19 Reviews

Awful, just awful. First off, don't even pretend like it's only going to take you an hour and ten minutes to make this. Set aside at least 3, if not 5. Aside from the time estimate being horrifyingly wrong, the end result tastes like sweat. 0/10 would never make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boy Hardee October 17, 2013

I've made this twice now!! We absolutely love it! It's not a recipe that should be rushed, the meat needs time to stew. I pounded the meat out to tenderize it since I don't have a local butcher who will cut the meat so thinly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaAD April 12, 2006

This is a very good recipe. Same taste and flavor as my friend mom made in Germany. However I use the Germany mustard (UPC# 0-88468-12800-9) that I bough in the import section of our store.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richard.baker April 24, 2010

It goes without saying, TRUE! This is a "ripper" of a recipe too! Used dijon mustard, had no rye seeds today, Substituted peeled broccolini for carrots, it MADE MY DAY! Told butcher what wanted to make, Said it was healthy for my sake! Used yearling steaks tenderized then pounded away between baked paper...again it MADE MY DAY! Added beef broth instead of water , added red wine, This recipe is JUST devine! Like previous reviewer, added bacon in with gravy, black pepper, reduced it by slight, Am sure hubby and I will have a GREAT night! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder March 19, 2009

Update: 3/13/09 So I lef tmy original review when I first joined zaar. This is one of my favorite dishes in the world... I just love the grvy and the flavors are just sooooooo savory... I use some bacon in my gravy as well and serve with spaetzle.. delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laouli March 13, 2009

This was delicious. I added some minced celery and garlic. I also added some wine and beef broth to the water to make a richer gravy. The meat was extremely tender and juicy. Will defenitely be making this one again. Thanks so much for posting this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynn08 October 30, 2008

Wonderful this recipe came out just like my favorite resterant. Wonderful tender flavor from the show cooking. Made a fantastic holiday meal!! Thank you for posting, I would not change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio December 27, 2007

Bravo ! You just made my day ! I, too, slowcooked for 3 hours in low and for the gravy, I added some beef granules and flour with a cup of water ( I prepared only for 3 though) and it turned out amazing ! Thank you for posting this recipe, I will definately make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daramjui September 11, 2007

This is the best rouladen we've made. I use beef broth with wine and a little tomato paste to simmer, and sour cream at the end to thicken gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TinkerTott February 23, 2007

My husband loved this recipe and has been bugging me to make it again. I like the recipe as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mazee January 01, 2007
Rouladen