Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rouladen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rouladen

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2013

      Awful, just awful. First off, don't even pretend like it's only going to take you an hour and ten minutes to make this. Set aside at least 3, if not 5. Aside from the time estimate being horrifyingly wrong, the end result tastes like sweat. 0/10 would never make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This is a very good recipe. Same taste and flavor as my friend mom made in Germany. However I use the Germany mustard (UPC# 0-88468-12800-9) that I bough in the import section of our store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      It goes without saying, TRUE! This is a "ripper" of a recipe too! Used dijon mustard, had no rye seeds today, Substituted peeled broccolini for carrots, it MADE MY DAY! Told butcher what wanted to make, Said it was healthy for my sake! Used yearling steaks tenderized then pounded away between baked paper...again it MADE MY DAY! Added beef broth instead of water , added red wine, This recipe is JUST devine! Like previous reviewer, added bacon in with gravy, black pepper, reduced it by slight, Am sure hubby and I will have a GREAT night! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Update: 3/13/09 So I lef tmy original review when I first joined zaar. This is one of my favorite dishes in the world... I just love the grvy and the flavors are just sooooooo savory... I use some bacon in my gravy as well and serve with spaetzle.. delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      This was delicious. I added some minced celery and garlic. I also added some wine and beef broth to the water to make a richer gravy. The meat was extremely tender and juicy. Will defenitely be making this one again. Thanks so much for posting this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Wonderful this recipe came out just like my favorite resterant. Wonderful tender flavor from the show cooking. Made a fantastic holiday meal!! Thank you for posting, I would not change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Bravo ! You just made my day ! I, too, slowcooked for 3 hours in low and for the gravy, I added some beef granules and flour with a cup of water ( I prepared only for 3 though) and it turned out amazing ! Thank you for posting this recipe, I will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      This is the best rouladen we've made. I use beef broth with wine and a little tomato paste to simmer, and sour cream at the end to thicken gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      My husband loved this recipe and has been bugging me to make it again. I like the recipe as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      I've made this twice now!! We absolutely love it! It's not a recipe that should be rushed, the meat needs time to stew. I pounded the meat out to tenderize it since I don't have a local butcher who will cut the meat so thinly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      Authentic flavours,i made this recipe as with only one variation and that was adding some of the pickle juice to the water.However 2 tspn of cornstarch was not enough,maybe it's an Australian thing not sure as there was lots of filling left,so next time i would halve the bacon used.thank you had been looking for this recipe a long time!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Overall, this was a very yummy recipe. The beef was a little tough, but I think it was because the meat was sliced too thickly. My husband and I feel pickle is what really makes this a tasty dish, so next time we'll probably use a half pickle spear whole instead of the minced pickle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      This dish was excellent. I omitted the rye seeds and used whole grain dijon mustard. I also decreased the water to one cup and added a can of beef broth. The gravy was delicious. We had it with mashed potatoes and corn. This is a keeper. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2004

      Used Dijon Mustard and no rye seeds. It was great. Served it with spaetzel as Bonnie did. Husband lived in Germany as a kid and ranted. Son who had Rouladen out and hated it, liked this and even complimented me the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      I've loved this recipe since I was a kid. The only difference our family has done is they use deusseldorf mustard instead of yellow. My mother added her own touch which was add no salt instead put a packet of lipton onion soup over the rolls and pour in a good glass or a little more of red wine.Then fresh cracked peppercorns. This makes a flavorful sauce and tenderizes the meat even more. Makes my mouth water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Stunning. Well written, easy to follow. We served it a dinner party last night to rave reviews. We didn't use the rye seeds, and I added a little garlic and slow cooked it fo 3 hours instead of 1. Melt in the mouth fantastic. Well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      This is just the way my mother-in-law, who is German, makes this dish, except she cuts the pickles, carrots, and onion, and bacon into strips and then rolls them into the meat that has been spread with the mustard. That way if someone really doesn't like one thing or the other they can pick it out. My husband can't stand to eat onions but he loves Rouladen and the dish just isn't right without it. It's one of our favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      Just like Granny used to make. My husband and our dinner guest don't normally like German food, but now... Next time I will make with slices of veggies & bacon to make easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2003

      I made this today .... absolutely terrific! My husband thinks it's great, too. I served it with spaetzel and red cabbage. A great German dinner, it's going to be made often. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. Bonnie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rouladen

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 433.2
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    58%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 123.9 mg
    41%
    Sodium 632.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 37.2 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites