Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Runza Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Runza

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-31 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2008

      This was great, but try this next time...........deglaze your pan with apple juice, about 1/2 to 1 cup. Than when it is reduced and ready to serve, stir in some sour cream. Add to your own likings. I added about 1 cup. It was awesome! I've made them with puff pastry too and my family really likes it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      These were good, but I thought a little bland. I think I will try them again using sausage as others have said to give it a little lift. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      I made this actually using Pizza/ Bread dough a local grocery store made. I am actually a native to Kansas, and there is a Runza in Lawrence. I now live in Idaho, and make them all the time!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I lived in Lincoln, NE until I was 13 and The Runza Hut was one of the favorite places for the family to go. Making this recipe brought back a lot of great memories and it was delicious. It has been almost 40 years since I've had a Runza. Now, thanks to your recipe I can enjoy without the airfare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Just a funny Runza story. I'd never heard of a Runza until marrying a native Nebraskan. A few months before our wedding he took me to Nebraska to meet the family. After touring all day and kidding him about everything in Nebraska rhyming, (hinky dinky, piggly wiggly and the topper popper) we were sitting around and he asked if I wanted to go do a Runza. I thought he was talking about going out Dancing. LOL. Now it is a favorite of my sons. Everytime my Ex now, goes to Nebraska he is asked to bring Runza's back. I figured I better learn how to make them. He loves this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I wanted to make a double batch and realised too late that I only had 1 lb. of hamburger. So I ended up using 1 lb. of sausage with it and a whole onion and whole head of cabbage. This got rave reviews, even from my husband who does not eat cabbage. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      This was a pretty good recipe. I had to make my own bread dough. I also added american cheese to each runza. and i added butter on the tops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

    • on March 19, 2005

      This is a wonderful recipe. I just made these tonight. I am from Nebraska... living in NY... so it brought me home for the evening! I like to brush them with butter right when they come out of the oven to keep the buns soft, and I also add sharp cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

      These are GREAT! I've been making them for yrs. They are good to take for picnics, or on long car drives, because its like a meal in your hand. They are good at room temp. or re-heated in micro. We do like to add a bit of butter to them when eaten at home. Also, I brush the buns w/a little melted butter before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      very good! variation options: Add cheese on top of the meat, cut up one jalapeno pepper and add to meat while browning

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Runza

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.8
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    46%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 50.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 64.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 16.7 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bread dough

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites