Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ruggles Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ruggles Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2006

      I made this for the "alternative" Thanksgiving dessert selection , for those craving something beyond the expected. To say it went over well is an understatement. One person that managed to put in a bid for a slice the Sunday following just sat there and sorta moaned while eating. Upon inquiry with our normally rather formal and gracious guest, she stated she was great and having a "cheesecake orgasm." Very difficult to reply to your guest when they say that, lol. A couple of points about preparing this, one, I used honey roasted peanuts in the crust. I found the peanut butter cups were best not cut too small but leaving some chunks worked well, about 1/8 of a full size cup or 1/4 of a mini. Adding the brown sugar is a bit of an issue though, as it tends to have small lumps or forms them when you blend it in. It is important you do not overmix the cheesecake batter, so as not to incorporate too much air, which could result in a nasty and unattractive crack in the cake. Next time I think I will blend the peanut butter, cream and brown sugar together seperately, and then add to the cheese mixture. Allow the batter to sit in it's mixing bowl for a few minutes and then sharply rap it against a counter to release some of those trapped air bubbles, which helps prevent cracking issues later. Once added to the pan, lightly shake and tap the pan to help release any last bubbles, but use care to not disturb the crust with rough handling. I am rather paranoid that water from the Bain Marie will seep into springform pans, so what I do is wrap the pan in several overlapping layers of aluminum foil and then place in a very heavy plastic bag, such as the heavy duty duty ones you get at some grocery stores, securing it to the side of the pan with a bit of handy duct tape. Don't worry, the bag will not burn nor melt at this baking temp, comes out good as new, scary thought, lol. When adding the hot water to the Bain Marie, try using very hot water that is nearly boiling, as this will help speed things along a bit, as I encountered a very prolonged cooking time with just hot tap water. Don't open the oven at all until it is truly getting close to the minimum baking time, as opening the oven provokes those dreaded cracks and slows down the baking as well. Allow for just a slight jiggle in the very center of the cake to let you know it's done with baking. Make at least a quantity and a half of the sour cream topping to make sure the top is smooth and evenly covered. Once the sour cream topping has set, DON'T REMOVE THE CHEESECAKE FROM THE OVEN. Turn off the oven and prop the oven door open slightly and leave it in there for at least an hour to allow it to very slowly cool down. Remove from oven and very gently loosen the crust from the side of the pan with a long and thin knife blade, using care not to disturb it too much. Doing this helps the crust to pull away from the pan as the cake contracts in cooling, putting less stress on the cheesecake, lessening the chance of a crack developing. Allow to cool thoroughly on a rack and then refrigerate, preferably wrapped in a kitchen towel to insulate it, so that it chills slowly. Feel free to make your cheesecake a couple of days ahead, it really does improve with a little age. When slicing your cheesecake, using a thin blade that you clean with a cool, wet towel in between EVERY slice, leaving a little moisture on the blade. This method gives you a cleaner slice of this almost heaven. I guilded the lily and plated this with homemade caramel and ganache sauces, along with some pb cup pieces and chopped honey roasted peanuts. All this sounds complicated, but in reality it takes very little actual active work, it's all pretty easy in the end and will convince people you are the Queen of Cheesecake. Btw, if you are just not able to go through the anti-crack steps, don't worry, heck with it, it will still taste awesome, even if a crack does develop. If this happens, just strategically cover any oops with pb cups, nuts and sauces, likely no one will notice and definitely won't care after they wrap their mouth around this lucious little number. Thank You Peggy for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      This cheesecake turned out beautifully! I didn't have a deep enough pan to do a true water bath (the water only came up about 3/4" on the side), so I baked it until the internal temp was 160 degrees. It was gorgeous! No cracks or unsightly browning. We easily got 20 slices from this cheesecake. My husband said it was better than the peanut butter cheesecake he always gets at The Cheesecake Factory! I love how it looks like a restaurant cheesecake. Thanks for this delicious recipe!
      What I did: I read that it is best not to over beat the batter after the eggs are added, so I added the eggs last - just before stirring in the peanut butter cup pieces. Also, I opted for a hot fudge drizzle instead of the sour cream topping. Once cheesecake reached internal temp of 160 degrees, I removed it from the water bath and placed it on the stovetop burner to cool. I read to invert a plate over the top of the cheesecake to trap in moisture and slow down the cooling process as that is supposed to help prevent cracking. I let it cool for 4 hours at room temp, and then overnight in the fridge. I did loosen the crust from edge of pan before putting it in the fridge, and before removing the pan. I also put parchment paper (cut to fit pan) in the bottom to aid in removal from bottom of springform pan. Some wrote that they had too much oreo crumbs for the crust . . . I loved the large quantity of crust ingredients. It allowed me to extend the crumbs all of the way up the side of the pan. Beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I created a food.com profile just so I could review this recipe. That is how good this cheesecake is. It is amazing, decadent, delicious. Think of the most delicious food adjectives available, and the apply them at your will to this recipe. Sooooo good. I made the cheesecake exactly according to the recipe's ingedients, and it turned out perfectly. If I make it again, I will probably chop up fewer oreos because I found that after patting in the crust for my 10-inch cheesecake, I still had about 3/4 cup of leftover oreo crumbs. Also, like others, I had to bake the cheesecake for a longer period of time--closer to 2 hours--to make sure that it set correctly. After 2 hours, the middle was still a little jiggly and it looked perfect. I thought the topping listed looked so-so, so I decided against that. Instead, I spead some room-temperature store-bought hot fudge topping over the top, then topped that with about 8 chopped up reese's PB cups. I also sprinkled some chopped peanuts on the top. Then, to finish, I heated up some additional hot fudge in the microwave and drizzled it over the top and down the sides. Doing all this was an extra step, but I made this cheesecake for the holidays so it turned out looking really festive and beautiful. My husband thought he died and went to heaven. Just a quick note: Do NOT attempt to make this cheesecake in a 9-inch pan. You really need a 10-inch, or the 9-inch will overflow because there will be too much batter. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      I was looking for something decadent to enter in an office dessert contest - and I found this recipe. This was my first cheesecake effort. It took a while to prepare and it took 2 hours to bake - but it came our perfectly. I added a chocolate ganache to the topping, outlining the rim and swirling the center of the cake and then place halved mini Reese's cups around the border and sprinkled some additional ground honey roasted nuts over the top (picture included #36). It was a BIG hit and won the contest hands down! I only had a small taste - and it was every bit as rich and decadent as I hoped it would be!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      Huge hit! Made first time for my son's 21st birthday -- daring, I know! So glad I did. Super rich, super yummy. Easy to make, will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      Fabulous cheesecake - wow! Made this for my fiance's birthday cake, and it was a definite smash hit. Seriously rich, but it's cheesecake, so of course that's to be expected! I mostly followed the recipe as written, other than tweaking a few small detail items to fit my own baking style & personal taste (i.e. I used chocolate grahams rather than Oreo cookies; used less chopped Reese's cups in the batter; used brown sugar instead of white in the sour cream topping; and I chose to make a chocolate ganache glaze which I added after the cake had been in the fridge overnight, then striped with a peanut butter ganache just because I'm persnickety & prefer a more 'clean' finish... ex pastry chef hang-up, I guess!). I baked the cheesecake in a bain marie at the temperature & time given in the recipe (simply foil-wrapped pan to prevent leakage - easy peasy!!). After baking, I removed cake pan from the water bath, removed foil, very gently went around the top of the cake (between cake & pan) with a thin offset spatula, then left on a cooling rack for a couple hours. Before bed I put the whole cake (pan & all) in a Tupperware cake container in the fridge and left it to set-up overnight. In the morning I did the ganache finishes & stuck back in the fridge til serving time in the evening. I always take my cheesecakes out of the fridge about 30 minutes prior to serving to give them a little time at room temp. I use a long serrated knife to cut cheesecakes, running under very hot water & wiping clean with a paper towel between each cut to keep the cake & slices clean for plating. Ta-da.... that's it!! Creamy & delish!! An absolute keeper! As a personal side note, I will probably make this again but omit the Reese's altogether... it was a little bit of over-the-top overkill for me, but that's just my personal taste. I don't think the cheesecake needed all that 'extra' stuff... it would easily stand on its own without the added candy chunks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      Followed the recipe exactly as stated. Did not chop up the reese's pb cups, instead spead half the cheesecake mix then layed out 16 regular sized cups then topped with rest of cheesecake mix. Trick is to not lay any cups in center of cake as when you cut it, the middle will not stand high. I let sit in oven for one hour after baking time was over with oven turned off and it did not crack at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      So rich! A little goes a long way! Made for Father's day dessert. Instead of the sour cream topping I opted for a chocolate ganache and decorated with mini peanut butter cups. We all loved it, will feed a very large crowd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Congrats ! Your yummy cheesecake was on our homepage Saturday as "The recipe of the Day" (06/20/2011)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      This is one of the most decadent desserts I have ever made. We love cheesecake and DH's favorite candy bar is a reese's so the kids thought this was the perfect dessert for fathers day. They were right, DH LOVED THIS CHEESECAKE! It baked up beautifully, although I was a little nervous about how jiggly it was in the center before cooling. No worries, it set up wonderful. We will most definately make this again, I'm thinking when my brother and sister in law come to town. Thank you so much for sharing this awesome recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Loved it! It was very easy to make and verrrrry good. Rich though! So cut your slices thin. Is the nutritional information correct?? I was quite happy the reeses in the batter didn't all sink to the bottom. I used only four eggs instead of five and it was fine. I also didn't do the sour cream topping b/c I don't like sour cream. So for aesthetics, I dusted the top with confection sugar. And arranged reeses "mini's" cut in half. and arranged around the outer edge. They also created a nice even slice guide. I thought the oreo crust would have been a little too much for me so I've been substituting the golden oreos for my cheescakes of various flavors. I also like to add some crushed nuts, like almonds or walnuts to the crust. Definitely worth trying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      I've made this twice and both times, it is THE hit of the party and I now get requests for this... here were some notes that I gave my friends who wanted the recipe...

      Notes from the cook: you have to use a 10-inch Springform pan (I actually used a 10 3/4). Most cheesecake recipes usu...ally call for a 9-inch. Also, I would use less Oreos for the crust next time and make sure it sits for 24 hours bc 4 was definitely not enough time. I used fat-free and reduced fat wherever possible and it was still AMAZING. Other than that, the only things I added were about 4 PB cups chopped on the top with drizzled chocolate for looks :-) Last but not least, it says 10 servings but I swear we got about 20 out of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Gosh, how did I miss writing a review on this great cheesecake! I've made this twice now, once for DSS's 16th b-day in 2007 and once for a co-worker's b-day in 2008. In each case it was received with raves. I found this to be about average as far as ease of preparation and way above average in taste. I always wrap my springform pan with some foil and put a casserole of boiling water on the rack below. Both times I made this it baked perfectly, smelled looked and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I don't think I've received better reviews than when I made this rich and decadent cheesecake for a house warming party for a friend of mine. Easy to make - the only additions I added were some rum (to the cheesecake portion) and some vanilla to the topping. It was a hit! I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      This was actually the best cheesecake that I have made... how it turned out... how it tasted... everything! I used JIFF (THE BEST PEANUT BUTTER IN THE WORLD) and also used PB Oreos and Honey Roasted Peanuts for the crust. I served this for a dinner party with friends and every single piece went and IT IS RICH I WILL TELL YOU THAT IS FOOOOR SUUUUURE. Milk is great with it! :) the cooking time is pretty close- But I cooked it 15 min more- till the sides were a little pulled away- the top is poofed up a bit and golden brown. I put a 8 X 8 pan underneath on the rack below with boiling water in it- to 'steam' during cooking time... I have NEVER had a crack yet- This method is much much easier that all that water bath stuff- and it works for me! I also don't wrap mine in tin foil to catch the grease drips... i just put the springform on a cookie sheet. Easy Peazy... thank you SOOOOOO much for the contribution! I'll be making this one again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      This is dessert at its BEST!!!! Five stars all the way!!! Other than the baking time (mine baked for 1 hr, 45 mins before adding sour cream mixture to the top), I followed the directions given. I made this for a dessert auction at church. I put each slice in a rectangular, deep styrofoam "to go" box and left the lids open. I garnished each slice with chocolate syrup as pictured and then put one quarter of a peanutbutter cup on top of each slice. The auctioneer sold them by the slice. EACH SLICE sold for $15 - $25!!!!!! In total, this cheesecake (12 servings) brought in $220!!! Unbelievable! Talk about a show-stopper! Thank you, Peggy Lynn!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      YUMMMMMMY! This was delicious. It is soo rich, i could only handle a sliver. I think you could easily serve 20 people with this cheesecake. I cooked mine for about 20 minutes longer. I used a kitchenaid blender and noticed when i poured it into the crust it didn't quite mix all the cream cheese into the batter. i scraped the sides several times-next time i'll make sure to scrape right down to the very bottom. i also melted some chocolate and drizzled it in top of the cake with extra reese pieces on the top. it looked great. but what i found was that once the drizzled chocolate hardened, it was really hard to cut. once i started cutting the hard chocolate top sort of "mushed" down into the desert. it didn't look quite as good then; although, no one cared-it tasted sooo good. for the next time i'll either drizzle chocolate on each individual piece or sprinkle some extra crushed oreo cookies on the top along with a few reese pieces. A truly incredible recipe! With incredible results! Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2014

      This was so easy to make and leaving it in the oven after it was done (cracking the door with the mitt) worked like a charm. I had to bake it 40 min longer than I anticipated and I left the mixture sit then folded it lightly before pouring it in the pan. I sprinkled the top before baking with some of the Oreo mixture for looks and made a chocolate ganache instead of using the sour cream & sugar coating. Over the top DECADENT !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

      Followed the recipe exactly. Great cheesecake! Topped it with chocolate gonache and chopped resses cups. Big hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      All I can say is YUM! I left off the sour cream topping and made the crust gluten free by substituting some chocolate gluten free animal crackers that I had lying around. I'm not a big fan of cheesecake in general, but this was delicious! I would advise others to watch that the center will be seriously jiggly even after cooking was done (I think I cooked mine an extra 45 minutes and it was still jiggly in the center). And the cheesecake will need to set preferably overnight before the center is solid when slicing. Divine! Thanks for posting this! I thought it could feed 10 people easily. We had fewer guests than that so we sliced up the rest and gave it to my husband's bosses (great for brown-nosing).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ruggles Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake

    Serving Size: 1 (316 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1297.4
     
    Calories from Fat 798
    61%
    Total Fat 88.7 g
    136%
    Saturated Fat 37.2 g
    186%
    Cholesterol 238.5 mg
    79%
    Sodium 1111.6 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 110.3 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 80.4 g
    321%
    Protein 25.4 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites