Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Royal Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Royal Icing

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2003

      I received this exact recipe from my daughter's grade 1 teacher for the gingerbread houses they were making in class. This icing was easy to make and spreading was a breeze. I doubled the recipe and used a 1 kg package of icing sugar and it was the perfect consistancy. I didn't use any coloring this time, but I will be making this to frost cookies in the future and I will try it with the coloring then. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Thanks for posting! Used 1 teaspoon lemon juice in place of cream of tartar & 1 teaspoon of clear vanilla...came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      I used this to make favors for a baby shower (Baby Pacifiers (shower Favors)). It couldn't have been simpler to whip up or easier to work with. Can't wait to decorate some Christmas cookies. Thanks, Miss Annie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Great recipe-so easy to make! I used them for Baby Pacifiers (shower Favors) Baby Pacifiers. The recipes worked perfectly together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      Finally "real" royal icing!!! I love using this for decorations on cakes because the way it sets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Great, simple icing! To Toots70 - confectioners sugar 16oz refers to weight not liquid measure. Also you don't need to chill the bowl and beaters for egg whites - that's for whipped cream. For egg whites you mostly just need to be sure they are clean as grease will prevent the whites from forming properly. Easy to get the rules confused!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Exactly what I was looking for! Thank you for saving me a trip to the store for meringue powder. This will go in my recipe files for safe keeping!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Exactly right!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      I hate paying big bucks for meringue powder to make royal icing. I'm thrilled to find I can make it without it! I made 1/3 of the recipe and used it to make flowers for my niece's bridal shower cupcakes. They hardened beautifully! Thanks so much for posting this, inexpensive, easy-to-work-with icing recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      this is the easiest icing ever.....I did however use liquid food colouring as that was all I had at home ad it caused the icing to split.....on my second batch I used paste/gel colour and it was perfect. it hardened up and was glossy and wonderfull. thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Thanks for a great recipe. Easy to make and just the right consistency for icing. Very good on gingerbread cookies. I'll be using this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This is such a great recipe-and if you plan on writing on cookies, etc and find it a little thick, use a few drops of lemon juice until it reaches the consisitency you're looking for. This stiffens up beautifully!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This is the perfect icing if you need "glue"! We used it for a gingerbread house and also for a few more projects. I omitted the cream of tartar and it still held up perfectly. If you plan to eat it, consider adding a splash of vanilla. Without it, it tastes pretty much like the "glue" it substitutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Wonderful, easy recipe. Used it for gingerbread men. Very easy to work with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I have a recipe a lot like this. I use it every year for milk carton gingerbread houses. It's excellent. True, it does call for raw egg, but you can always use pasteurized eggs. Even if you used unpasteurized, you would be fine (I don't eat it, anyway).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      I just wouldn't risk using egg whites in a frosting recipe when there are safer alternatives like meringue powder and pasturized egg products. Why take the chance?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I used this recipe for my family's gingerbread houses for Christmas. It was so easy to make and silky smooth. It was also very easy to work with and dries beautifully. Will be using from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Excellent. Does not become stone hard, so eats well. Lovely white colour. Substituted cream of tartar with a teasp. of lemon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Loved this recipe. It was so easy to make and so yummy. I love icing that hardens. I did add a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to the mixture to add a little more flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Royal Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (556 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    18%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes