Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rum Cake

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2010

      I was recently in the tropics and they sell rum cakes on most of the Islands. After tasting it I thought "I think I could make this better!" This recipe is awesome. Perfect cake with the perfect amount of rum. Very detectable so you do have to LIKE rum. Big hit with our friends.
      I used Bacardi dark rum. I added a cup of finely cut pineapple to the cake recipe. I swapped out the water in both the cake and the glaze for the pineapple juice reserved from the canned pineapple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      This was great - I did change it a little - well, maybe a lot, but here goes: I used a devil's food cake mix and chocolate pudding; then buttermilk instead of water. When the cake came out of the oven, I poked holes in it and poured an additional 1/4 cup of rum over it - let it sit 10 minues, then removed it from the pan - while it was cooling on the rack and I was making the glaze, I poked holes in the top and drizzled another 1/4 cup of rum over the top. I actually painted the glaze onto the cake, and then, as we cut the cake, I used the glaze that had dripped off to paint the cut sides. It was awesome - especially good with Hagen das Dulce la leche ice cream!! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I can't believe I haven't rated this yet, I've made at almost a dozen times! TOTALLY wonderful, yummy, and now is the official "most requested birthday cake" in my circle of friends. I bought a bunch of flavored rums on a Caribbean cruise a while ago, and it's been sitting in my liquor cabinet. Thanks to this AWESOME recipe, it's now almost gone...I couldn't think of a better, or more tasty, use. I like to use the pineapple rum for the cake and the coconut rum for the glaze. I also like to add about a cup and a half of chopped pecans (that I quick toast a bit in a small pan with about 2 T. of butter). Throw that in the bottom of the pan before putting in the batter. YUM. DELICIOUS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      Great cake, I made this for a baby shower since the Mom2B is really missing being able to have any kind of alcohol. Because of that, when adding the rum I did put it back on heat to boil 2 additional minutes as I wanted the taste, but not the alcohol. I did poke holes in the base of the cake and pour about a 1/4 or 1/3 of the glaze into the cake from that direction, letting it sit and soak in for about 5 minutes before inverting the cake. Very popular with those who like rum, extremely strong rum taste, so those who don't like rum, didn't care for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      I have been making this exact cake for decades (since it appeared on the back label of the Bacardi Dark Rum bottle in 1979-1980. :-) It is an excellent rum cake (not to be served to children or anyone with an alcohol problem, as it IS quite potent!)

      I find that piercing the cake while it is still in the pan and pouring 1/3 to 1/2 of the glaze over the cake while it is still warm (in the pan) helps the cake to soak up the glaze. I then use a pastry brush to "paint" the remaining glaze on the top and sides of the cooled cake. Very yummy, and a frequently asked for cake for family holidays/birthdays/reunions. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      I didn't have pudding (!) but I made this anyway. Very easy. . not as moist as it could be WITH the pudding addition, but boy! Look at my photo, it looks awesome and it wasn't too dry, but dense.. Also, I used a toothpick all around, but the glaze just didn't go into the cake.. thinking the cake was too dense (my fault tho)

      Oh, I didn't add pecans (out) and I did add some choc chips that I added to the batter on top and pushed them down.. really just for color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      I've been making this cake for years. I got the recipe from a neighbor when I lived in Georgia. My recipe differs a little and is much easier and faster. My glaze only calls for 1/4 cup rum and you let the cake cool for 10 minutes, then pour the glaze over cake in bundt pan. Let it sit for another 20 minutes and remove from pan. It soaks the glaze up like a sponge and I also put nuts in the bottom of pan. I've recently learned to love Captain Morgan rum and it gives this recipe a little different twist. My favorite cake!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      I've been making this cake for years and it is always a hit. I sprinkle 1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts in the pan before adding the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I should have been warned by the note that this cake is "intoxicating" but I have realized that alchol in my desserts is terrible! The cake itself seemed good, but the glaze was way too intense. I ended up dumping about half of it and still it was too much. My guests barely touched this and I dumped the rest in the trash, and the trash went right outside to avoid the heavy rum scent. Maybe I used too dark of a rum, but this was just not for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Perfect rum cake! I added about a cup of chopped walnuts to the batter and added the rum just before removing the glaze from the heat, so as to evaporate some of the alcohol. Thanks for a great recipe. This is going to become a regular in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      DAAYYUUMM!!! This was GOOD! My boyfriend was sooo impressed. I'm just gonna keep it my little secret how simple it was to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      This is an original recipe from the Bacardi Rum Company. I have made the cake for years and think it is one of the best. It is easy and delicious. I have also used the recipe in mini-bundt pans for individual gifts. I believe I got about six of the small cakes per recipe. An over-the-top addition is a dollop of whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      This is the original recipe from Bacardi Rum - it is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      This is one of my favorite cakes, and I think the recipe originally came from the Bacardi Company. My mom made it for years, and now I do for the holidays. I'm thinking of adding coconut instead of the nuts and now I'll take the suggestion to use pineapple juice and make a pina colada cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      Yummm!!! This was delicious and disappeared in a hurry at a card game!! I did boil the rum along with the other sauce ingredients in order to make it more kid-friendly. It was a nice moist cake and the glaze is sooooo rich & tasty!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      I have substituted Pinapple juice for the water in the cake and it is great, also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      if you add the nuts in the batter is has a great flavor, and i use the cook and serve pudding which works very well. I also, add the glaze while the cake is hot which allows cool with the cake and become apart of the cake. One last key, i use captian morgans spiced rum it is a wonderful addition

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      A very decadent cake!! At Thanksgiving I always make evey ones favorite dessert, this year I made 5 different pies. By the time dinner was done and desserts where eaten everyone was stuffed! No one had tried the Rum Cake yet, then the first piece went out and it went quickly! Even though they couldn't eat any more! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      I prepared this for a potluck salsa party with a Latin theme. Everyone just loved it and several folks asked for the recipe. My only change was to make it in a regular 9 by 11 pan to make it easier to slice for a croud - that reduced my baking time to about 45-50 minutes. We cut into small pieces so everyone could enjoy - and they did. Thanks!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.6
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    42%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 83.1 mg
    27%
    Sodium 499.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 43.3 g
    173%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites