22 Reviews

I used Canadian bacon and left out the butter so as to make this okay for the South Beach Diet. Very simple but very tasty dish. Fresh rosemary in beans is something I never would have done. I will from now on. Thanks Gay.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff November 13, 2003

My husband really loved the beans. You can also use the quick soak method instead of soaking the beans overnight. Place the beans in a pot, cover with two inches of water. Bring to a boil. Boil for 2 minutes. Cover and let stand for one hour. Great recipe, great flavors. I was looking for a new way to cook beans and this was it! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Phaeton August 31, 2003

I made mine in my crock pot and used dried rosemary...deee-licious. Thanks, Gay!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drea D November 19, 2003

This is a well written and easy to follow recipe. The changes I made were: I used the fast soak method, I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and I did not add the butter. Thanks Gay for a delicious new recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug April 13, 2004

I, too drained the bacon fat before sauteing the onion. I used the crockpot and didn't need all the liquid since it doesn't evaporate away as it would on the stovetop, probably half the amount called for. It cooked for about 5 hours in order to soften. We enjoyed the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 16, 2004

Wow was this good!! I've had this recipe in my cookbook forever, and am I glad I finally tried it. Simple, delicious and actually elegant. I think this dish would compliment any roast meat. I served it with ham. I made it in my crock-pot also, and reduced the liquid from 8 cups to 6. I cooked it on high for about 6 hrs. I also omitted the butter, and drained the bacon fat, since I'm trying to reduce the fat in our diets. I suppose turkey bacon would be a good alternative. Thanks for a really different side-dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess February 07, 2004

I'm rereviewing this recipe. It has become one that I make over and over again. This recipe takes something that is a very simple dish and dresses it up into a special one. However, it does not take much effort to change ordinary white beans into this dish. After much thought, I have to change my review to five stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Fullerton January 25, 2004

Loved this!! I was looking for recipes good for someone trying to control high cholesterol with diet. I did use Hormel real bacon bits because they are much lower cholesterol that frying bacon. Flavors go so well together know one would know you were trying to give them something healthy :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DSimone April 04, 2015

Excellent beans and so easy which I love. I followed the recipe with the exception of using 1 tablespoon of dried rosemary. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB November 24, 2012

We are trying to reduce animal products a little and increase beans and legumes a lot. It isn't always exciting. :) This recipe is a wonderful treatment of the beans and as you say...'how can something so simple taste so good?' I got lazy and used canned beans and of course reduced the time accordingly. They ended up softer than I would have liked but that was entirely my fault. The taste was there but next time I will go the dry beans route. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned October 15, 2012
Rosemary White Beans