27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! I found that I got a much better result when I dredged in flour after I pounded them thin. I also doubled the recipe and used an au jous mix instead of the broth. (I put all the meat that wouldn't fit in my pan in the oven at 325 for about an hour and a half with half the au jous and half the onions). I did forget to put in the sour cream but I bet that would be really good as well! My family loved it and the onion gravy was wonderful on potatoes! Great recipe thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
That girl Mel November 26, 2003

Loved the sauce but ever after two hours my meat was still chewy and not tender. Must have had really tough meat. Will add more cornstarch to thicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 18, 2012

Excellent review and I got my frustration out by beating on the steaks - LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rtissonic2000 March 10, 2012

This was OK for us. We didn't think it had much of a taste. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did add a lot more salt and pepper but still didn't think it had much flavor. I cooked the steak an hour and it was tender but very dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 17, 2010

I don't know what the other reviewer was talking about with this needing a little boost in the flavor department - it was amazing! I did not use the marjoram (forgot about it) and cooked the steaks for probably a bit over an hour. I cannot believe how delicious this turned out...my husband says it has to go on our regular rotation! Thanks for a great recipe. This one's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corrie in AZ February 13, 2010

Very tasty. Comfort food indeed. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 30, 2009

Tender, but needs a little boost in the flavor dept. Nice gravy, just needs a little more zip!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou October 18, 2009

DELICIOUS!. Real comfort food. Definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recipesrmypassion March 24, 2009

Really liked this one. The next day I put the leftovers through a food processor and spread on bread and cooked like grilled cheese. I added a little bit of sweet pickle relish and spread some mayo on the inside. Great comfort food!! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama January 08, 2009

I love the marjoram in this recipe. I use blade steak as it has a much beefier flavor. To change it up, I'll mix some beef broth with cornstarch instead of using sour cream. Great recipe! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely December 14, 2008
Round Steak & Onions