24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The calories are low, and the dish is simple and straightforward. Like others, I seemed to have an abundance of cabbage, although I only used one head. To even it all out, I just used a little extra chicken broth and all was well. I can imagine that this would be easy to flavor differently, but was nice mild and garlicky as-is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 April 01, 2009

Really enjoyed making this: SO easy, SO delicious and SO healthy. I think the sight and smell of all that yummy garlic was satisfying at a soul level or something. No need to add any garlic to this recipe! I used a Savoy cabbage and my Vegetable Stock and the cabbage was wonderfully flavoursome with just the addition of the paprika and black pepper. A fabulous dish, and one I'll certainly make again. This would be great with any meat dish, and I'm thinking a really great side dish with rich, creamy pastas. Thank you so much for sharing another wonderful recipe, Sharon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 03, 2008

Very good, very easy. I weighed out the chopped cabbage to be sure my quantities were right, it meant that I used half a large cabbage, I'll use the other half to make this again! I used vegetable stock, rather than the chicken. I added it to the buffet, for a luncheon party with friends, I cooked it at the last minute and popped it into a serving dish, simplicity itself. Good texture and taste, I loved this,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth October 21, 2008

This was very good!!! I used a little more broth than stated as it evaporated before my cabbage was cooked, but I did have a lot more cabbage than the recipe had called for. I loved the garlic flavour and the combination of cooking in the broth was a nice touch. A different and very yummy way to make cabbage. I made this to go with an ostrich roast it was a great side and one I will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef October 08, 2008

We really enjoyed this last night! I halved the recipe as that was plenty for DH and I. I also simmered the cabbage covered for about 10 minutes, just the way I prefer cabbage. Great flavor from the garlic and the paprika does give it a nice rosy color!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 October 07, 2008

This was pretty good. However the garlic was too mushy and I couldn't taste it very well. Other than that the flavor was pretty good. I think the next time I make it, I won't cook the garlic as long. Maybe half the time stated. This was easy to make. I substituted some of the chicken broth with beer. It gave it a nice flavor. Beer tends to tenderize food I think. Thanks for sharing your sharing your recipe Sharon. Made for ZWT 4 Germany Bier ist Nahrung Challenge and for the Cafe ZMAKK Gypsies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof August 05, 2008

I made this earlier and neglected to post my review then and just realized that when I returned. If you like cabbage, you will really enjoy this one for it's flavor and simplicity. The long cooking time mellows the garlic bringing out a lovely rich flavor - just take care not to burn as i did in my first effort. A good broth or bullion is also a must. The cabbage really sops up all the flavor beautifully. Thanks Sharon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 05, 2008

This was tasty and simple. Made for Germany ZWT4. I think I would increase the cook time a bit next time. Thanks Sharon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 June 05, 2008

Very yummy! Loved the flavor of this dish. Made for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers during ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess June 05, 2008

My husband, my baby boo, and I all had seconds of this cabbage. Yum! I substituted one tablespoon of the oil with butter because I just like that flavor. Otherwise followed the recipe. Cabbage was melt in your mouth. I don't think my cabbage was cut too coarse and I also had to give mine a bit more time to cook. Thank you for posting! Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph June 01, 2008
Rosy Garlic Sauteed Cabbage