27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was completely impressed with this recipe. As a general rule I don’t like meatloaf at all. My objections to any recipes I have tried in the past are these…touch, greasy and tasteless. So when I stumbled across this recipe that was not remotely greasy, very tender and wonderfully flavourful I know that it will become a family staple. I chose to use milk (one of the liquid options) but think I may try the broth the next time due to the fact that the colour of the loaf was a little pale. Again that may be due to the way I cooked it. Thank you for your recipe. I hope others will try it.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myrna in London May 15, 2002

I have made this several times now and I wish I could give it more than 5 stars asit's the best meatloaf I've ever had. I add a little extra oats and some ketchup to the actual mix. I'm having it again for dinner tonight with turkey. Will let you know how it works out! EDIT: It's better with beef, but it's not bad with the turkey, it just needs different spices. I bet if you made it with your usual turkey seasonings and topped it with cranberry sauce instead of ketchup it would be delicious. I will probably try that soon as the oats really make it moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizshuckiduck November 30, 2007

This is definitely a 5 star recipe!!! I loved it, and I normally don't like meatloaf! My husband loved it too, and we ate the leftovers on sandwiches the next day! The only change I made was topping the meatloaf with an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of ketchup, because I was just about out of ketchup. It was very good with tomato sauce, but I'm sure it would be great with ketchup too! This recipe is a keeper, I will definitely be making this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. August 14, 2002

Wow! Wow! Wow! This is a great recipe and so super delish. Light, savory, and perfect with wine. Thank you for sharing, this dish is a new tradition in our home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lullwaterlake April 25, 2015

Won't leave stars b/c I think it was just my taste. It was a nice moist (but not too moist) meatloaf. I thought I'd like it more than I did. I love rosemary, but for some reason this just didn't do it for me. It will get eaten, but probably won't make again. I made as is using beef broth, except for halving the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 July 01, 2010

This was so good!! I cooked as stated and it came out very tender and moist. After reading some reviews, I now see that celery and bell pepper may be added. They may just put this over-the-top!! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris April 13, 2010

I am new to using Rosemary. My daughter lives in Ruston, WA and due to the abundance of it out there she has inspired me to try recipes that use this amazing herb. It truly gave the recipe a whole new dimension. Thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChiefCook&BottleWasher December 01, 2009

Great meatloaf! I halved the meat (using ground turkey), and kept the rest of the proportions the same. This left me with a fluffy, tender loaf. The servings sizes on this are rather large. I also added some green pepper and celery to the mix, as i do with meatloafs. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen February 08, 2009

This is a very nice meatloaf! My whole family enjoyed it. I served with roasted asparagus, baked potatoes and apple sauce. It was enjoyed very much! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelliBelli January 07, 2009

We loved this meatloaf. I have hanging baskets with fresh herbs, sage, rosemary, thyme, parsley, so I used the appropriate amount of chopped fresh rosemary and thyme. I also used chopped small onion (didn't have the dried). The freshly made meatloaf was delicious but the fresh herbs seemed a bit strong. There are only two of us, so I sliced the remainder and froze in packages of two. We loosely wrap in foil and warm in a toaster oven (we don't care for meat warmed in a microwave), and the slices are better after freezing than they were fresh! The flavors seemed more blended. I definitely will use this recipe again. We love the texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BDH May 10, 2008
Rosemary Meatloaf