Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rosemary White Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rosemary White Beans

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2003

      I used Canadian bacon and left out the butter so as to make this okay for the South Beach Diet. Very simple but very tasty dish. Fresh rosemary in beans is something I never would have done. I will from now on. Thanks Gay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2003

      I made mine in my crock pot and used dried rosemary...deee-licious. Thanks, Gay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      My husband really loved the beans. You can also use the quick soak method instead of soaking the beans overnight. Place the beans in a pot, cover with two inches of water. Bring to a boil. Boil for 2 minutes. Cover and let stand for one hour. Great recipe, great flavors. I was looking for a new way to cook beans and this was it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      This is a well written and easy to follow recipe. The changes I made were: I used the fast soak method, I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and I did not add the butter. Thanks Gay for a delicious new recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      I, too drained the bacon fat before sauteing the onion. I used the crockpot and didn't need all the liquid since it doesn't evaporate away as it would on the stovetop, probably half the amount called for. It cooked for about 5 hours in order to soften. We enjoyed the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      Wow was this good!! I've had this recipe in my cookbook forever, and am I glad I finally tried it. Simple, delicious and actually elegant. I think this dish would compliment any roast meat. I served it with ham. I made it in my crock-pot also, and reduced the liquid from 8 cups to 6. I cooked it on high for about 6 hrs. I also omitted the butter, and drained the bacon fat, since I'm trying to reduce the fat in our diets. I suppose turkey bacon would be a good alternative. Thanks for a really different side-dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      I'm rereviewing this recipe. It has become one that I make over and over again. This recipe takes something that is a very simple dish and dresses it up into a special one. However, it does not take much effort to change ordinary white beans into this dish. After much thought, I have to change my review to five stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      Excellent beans and so easy which I love. I followed the recipe with the exception of using 1 tablespoon of dried rosemary. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      We are trying to reduce animal products a little and increase beans and legumes a lot. It isn't always exciting. :) This recipe is a wonderful treatment of the beans and as you say...'how can something so simple taste so good?' I got lazy and used canned beans and of course reduced the time accordingly. They ended up softer than I would have liked but that was entirely my fault. The taste was there but next time I will go the dry beans route. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      I got Tom Douglas's book after eating at his restaurants a couple of times,and I've made this more often than anything else in the book. It's easy, yummy, and works with whatever herbs you have on hand. I skip the water when I make it, and just use chicken stock, so I don't have to drain any of the flavor away at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Wow. Incredibly simple. Indescribably good. Why aren't more recipes like this?! Like some of the other readers I had to pour off some of the cooking water and will adjust next time. This is a real keeper. I will be making this often. Thank you, Gay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      We've served this a couple of times now, and both times, it's been consistently delicious! There seemed to be a bit too much liquid (more like a soup than a bean dish), but we can easily adjust the amount of water. It's still delightful, and is definitely in our list of repeat recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      I have used this recipe for years and years... never had anyone say less than, "These are the best white beans I have ever put into my mouth"... thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      These were fabulous! Though I did cheat and used 2 15.5oz.cans of cannellini beans ( but only because our Colorado house is at 10,00 ft. and the dried beans would NEVER get done up there! :) ). I used a 14.5 oz.can of chicken broth and followed the rest of the recipe. I served these with Tuscan Style Grilled Tuna for a truely delicious meal. Thanks for posting this,Gay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      A definite 5 star recipe, a wonderful, flavourful way to make beans! I followed the recipe exactly but ended up with way too much liquid when the beans were done, so I ladled about 3 cups out which I will freeze to use in another recipe. Next time I think I will use just one cup of water. We loved the flavour of the rosemary, I have a plant I am wintering indoors so I used fresh. We had some for supper with Round Steak Barbecue, a very tasty supper. Thanks for posting, I will be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      These were yummy. I cooked the rosemary with the beans for the last 30 minutes. Do make sure you allow them plenty of time - the beans need to be really soft. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I have made these twice now, for my white bean loving Southern gentleman. he loved them, suprisingly so did my very picky teenage daughter. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      The beans were simple to prepare and delicious. We grow rosemary in our backyard so it had an immediate appeal. My wife claims she hates white beans but found these acceptable. She says the rosemary is what made it for her. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      A delicious way to prepare beans. I followed the recipe as written, and the beans went wonderfully with our roast pork loin. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      I agree, this is the best bean dish, ever!!! When I made it I put in whole sprigs of rosemary instead of chopped. Sometimes the rosemary loses it color when cooking. This way I take out the whole sprigs when it is finished and I still have all the taste. I served this with roasted halibut. Yum!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rosemary White Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.7
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    31%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 20.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 297.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 16.6 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes