Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Royal Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Royal Icing

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2008

      Very, very simple to make! I didn't have any electric mixer so I had to whip it by hand and couldn't get it quite stiff enough but the icing still turned out wonderful and hardened rather quickly into a perfect glaze, very shiny and of course very tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Great icing recipe!! Really holds your gingerbread house together and is a perfect snow white! Thanks for the recipe!!! Used for Gingerbread (For Cookies or a Gingerbread House) and for the 2008 Zaar Gingerbread House Contest!! Had lots of fun!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This recipe SAVED my cookies I was making for a fundraiser. I needed to write on the cookies, and my cookie icing was not performing well. In desperation, I turned to zaar, found this, and it worked BEAUTIFULLY! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      This was my first time making royal icing. I am so glad I found your recipe because it worked like a dream. I used the powdered egg whites and it worked great. Thanks so much for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Perfect, perfect, perfect! I saw Nigella Lawson making the most gorgeous cupcakes on TV and wanted to try them as well. She used instant royal icing. Get that in this country, no way! So I went digging here on Zaar. Most of the recipes here call for meringue powder, again, not to be found here. This recipe is purely from scratch and made a perfect batch of royal icing. I frosted my cupcakes in all different colors, lavender was the biggest hit. I'm catering my daughter's engagement party next week, can you say cupcakes for 200? I'm going to be knee-deep in royal icing, thanks for the recipe, Miss Annie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I couldn't find my old standby and this is it! The only recipe to use for royal icing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Terrific icing! It looked great and was perfect for spreading on The Most Wonderful Gingerbread Cookies. Mine had a definite taste of confectioners sugar, so I might add some vanilla next time and/or reduce the amount of confectioners sugar that I use. The icing kept well in a Ziplock container for a couple of days in the refrigerator. A definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      This was easy, and worked like a charm on my Christmas cookies. Thankyou so much for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Wow, that is some serious amazing icing. I couldn't have asked for anything better, thanks so much for this winner. I used on Gingerbread Cookies

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      I made this to decorate Mimi's Gingerbread Men. I have used royal icing before and this is one of the best ones I have tried. I should have cut the recipe in 1/2 though because it does make quite a bit. I was only putting minimal decoration on the gingerbread men. It set up nice and hard in the matter of a few minutes. Thanks Miss Annie...my daughter has requested the cookies for her Christmas party and I will be using your icing recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Absolutely perfect consistancy and texture. It hardened nicely as well. I will definately be making this again in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      Worked like a charm for our gingerbread men! Thank you Miss Annie! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      I loved this recipe! While powdered sugar is usually always messy to work with -this was relatively simple and easy.I used this to ice gingerbread cookies. The texture was perfect and light and the taste was very delicate and dried and set nicely allowing plenty of time for decorating in between. I will defineately use this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I had some difficulty with this recipe. It calls for 16 oz. of Confectioner's sugar, which is around 2 cups. Used egg whites at room temp and mixed in a cool metal bowl with chilled beaters. The recipe calls for beating on high for 5 to 7 minutes or until frosting is thick and forms stiff peaks. Based on the other reviews I felt it wouldn't be difficult, but after beating for the max time I still had a frosting shiny and formed mounds. Ended up using a total of 3 3/4 cups sugar to come close to the desired effect. I don't know if I missed something or amounts are off, but in the end got a Royal Icing I'm used to working with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Royal Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (556 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    18%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites