Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rosy Crabapple or Apple Pie Filling - (Freeze or Can) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rosy Crabapple or Apple Pie Filling - (Freeze or Can)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2013

      I wanted to use some of the crabapples loading down my tree so I tried this pie. My only real problem seems to be my own lack of experience. I sliced the apples, I did not core them. The seeds looked so tiny I figured they would just cook up nice and soft. I spent the entire time I was eating picking crushed, unappealing seeds out of my mouth. I also doubled the sugar and still found them too sour. Any way I don't think I will try this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I use this with all types of apples and of course crabapples. My favorites in this pie are the crabapples and the Northern Spy apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      5 for flavor, but waaay too soupy. Maybe the extra water is only if you're freezing it or something? I actually think this would be a bit on the soupy side even if no water was added. None the less, this was incredibly tastey-- and totally worth the fact that I had to eat it with a spoon! It's a great way to put all those crabapples to use. Next time I'll nix the water and maybe even add a little cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Ohhh Gerry. This is so wonderful. We loved this filling. It was so delicious, sharp, sweet, tart, tangy and lemony...just perfect, and so quick and easy to make, why would you ever need another recipe. I love crabapples and always have some shredded in the freezer. The shredded apples worked beautifully in your recipe. The recipe made a dozen beautiful little apple crumb tartlets. One of the best apple pies I have made from Zaar to date. Now that I have made these once, I will be making them again often... and I will be saving all my crabapples for this recipe... Kudo's my friend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Very nice. Works for all my tart apples so far. Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      YUMMMMMMMMMMY and so easy! This is fantastic! If I could giv 10 stars I WOULD!! So would DH and neighbors that smelled these cooking. (Doors open and they walked by house, came down driveway and asked what I was making.) Can't get better than that. Sending over a bag to neighbor tomorrow. I made batch 1 with pears for filling. Did not make to freezer as the aroma said "you must eat me". Today I am on batch3 for the apple filling and it is FANTASTIC! You must try this. Gerry thank you for the assistance. Excellent! Connie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This worked very well for us. In fact it is a favorite. I use it for all crabapples as well as what is 'unfavorite' apples of my other half who loves apples. Suddenly the unfavorite becomes favorite. The only thing I do different is I use Butter Budds in place of the butter and margarine because we aren't allowed it on our diet. Works very well with them or other butter sub.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      What a great way to use up that abundance of apples. I did not add any water because the apples were frozen . I made up an apple crisp with some of the apple pie filler and it was perfect. I will be making up some pies as well as freeze some for future use. Love this recipe Gerry, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rosy Crabapple or Apple Pie Filling - (Freeze or Can)

    Serving Size: 1 (993 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1462.4
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    11%
    Total Fat 19.3 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 131.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 339.5 g
    113%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 200.4 g
    801%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites