with crystal light(two tubs of orange and one lemonade), the sugar with spenda and the sweented tea with decaf instant tea mix. It tastes great and the aroma is even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      DH made this for gifts. It is really good, and the kids really liked it. However, I found it too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Russian Friendship Tea Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    27%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 50.1 g
    200%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    instant Tang orange drink

    unsweetened lemonade mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes