9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Brilliant comfort food! I didn't have any broccoli so I increased the amount of cabbage and leeks. I sauteed the leeks and cabbage with some of the butter instead of steaming it. I didn't have any mace so I had to use nutmeg instead. If you're going to use nutmeg, use only 1/8t. My boyfriend wants me to make this again soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honeychile July 11, 2010

Loved it! I didn't have mace...so I used sage.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla August 20, 2009

This was wonderful! I was looking for a recipe to use the last of the homegrown fall crops, and this was perfect. The cabbage, broccoli, and potatoes were all fresh from the garden even in November in Wisconsin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 November 28, 2011

Oh my.... Delicious - easy - unexpectedly good. Cut the recipe in 1/2, did not have leeks so used onions. This will definitely be made frequently. DH loved it too - especially the browned cheese on top. Thanks so much for posting this fabulous "keeper"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wickedgood@Maine April 03, 2011

5-stars & FABULOUS! I have had "Sundays at Moosewood" in my "cookbook library" for years and never bothered to try this recipe. I decided to give it a go for St. Paddy's day as the main vegetarian dish at our house and I'm so happy I did (I tried it early to see if it was worth making again - it most definitely is!!!) This provided dinner and lunch for us several times this week and each time we took out some to warm up, it just seemed to get better and better. My husband is already asking me to make it again and it will surely become a St. Patrick's Day tradition in our house and throughout the year. Hearty & comforting. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinot Grigio March 13, 2008

Incredibly good, Aunt Cookie. Thanks for sharing it with the rest of us. 27*. I cut back on the butter but otherwise wouldn't change a thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 16, 2008

I used frozen broccoli. Steamed the broccoli, cabbage and leeks in the microwave with no additional water. Super easy & great taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katieok November 11, 2006

This is comfort food at it's best! I had Yukon Gold potatoes on hand so used those to make the mashed potatoes. The broccoli didnt look to appealing so I used frozen instead. Steamed the vege's in the microwave with about 1/2 cup water for 10 minutes. After I placed the potato and vege mixture in the baking dish I put about 6 small pats of butter on top and used fresh grated nutmeg instead of mace. Placed in a 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes to heat thru and melt the butter than broiled on high until the cheese was bubbly and golden. Aunt Cookie thank you so much for a wonderful lunch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 21, 2006

I used oninos instead of leeks, didn't have broccoli, so just omitted it, didn't have mace either. I cooked the cabbage until it was moist with garlic and onion and butter, mashed the potatoes with chives and garlic powder and seasoned it all with Tony Chacheres' cajun seasoning, then topped with colby/mont. jack. It was awesome! Flavors and textures went so nicely together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieJunkie December 31, 2006
Rumpledethumps