Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Russian Borscht Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Russian Borscht

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2009

      This was delicious. I was impressed at how hearty it was w/o meat. I did modify the ingredients to match what I had. I did not have cabbage, but I added chopped cauliflower and grated potato. I also added oregano, bay leaves and dill as embuggy suggested. I didn't have any sour cream, but I added a teaspoon of cream cheese to each serving. I'm excited to try the leftovers tomorrow! Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

      This soup was so easy to make, and a fantastic way to use beets. I made it with red cabbage, just to intensify the purple veggie content. Too bad my DH doesn't like beets, but that just means more for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      Delicious!! Will be making this often!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      So I have only had this soup once before at a Russian restaurant and I have to say that your version was even better! I love beets and cabbage so I guess it comes as no surprised that I loved this too. Super easy. Super budget friendly. I used non dairy sour cream. Hubby care for it but I personally think this is 5 stars all the way. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      I have never liked borscht and didn't think my family would either, but we decided to try this recipe while studying about Russia. Many tears were shed by my children who did not want to eat this. My DH took one taste and poured his in the trash (when the kids weren't looking). We are still not fans of borscht. This may be a good recipe for it but it didn't win any of us over to beet & cabbage soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Overall a great recipe! I quadrupled it even though it was a 1st time attempt. It turned out great & I love how all the veggies are shredded...somehow it tastes better! I did find it a tad on the bland side so added some salt, pepper, and vinegar. Anything more I think would be too overpowering. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      When life gives you beets, make borscht! We got a ton of beets in our CSA this year and I generally don't like beets, I think they literally taste like dirt. But I ventured out on a limb and tried this recipe. I am so glad I did! For being so simple, this is a great soup. Like a beety french onion soup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Absolutely wonderful! A bit time consuming to make if you're grating everything by hand, but well worth the effort. However, the beef broth is what makes it, so don't use a cheap brand! Trust me, it makes a huge difference on the end product.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      This is delicious, and makes good leftovers. It's filling, has a whole ton of vegetables in it, and using a food processor for the shredding/chopping made it pretty quick too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      Delicious!! I've made this 4-5 times now, following the recipe plus adding herbs (dill, thyme, oregano, cilantro -- fresh are best, but dried are great too) along with salt and pepper. My DH and ultra-picky kids love it. I've also taken it to a couple of "soup parties" where it has been a big hit. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      Excellent dish! This was my first attempt at borscht and it's a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      We found this to be a great non-meat borscht. I followed the recipe and directions, but because I bought a low-sodium beef broth, I did add a little salt and pepper to taste. Also, my DH added a little dill to his (as that is how his mother always made it). Do the reviewer who found it bland - if you used homemade beef stock/broth, you probably did need to add a little salt & some seasonings. I don't think it's really fair to rate a recipe when you don't actually use the ingredients that are indicated. That's like rating a movie that you didn't actually watch based on the previews you have seen...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      WOW! yum! So incredibly easy and so amazing in taste! It's a nice rich flavor while still being relatively light! I actually made some homemade bone broth just prior to making this recipe, and my bones were meaty, so I chopped up the meat and threw it in the dish. I don't think the flavor changed much from doing this. It's really a fantastic dish as is. oh--I did add salt and pepper to taste; that's the only other change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Made this for our Khazak exchange student who was craving a taste of home. She loved it-- said it was similar to what her mom made. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      I have to say this was a great recipe... we just got back from Russia after adopting our precious daughter and this tastes just like the Borscht we had there. I did add some fresh dill and i think that it really compliments it well. Thanks for a great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      How is it possible for vegetables and no seasonings to taste so good? It's like magic! So yummy. Even my very hesitant boyfriend loved it! Only one question; was I supposed to peel the beets? I did, and it seemed to work out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      I found this soup kind of bland and I was eating it the next day. I added a bay leaf and a little bit of dried marjoram as I didnt have any oregano like another reviewer suggested. I used part of a huge red cabbage and homemade beef stock, and olive oil in replacement of butter to be dairy free. I dont expect I will make this again and if I want a Borscht I will look for another recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I made this borscht during this past winter and wow, was it ever delicious. I wanted to make some easy recipes to celebrate my Polish/Russian heritage and this was a great way to start. It was easy and saved well. I used red onion and red cabbage to really intensify the color of the borscht. I served this with some sour cream I blended with lemon juice and fresh dill, as well as potato pancakes. Thanks for the fabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I love this recipe for its simplicity, great taste, and the fact that it's pretty much impossible to screw up. I don't worry much about measuring how much veg I put in it, I just keep stirring until it all cooks down (which takes longer than specified below, usually 40m to really get the cabbage tender, though that's probably because I put a lot more in). I make this often and from scratch with beef bullion instead of canned...makes my whole house smell amazing! Also fabulous with a heavy pumpernickel bread & butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Definitely better the next day! I love borscht and this is the first time I've made it myself. I really like the borscht I've had at restaurants better. But this stuff is pretty good. I added bay leaves, oregano, thyme, and some dill while everything was cooking. I also added cilantro finish it off. I also added a sprinkle of sea salt and some pepper. Otherwise, I think this would be very bland as is. Really good and easy to prepare, but I am going to still look for a better recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Russian Borscht

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 61.1
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    28%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 614.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes