16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is now my favorite, "go to" recipe for focaccia! I made it as directed, with two exceptions: I did not have bread flour, so used regular, all-purpose flour, and also sprinkled a mix of Italian herbs into the flour before mixing. The directions and rising/cooking time were perfect. I did, however, cook the loaves separately; one on a baking stone and one on a baking sheet. The loaf on the baking stone came out the best - crustier and a nicer golden brown. The bread was absolutely delicious and looked wonderful. I'll be using this recipe a LOT - it really doesn't take very long to make, and the taste is scrumptious. Definite winner, Kim!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette March 01, 2004

Yummmm - this is delicious. Made tonight to go with lasagne and salad - it's just come out of the oven and already half of one loaf is gone. My eldest son has a "thing" for focaccia at the moment so he will be taking some for school lunches. I made it almost exactly to the recipe except, like Lizzie-Babette, I used all-purpose flour. Also I cooked for slightly longer (my oven's slow), it really looks, smells and tastes great. Definitely making this again (and again). Thanks Kim D.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff April 05, 2004

This recipe is perfect. I've made it many times and everyone loves it! I generally add different herbs and spices depending on availability. Newcomers to bread baking must pay close attention to the temperature of their liquid. Too hot will kill the yeast. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milette December 27, 2009

This is the perfect focaccia recipe, since I first tried it I have used it every time I needed to make bread. I also make different toppings (roasted veg, etc.) for it and it is always a great success.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food45 December 04, 2009

This was my first time making bread and I followed these directions exactly and the dough did not rise. I believe it may be because the yeast needed to be disolved in the water first? Please amend the recipie so beginers like myself don't have to waste time or ingredients. I am sure the recipie is great just by reading the reviews however by not having the directions correct, it can be a dissapointment to first time bakers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loatc November 16, 2009

I do not have a big standing mixer so I deviated slightly from the recipe, doing it "like mom used to". I dissolve the yeast in the water with just a scant tsp of sugar, let the yeast foam up for 10 minutes then add the oil. Then I gradually mix in the flour, beating it after each addition and then I kneaded the dough by hand for 5 minutes. I've made this with rosemary and salt--very stunning--but today I just made it with mixed italian herbs and about 1 tsp of granulated garlic in the dough. Makes a more pedestrian product. But I use this recipe when I want two rounds of Focaccia and it always gives a really nice textured and tasty loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ November 01, 2009

This was a very good bread. Next time I'd add lots more salt on the top of the bread before it bakes and more rosemary in the dough. However, this was a GREAT bread. Thanks for the recipe! I used this with my dipping sauce recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandikaake October 24, 2007

Perfect! This was my first time making bread and it was easier than I thought! Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uniquemo July 15, 2007

a bit dry, but taste very "rosemary" I baked in 15x10 cookie sheet for 25min

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fawn512 January 20, 2007
Rosemary Focaccia Bread