Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rumbledethumps - Celtic Potato, Cabbage & Cheese Gratin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rumbledethumps - Celtic Potato, Cabbage & Cheese Gratin

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2010

      Perfect. I love cabbage, love potatoes and cheese. What is not to like. I had some Irish sausage, I know, not quite the same, however, I served the lightly pan sauteed sausage, lightly browned with the potato and cabbage casserole. I made this for for a friend and I ate with them and them loved it. Me too. It was excellent. I even used a traditional scottish cheddar from a small store up in Tampa FL, It was great. Plenty of chives. We were all very very happy campers at the end of the night. Thx again, as a total cabbage fan ... this will definitely be on my list. I highly admit the scottist cheddar if you can get it, it made great to excellent or excellent to fabulouso!! Thx, Kim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Fantastic simple and tasty side dish, great at any time of year. Definately worth 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Another winner from the fabulous French Tart. Your recipes never disappoint and this one is no exception. What an excellent comfort food. We really enjoyed this rich and savory addition to the meal. I couldn't get a savoy cabbage so used a plain ole pale green variety. I also used a mixture of grated cheese, that I had on hand. It worked well in this tasty dish. Into my keeper box this goes. Thanks for sharing. Made for May Herb of the Month - Chives :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      A very comforting dish, and pretty easy to make for a weeknight supper. I baked this and went a bit light on the butter, otherwise no changes. I'd make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Our family really liked this dish! Very comforting on a cold, rainy Sunday.... Only change was using garlic salt instead of plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This was very good. I had to use regular green cabbage as the grocery store's selection was green or purple, and I was not into the purple for this recipe! LOL Thanks! Will make this again. Made as a thank you to French Tart in Everyday's Holiday TAG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Great homey fare. I added a lot more cabbage and would add even more next time. I'd also use more potatoes for the ammount of cheese, but that's just me. The whole thing is very ajustable which I love. From now on this dish will be a staple whenever I have leftover mashed potatoes. Thanks a lot French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      What a delightful dish! DH gave it 5 stars, but said it needed more cabbage. I gave it 4 stars because I thought it could do with an egg yolk and a pinch of nutmeg in the potatoes. Served it with liver, bacon and pickled red onions. Will probably have the left-overs in a couple of days with pork chops and mushroom-garlic gravy. Thank you, French Tart, for a new way to use cabbage, one of our favorite vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Really good. I mixed in about a cup of cheddar cheese and used regular cabbage. It either needed a lot more salt than I used or something else for flavour. I might mash in some cream cheese next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This is actually awesome camping. Doing some experimenting with vacuum sealed boiling bags, I made this up, vacuum sealed it and froze it. Being in a cooler for a couple of days thawed it out and I boiled it for about 20 mins. I served it with ham slices, also vacuum sealed and a veggie tray. Honestly, they came out perfect! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This was great! I made a few changes as I was trying to make a dish out of the vegetables I received from my CSA share this week, so I substituted Napa cabbage and some kale for the savoy, and used garlic scapes instead of chives. It was delicious. Sorry I didn't take any photos, but everyone started digging in before I could get the camera! Thanks for posting such a delicious, easy dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Couldn't locate Savoy cabbage, so I just used nice tender green leaves from a regular head of cabbage. Wonderful side dish to the Beef with Guiness on St. Paddy's Day! I really like the cabbage cut into strips in this recipe versus cabbage chunk chunks or puree. The chives make it perfect. I used half anf half for richness and 100% Irish butter. A real keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      My only substitution was replacing the Scottish Cheddar with Cabot Seriously Sharp Cheddar. This is quite simple to make and an excellent dish to take when dining with friends or family. Another excellent recipe from French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This was amazing! I didn't have chives so I used scallions instead. A real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Awesome! I love colcannon to begin with, but adding chives and cheddar makes it just that much better. I think rumbledethumps may have elbowed it aside... why would I ever make colcannon again, when I could have this! Also, love the appealing bright green of the cabbage and chives, even though mine didn't turn out quite as vivid as the photo. I had several requests for this recipe after taking it to an office Halloween party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      Delicious! We had this for dinner actually and I added some crumpled bacon, made it just perfect for what we needed. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Wow. This couldn't have been better. The very light crunch of the cabbage in the smooth rich potatoes is a surprise and delight. I baked mine and was quite pleased with the texture. It's a perfect dish for someone who is ill--it is not demanding, is mild and highly comforting, and is a balanced meal in one with the obligatory massive amounts of orange juice consumed. Thanks so much FT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Yummy in my tummy! My mum used to make me this when I was a wee bairn! It is very similar to bubble and squeak but when you grill it you gt a wonderful crusty cheesy top. I used to always get in trouble for peeling the whole thing off and eating it when no one was looking! Thanks for posting I've been trying to find a recipe like mums for years!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rumbledethumps - Celtic Potato, Cabbage & Cheese Gratin

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 729.2
     
    Calories from Fat 385
    52%
    Total Fat 42.8 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 26.9 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 122.6 mg
    40%
    Sodium 561.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.7 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites