26 Reviews

My Russian boyfriend loves (!!!!) this--calls it Neighbor Charlotte--because you make it quickly for neighbors who drop in. I t's not a pie. Think uncomplicated, undersweet coffee cake--crunchy on outside, slightly doughy in the middle.It seems like people are overcomplicating this recipe. It is supposed to be peasanty simple. His mom's variation 1.5 cups sugar + 3 eggs, mix, 1.5 cups flour, mix just until combined. Pour in greased/floured pie pan. Peel/core 3 tart apples, cut into large chunks and press into batter. Bake@350 for 50 mins. If you add 1/2 c. milk, it is a Clafouty recipe (more custard-like than this recipe). If you arrange melon-balled apples neatly and then, after removing from oven, sprinkle with powdered sugar, it can come out a little more formal looking and good enough to take to a friend's house when you are invited over for casual supper.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krolek June 03, 2009

I still can't believe that this recipe is so simple. It's so beautiful and tastes amazing! Please, for the sake of this recipe, do not attempt it if you are having a craving for traditional American apple pie. So many reviewers are getting so upset about the lack of sweetness and the "density" - your expectations are not fair for this dish. We Americans have a bad tendency to demand sweetness over flavor. Let the natural sugars in your apples shine for a change, and give it a chance on its own merits. I used 2/3 cup of sugar given that I had some very sour Granny Smiths, and added a touch of cinnamon, but those were the only changes needed to produce a perfect result. I recommend serving this at room temperature but I've tried it both cold and warm now and it's great either way! Thanks so much for this enjoyable dessert - I'll definitely be making it again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenofeats March 24, 2008

An excellent authentic Russian recipe, pretty much exactly as my family makes it (called "Sharlotka" in Russian). As a personal preference, I substitute self-raising flour for the plain flour, and add a bit of cinnamon to the apples -- but there is absolutely no need to do this, it will work regardless. I tend to whisk the eggs separately and then mix the whole batter, apples and all. In response to previous reviewers: the amount of sugar is strongly dependent on the type of apples you use. Obviously, very sour apples require more sugar, sometimes as much as a full cup. For Granny Smith apples, 1/2 to 2/3 cup is plenty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tanya_g December 25, 2006

Great recipe for apples that are about to turn, I live alone and buy full bags of apples, I will often use this recipe to finish off the bag each week. Tastes great and is light on the sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kevman711 August 23, 2015

Fantastic and oh so easy. 3 eggs, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 1/2 flour, 1/2 cup sour cream. 3 apples peeled and large diced. Cooked in ceramic deep dish pie. This turns out like a apple custard pie/cake. The crust it makes on it's own is like carmilized sugar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dessert Rose June 10, 2015

This recipe is fantastic. I am so tired of the deathly sweet recipes so often found. This recipe lets the sweetness of the apples be truly appreciated. People who are accustomed to eating sugar laden pastries will not be fond of this recipe. I believe they are now conditioned to expect something repulsively sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sasha L November 12, 2013

I made this because I had 4 green apples to use up. At first, I only cut up 3 because I thought it was gonna be too much for the pie pan. After making the batter, it was so little, I added the 4th one. I did put one teaspoon of baking soda as someone suggested. After baking, I did sift powdered sugar on it. It is not sweet at all! My neighbors and daughter liked it. I don't know how my husband will like it. My neighbor took a piece to her diabetic mom. If I make this again, I will peel the apples, bump the sugar to 3/4, and put some vanilla. It is a very nice presentation!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel May 30, 2013

OMG! this is by far one of the best cakes I have ever eaten. Thank you so much for sharing. This is amazing. I used natural sugar for me and it turned out perfect. Cheap to do and great desert. I will cook this often as it is a healthy desert. I could not believe it turned out perfect. I love that I can just enter the ingredients I have and this came up. Thank you again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathymilo March 08, 2013

I'm hesitant to give it 5 because it's so easy it's cheating but it deserves 5 for what it is...a super easy cake you can make fast. My family loved it. It will go in our regular rotation. No changes needed except to clarify you should use self rising flour. If using all purpose, add 1 teaspoon baking soda.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TahoeFans February 18, 2013

I made this on a whim because I wanted something sweet, that was't terribly difficult to make. This came out very nicely, aesthetically pleasing, and just sweet enough. I made a few tweaks... 3/4 cup sugar, 1 1/4 cups flour, 1/2 cup milk (skim), 4 eggs, 1 tsp. cinnamon. I also used Pink Lady apples, because that's all I had on hand. I added the extra egg and milk to make it more custardy, and went with krolek's suggestion of cooking it at 350 for 50 minutes. It turned out exactly as I wanted; it reminds me of a lighter bread pudding. This was so easy to make. I'll definitely be having a piece with my coffee tomorrow morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busmalis December 09, 2012
Russian Apple Pie