Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Russian Black Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Russian Black Bread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2013

      I followed this recipe and found that it doesn't rise like white or wheat bread does. It makes a much denser bread, so it won't rise as much. The family loved it and ate the whole loaf at Christmas. We will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Great flavor but mine didn't raise properly. Will add gluten next time. Made 1 loaf

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Wonderful bread, so worth the effort. Froze one of the loaves and look forward to using it for sandwiches. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Fantastic!! Flavorful, thick, and chewy without being overly dense. It's perfect. Warm out of the oven, toasted with butter, or a killer sandwich, it's all good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Really super, thanx. One of my best breads (so far)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      came out just perfect! I suspect there are infinite varieties of tinkering that can be done with this recipe. I used cumin seeds in place of the fennel (I was out). Using two kinds of seeds (whatever they are) gives it terrific flavor dimensions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      This has got to be great. It's from Bernard Clayton's New Complete Book on Breads. I was confused by his ingredient listed as 'bran cereal' but this recipe specifies AllBran. Thanks for clearing that up for me!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      A little bit of work, but worth it. I got lots of raves for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2004

      I looked all over the net for an authentic, as close to the real thing as possible, Russian Black Bread recipe. I was amazed at how many recipes use only food coloring and call it Russian black bread. Yuck. This recipe was FANTASTIC!! And made from scratch with the real ingredients! Thank you so much for posting this!! Tastes just like what I remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      I'm not much of a baker so this was a lot of work, but the best I've ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Russian Black Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1900 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2005.4
     
    Calories from Fat 362
    18%
    Total Fat 40.2 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 20.3 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 2684.5 mg
    111%
    Total Carbohydrate 386.8 g
    128%
    Dietary Fiber 59.1 g
    236%
    Sugars 15.1 g
    60%
    Protein 52.9 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes