9 Reviews

Great icing and contrary to popular belief, my gingerbread gal posted is NOT an image of my likeness. My hair is actually much shorter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 24, 2010

What a great icing!!! This is THE royal icing to use for any of your decorating needs! It works perfectly. If you don't want to bite into an overly sweet cookie, just don't use too much or too thick of a layer of this icing to decorate your cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SSX December 27, 2008

Gosh, what nice icing. I was also a bit skeptical in the beginning because of the runny mixture, but it poofed up beautifully after several minutes. I substituted a bit of lemon juice for some of the water and it was a nice, subtle sweet-tart taste. It went perfectly on the lemon ginger biscotti I made for tonight's Christmas party. Thanks for a goody.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. December 24, 2008

This was easy to make and worked well to decorate our cookies (sugar cookies #188686, iced with glaze #188685). I recommend halving the recipe - I halved it and still ended up with LOTS leftover.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply February 07, 2008

Really good icing. It's stiff enough to hold up, but it still pipes smoothly instead of getting stuck in the decorating tips. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CherryRed January 13, 2008

This is a wonderful version of royal icing. I really appreciated how it didn't have the overwhelmingly sugar-sick taste to it, yet still hardened and sweetened up my gingerbread men/women

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 December 25, 2006

This is the first royal icing I've ever made. The kids and I used it to dress up our gingerbread people. I think I had more fun than the kids! I did have to add a bit more powdered sugar but it worked out beautifully! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 December 22, 2006

I was worried about this recipe when I first started mixing the ingredients together and it seemed so thin, but then...sure enough, after just a few minutes the frosting began to set and fluff up like you wouldn't believe. Such a beautiful, fluffy icing, perfect for decorating my gingerbread men!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish December 15, 2006

The perfect royal icing recipe! I was looking for a recipe without raw eggs to decorate gingerbread houses with my five children. Knowing they would want to "taste" as the decorated, I wanted an egg-free recipe. This one was EXCELLENT! Perfect consistency, smooth and creamy. The only recipe I will use from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Macmommy December 12, 2006
Royal Icing