68 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just finished making this bread, and I really love it. I started simmering sloppy joes (Sloppy Joes) earlier today and realized I had no rolls to serve them on. I found this foccacia recipe to quickly make some good rolls. One tip: I had a packet of Good Seasonings Garlic & Herb salad dressing mix on hand. I stirred this in to the warm water and yeast instead of the sugar (the first ingredient in this packet is sugar, so my yeast still had lots of good stuff to eat). I shaped the dough into flat rolls, topped with just oil and sea salt. Really great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brie8a April 29, 2008

This is the perfect bread! Very easy. I've increased the garlic from the first time I made this we are up to 4 cloves now! I minced the garlic and I add it to the olive oil and let it sit while I make the bread. Thanks for sharing evelyn. ETA: Ive made this bread more times than I can count, its just soo good and easy to make. I had a chance to snap a photo Now we feel like the lucky ones having this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee March 24, 2008

good, but it did not rock my world or remind me of focaccia the way I have always had it in Italian bakeries. thanks though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoe.s.true March 23, 2008

What a terrific bread! I made this the other night to accompany spaghetti and was delighted to see my kids try to stuff the spaghetti into the bread! Usually nothing gets in between the fork and their mouths when it's spaghetti, LOL! Preparation was a snap, ingredients are those always on hand in my pantry. My daughter asked if we can try this focaccia as a pizza base. I think I want to have it the next time I make my Syrian feast. Great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina January 29, 2008

Once again, a great recipe from Evelyn! Very quick and easy to prepare - my family of men LOVED it. I know that if evelyn/athens posts a recipe, it will be wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen B August 21, 2007

Absolutely amazing recipe. I've made this several times and it comes out wonderfully every time. Everyone in my house loves it. The perfect belnd of herbs and salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amsinaz August 10, 2007

Excellent recipe! Easiest bread I have ever made. I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and added 1/2 cup parmesan cheese to the dough. The sea salt really makes this flavorful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Cooks July 09, 2007

I'm sorry I didn't rate sooner but I must THANK you because this focaccia was AWESOME!!! I used your wonderful focaccia recipe for my French school project, in which I had to make a Monegasque recipe. During my research, I found that they have a type of focaccia called "Fougasse aux herbes". It's a focaccia made with herbes d'Provence so I used your focaccia recipe and tweaked it a bit by adding the needed herbs and eliminating the garlic. The result....GREAT! It was a total hit at my school and people were literally fighting over the bread to get a piece. I had to cut it in very small pieces so I could save some for my family to try out. They also loved it! It was soft, tasty and although I made it the night before the event which was the following day in the afternoon, it was soft and tasted like recently made. I'm truly wordless! Thanks again!!!!! PS: I forgot to mention that I actually WON 1st place for the 11th grade "category" since it was a "culinary" event at my school there were actually judges (French teachers) who rated your presentation (talking, material, recipe, etc.)! THANKS!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanessa June 28, 2007

This was the perfect focaccia recipe. I added 1 tsp of italian spices (dried basil,oregano & parsley) in with the dry ingredients. I mixed 2 cloves of garlic into the dough after the first rise to prevent the burn other reviewers noted. I also subbed fresh rosemary for the dried. The results were excellent, crispy on the outside soft and chewy inside. I froze the leftovers, which tasted just as good as the fresh when warmed in the oven after thawing. I can't wait to make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psulauren June 06, 2007

This was so simple - my entire family loved it, including my 12 year old DS. I loved that you didn't have to knead the dough. Mine turned out a little 'fluffier' than some of the pictures, but it was perfect for sandwiches. This may be because I used bread flour instead of all-purpose flour? I served it with "Chicken and Grape Panini". We also ate some plain, as it makes a huge loaf - perfect both ways! Next time I will put the garlic in the dough, it burned on the top and kept falling off.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 06, 2007
Rosemary - Garlic Focaccia