Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rr's Caramelized Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rr's Caramelized Onions

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2013

      Onions are great. This is another wonderful way to eat them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      So good! I could eat these out of a bowl by themselves...which I did a little! :) Mixed the rest in with my mashed potatoes. Will be making these again to add to our BBQ chicken pizza. Made for Best of 2012 Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      Loved these! I used some on top of burgers and some mixed into mashed potatoes. They made both dishes taste so much better. Thanks Ma Hiker for sharing this great keeper. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      What a great way to eat a side dish! I used some Maui Sweet Onions and they were delicious! Will make this one again. Made for I Recommend Zaar Tag Game 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      We love these caramelized onions! I have made these several times to go with the Copy Cat version of Carmela's Rigatoni from Macaroni Grill (Carmela's Chicken Rigatoni (Copycat Romano's Macaroni Grill)). The amounts are perfect so that I have leftovers for my husband who just eats these onions by the fork full. I have made caramelized onions from other recipes, but these are our favorite. Great flavor, great directions, great timing. Thanks so much for this GREAT 5 star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I have never made Caramelized Onions before...didn't know what we were missing. These are FANTASTIC!!!!! Served them with a New Strip steaks and my husband could not quite RAVING about these. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Excellent! I made these to serve over pierogies and they were perfect! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      This is one of my very favourites. Tonight it made an ordinary hot dog.....*Spectacular*. Added cheese, and a little bit of pickle relish. I was in Dog Heaven. Thanks Mommy Diva. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #31

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Yum! Made as a topping for Kittencal's Crock Pot French Dip Roast. Omitted the salt as I was using salted butter. Very simple and easy to make anything delicious! Came out perfect. Made for Saucy Senoritas ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      Delicious! Loved the blend of the butter and olive oil and the addition of the salt and pepper and sugar. I also added some minced garlic and half a teaspoon of lemon zest: just couldn't resist. I only suggest doing that if you like citrus flavous. Wonderfully flavoursome! :) I've really enjoyed the lift these gave to my take-to-work sandwiches during the week. I'll be making these often, particularly for adding to omelets, pasta dishes and, as Momma Diva suggested, to mashed potatoes. I also love the idea of serving these with sausages and burgers. In future when I make these, I'll certainly be doubling the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe, Momma Diva. Made for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Wonderful! I love my onions and these went down a treat with some grilled sausages the other night.........I cut the recipe back to suit my personal requirements, and still had a little left over to add to some grilled cheese sandwiches the next day! Made for ZWT5 and FRANCE!! Merci darlink! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      These onions were great! I changed the serving size to .5 cups and followed the recipe from there. I ate these on burgers and then had the leftovers mixed in with rice and sauteed mushrooms the next day. Very tasty, thank you! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      These are terrific! It is such an easy recipe to make yet, adds so much to so many differnt dishes. I simply put them on top of my steak and was in heaven! Made for the Ali Baba Babes for ZWT5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      These are awesome!! My hubby wanted some caramelized onions and he raved about them. Just make sure you keep cooking until they are browned . . . yummilicious!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Perfect served along side our Asian style pork chops, chips and salad tonight. I used a mix of brown and red onions. Can't wait to try some of these on a pizza soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      I am a huge fan of Vidalia onions and I was looking for a good way to eat them with pork chops. Well this is it. It was super easy to make and tasted delicious. I can't wait to try it on some crackers with cream cheese. That sounds to die for. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Awesome and easy recipe - a one pound onion makes about 6 ounces of carmelized onions - I used them in Carmella's Chicken Rigatoni (copycat Macaroni Grill) - fabulous! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      YUM! This recipe was super simple and super tasty! We couldn't stop just eating them by themselves! I served them on BBQ pork sandwiches but we will be having them in omelets on burgers and steaks and any other possibility we can come up with! Great recipe- thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Love these! I have used this recipe a few times because they are so versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      this was oh so easy and oh so delicious. i will be making more tomorrow because freezing caramelized onions is a perfect way to get the flavor quickly in a dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rr's Caramelized Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.0
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    54%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 116.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes