Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Round Steak & Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Round Steak & Onions

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2003

      Great recipe! I found that I got a much better result when I dredged in flour after I pounded them thin. I also doubled the recipe and used an au jous mix instead of the broth. (I put all the meat that wouldn't fit in my pan in the oven at 325 for about an hour and a half with half the au jous and half the onions). I did forget to put in the sour cream but I bet that would be really good as well! My family loved it and the onion gravy was wonderful on potatoes! Great recipe thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Loved the sauce but ever after two hours my meat was still chewy and not tender. Must have had really tough meat. Will add more cornstarch to thicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Excellent review and I got my frustration out by beating on the steaks - LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This was OK for us. We didn't think it had much of a taste. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did add a lot more salt and pepper but still didn't think it had much flavor. I cooked the steak an hour and it was tender but very dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      I don't know what the other reviewer was talking about with this needing a little boost in the flavor department - it was amazing! I did not use the marjoram (forgot about it) and cooked the steaks for probably a bit over an hour. I cannot believe how delicious this turned out...my husband says it has to go on our regular rotation! Thanks for a great recipe. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Very tasty. Comfort food indeed. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Tender, but needs a little boost in the flavor dept. Nice gravy, just needs a little more zip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      DELICIOUS!. Real comfort food. Definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Really liked this one. The next day I put the leftovers through a food processor and spread on bread and cooked like grilled cheese. I added a little bit of sweet pickle relish and spread some mayo on the inside. Great comfort food!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I love the marjoram in this recipe. I use blade steak as it has a much beefier flavor. To change it up, I'll mix some beef broth with cornstarch instead of using sour cream. Great recipe! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Great way to make round steak....loved the sauce and it was so easy....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      The onions and gravy are so good with this recipe. For me, the meat was still a little tough, but that was my bad, as I don't think I pounded the meat thin enough. I dipped the meat into the flour mixture after I pounded it. I served this with mashed potatoes and my husband raved about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      I was looking for something different to do with round steak so i tried this and my family really liked it. This will be a recipe that i will make when my in-laws come for a visit from North Carolina. I followed this recipe exactly i(we) wouldn't change it all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      I know this has been rated many times over, but I must say that we LOVED this round steak recipe! The gravy was fantastic. The round steak was tender, although I don't think I got mine pounded quite as thin as the recipe called for. It was perfectly done within the hour cooking time. I served it with green beans and some dinner rolls and even my five year old wanted seconds! Thanks for a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

    • on December 02, 2006

      I made this 3 times now, this time after I browned onions and meat, I transfered them to a crockpot, boiled beef broth and poured over the onions and meat. Cooked on high about 50 minutes.. and turned out GREAT ! You have no idea unless you try this way lol...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      This was delicious! The marjoram added a wonderful flavor. I sauteed the onions for 45 minutes on medium-high to a carmelized brown that was delicious with the steaks. I didn't add the sourcream since we're dieting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      I made this for my boyfriend and roommate tonight...and it was wonderful. Very easy and the steak was very tender! I will definitely save this recipe when I want to impress the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      Got rave reviews from family, definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      This was very good! Served with mashed potatoes and corn. I can't wait to try it with cube steak. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Round Steak & Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 382.1
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    58%
    Total Fat 24.8 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 97.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 828.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 26.7 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes