Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Runza Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Runza

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2011

      I live only a few blocks away from a Runza restaurant, and I actually prefer to make these at home. They are easy to personalize for my family with swiss cheese & mushrooms, pizza sauce & mozzerella, or my favorite, Velveeta cheese. I have used Pillsbury Hot Roll Mix in the past, but decided to try Rhodes brand frozen dough. I got the dough that was separated already to make rolls (not the frozen loaf). I thawed and raised the dough like I was making rolls, but then used it for the runza filling instead. Two rolls is the perfect amount for one runza, and you can shape it with your hand (similar to throwing a pizza crust, just not as large). I would shape one, put the filling on it, then shape another to seal on the top to make the pouch. It works much better for a kitchen with limited counter space because you don't have to roll out any dough. If I ever leave Nebraska, these are one thing I won't have to miss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      Sensational! Because of time, I substituted Crescent roll dough (2 cans) for the frozen bread dough. I separated each can of dough into 4 rectangles, pressing perforations together and stretching the dough out thinly. Then I sealed and baked according to directions on can. I also added some grated sharp cheddar to some of the Runzas. You can also use Swiss cheese for a change of taste. Some people add sausage to the hamburger to make a spicier Runza. Whatever you decide, try these! The recipe made 8 large Runzas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Mmmm!! As a Runza fan, I can tell you this tastes just like we're at Runza (although somehow it feels a little healthier, knowing we made it ourselves). At first we thought there was too much cabbage, but once it cooked down, it was perfect (but it did take a very long time to cook down, so prepare accordingly). Also, we used 2 cans of pizza dough (due to time constraints), and after we spread out the dough, we cut it into 3 sections for each can. It was perfect dough for the runzas. Thanks Jen. I have a feeling we'll be making these often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      I was stationed at Lincoln AFB home of the B47 bombers in the 1960s, and was transferred out when the base was closed at end of 1966.<br/><br/>It was the first time I ever had Runzas and I loved them. I tried making them myself after I left Nebraska, but didn't have a recipe and they weren't very good.<br/><br/>To all those making substitutions and additions to the recipe; you may be making something you like, but I wouldn't consider it a Runza. Especially with cheese and pizza sauce. Some things are just so naturally good that "improvements" only change it into something else.<br/><br/>The older I get the more I appreciate the plain old fashioned recipes of my youth. In a lot of cases more is not better. I'm looking at you pepper freaks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Grew up in Nebraska, 1940-1957 eating runza's (we knew them as kraut Runza's) recipe was passed down from my Germam great grandmother to grandmother, mother,etc. After I joined the navy in 1957, only had runza's when home on leave, after I was married, Mom passed the recipe on to my wife. Retired from the Navy in 1989 and have made them a few times myself.
      I sometimes add carrot shavings, or thin strips of banana peppers, or even small chunks of celery to give it more flavor. Some use canned sauerkraut rather than cooking cabbage, but I prefer fresh cabbage. Live in Zephyrhills, FL now, so don't use the oven a lot, but next time we get a cool spell, may mix up a large batch & put some in the freezer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      I was that Nebraskan who gave the recipe to my Minnesota brother. The runzas are even better when you make your own bread dough. It's really the bread (and lots of pepper) that we think make the runzas great. We make them twice a year - once in the summer when the family is all home in Nebraska and then again for New Years (hopefully when we are playing in a bowl game). GO BIG RED!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      These are great comfort food. Remind of the ones we used to get whenever we went to Lincoln. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      This was WONDERFUL! Thanks so much for sharing! As a Nebraskan no longer living close to a Runza I didn't realize how much I missed them until I found your recipe. I did add a little worchestershire sauce to the mix and used 2 lbs of hamburger. DELISH! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      If you've never had runza you have to try this recipe!!! I just discovered them a few years ago and they are wonderful! This was passed down from my boyfriends grandmother to his mother and now I make them. They were always the #1 request in their family for birthday dinners. This is the same recipe I use (lately I've been using pillsbury hot roll mix for the bread). ENJOY!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      great recipe! just like mom made!i was raised on these in Nebraska. Moved to PA and miss them dearly. A little piece of home in my tummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Used to have these when we would go to visit family in Nebraska. Loved them then and now. I introduced my kids to these because I have such fond memories of them. Thanks for the posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Just a note. I grew up in Greeley Colo. We used to get these in school for lunch on occasion but we called them krautburgers. Loved them and still do. We served them with beef gravy over the whole thing, ymmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      Loved these, I used the whole wheat Runza Dough recipe but I used white flour and they were great. I added lots of spice to the meat, black pepper, red pepper, and garlic powder while it was cooking. Also put fresh chopped jalapenos and swiss cheese in the packets, and was hoping for some left overs but Grandsons just happened by and ate.. My husband and son said the bread was the best and would like to have hot rolls from the recipe. The cabbage and grated carrot really made the sandwich good. I will be making them again real soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      This was very very good. I made as directed before trying new things. I love cabbage in pretty much any form, but it can be hard to get others in my house to like it. My oldest kids devoured what we had been saving for leftovers. I think in the future I will be adding a lot more salt & pepper, as well as some minced garlic. I am really glad that I had the big pan out to make the filling. Trust the process... the cabbage cooks down. Thanks for a great addition to the rotation. Cheers! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      Good for a change of pace. I tried to remain to the tried & true recipe but couldn't help myself by adding a sprinkle of garlic salt to the hamburger while cooking. After I added the cabbage and onions, there wasn't enough moisture (grease) left to cook the cabbage, so I added a 10 oz. can of beef broth and cooked it until all the broth evaporated. I made Prize-winning Crusty Rolls (bread Machine Dough Cycle) for the bread roll and brushed with an egg wash to brown them up. They looked beautiful. As usual, leftovers tasted better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      Yummy! I used my everyday whole wheat potato bread dough, and boy were these good. Can't wait to share them with all my Pennsylvania friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Excellent! We are huge Runza fans, being from Nebraska. What we also like about these is that they freeze well. So I just make up a couple of batches and when we are in the mood for Runza but don't want to travel 50 miles and don't want to have a long prep time, I can take them out of the freezer and re-heat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      Nice! I very much liked the idea and the ease of preparation. I used my favorite buttermilk bread dough and it these were a hit! Next time I'll throw in some garlic, use more s&p, and serve with a side of au jus. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Very good.. the kids gobbled it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Runza

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.8
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    46%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 50.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 64.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 16.7 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bread dough

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites