29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found this soup kind of bland and I was eating it the next day. I added a bay leaf and a little bit of dried marjoram as I didnt have any oregano like another reviewer suggested. I used part of a huge red cabbage and homemade beef stock, and olive oil in replacement of butter to be dairy free. I dont expect I will make this again and if I want a Borscht I will look for another recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 27, 2009

This was delicious. I was impressed at how hearty it was w/o meat. I did modify the ingredients to match what I had. I did not have cabbage, but I added chopped cauliflower and grated potato. I also added oregano, bay leaves and dill as embuggy suggested. I didn't have any sour cream, but I added a teaspoon of cream cheese to each serving. I'm excited to try the leftovers tomorrow! Thanks again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BAM2780 March 06, 2009

I have never had borscht before. I like all the ingredients, so I of course liked the soup. I thought it was a little bland. I will probably try a meat based borscht recipe next time, but this wasn't bad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 January 30, 2015

This soup was so easy to make, and a fantastic way to use beets. I made it with red cabbage, just to intensify the purple veggie content. Too bad my DH doesn't like beets, but that just means more for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneEye November 03, 2014

Delicious!! Will be making this often!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missystar June 15, 2014

So I have only had this soup once before at a Russian restaurant and I have to say that your version was even better! I love beets and cabbage so I guess it comes as no surprised that I loved this too. Super easy. Super budget friendly. I used non dairy sour cream. Hubby care for it but I personally think this is 5 stars all the way. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 03, 2013

I have never liked borscht and didn't think my family would either, but we decided to try this recipe while studying about Russia. Many tears were shed by my children who did not want to eat this. My DH took one taste and poured his in the trash (when the kids weren't looking). We are still not fans of borscht. This may be a good recipe for it but it didn't win any of us over to beet & cabbage soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun February 23, 2013

Overall a great recipe! I quadrupled it even though it was a 1st time attempt. It turned out great & I love how all the veggies are shredded...somehow it tastes better! I did find it a tad on the bland side so added some salt, pepper, and vinegar. Anything more I think would be too overpowering. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foxforce5 September 04, 2012

When life gives you beets, make borscht! We got a ton of beets in our CSA this year and I generally don't like beets, I think they literally taste like dirt. But I ventured out on a limb and tried this recipe. I am so glad I did! For being so simple, this is a great soup. Like a beety french onion soup. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllergyGirl August 15, 2012

Absolutely wonderful! A bit time consuming to make if you're grating everything by hand, but well worth the effort. However, the beef broth is what makes it, so don't use a cheap brand! Trust me, it makes a huge difference on the end product.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wyssel August 07, 2012
Russian Borscht