Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rosemary and Lemon Pork Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rosemary and Lemon Pork Stew

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2006

      I did not care for this recipe much. Although I agree that it is easy to prepare and the meat is very tender, the wine was entirely too overpowering and could stand to be diluted a little. I used dry white wine, as directed. It was served over rice and I thickened it just a tad, but no where near enough to change the flavor. The spices together would have been great if the wine was not so strong. I may decide to try again, I will use half wine and half water, because, like I said it was easy and the meat was very tender.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      This was the first time I had tried a Portugese dish. I was unsure what to serve with it. I finally selected garlic bread, tossed green salad, and a simple poundcake for dessert. I liked the stew itself. The flavors really meld well together & I liked the earthy taste of the rosemary, the depth of the wine, & the sharpness from the lemon. I did throw in a cup of frozen green beans near the end of the cooking time just to add some color. I also garnished with the suggested cilantro. I usually enjoy cilantro, but would not add it to this recipe next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe with me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      I really liked this recipe. My family is very picky when it comes to trying new foods, but they all enjoyed this meal very much. I used apple juice instead of wine (because it's cheaper and I prefer to save my wine for drinking :P) and it worked very well. This was my first attempt at cooking a real meal, and I am very happy with how well it turned out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Lovely simple low fat meal with subtle flavours. I added a little tumeric to the rice while it was cooking which gives it a nice colour and extra flavour to compliment the pork stew. The chopped parsley garnish adds that little extra and really enhances the taste as well as the presentation. I used a Viognier wine in the recipe and also had a glass to accompany the meal :-).<br/>Next time I might add some sliced green chillies just to give it that little extra to bring the overall flavour up a notch and I think then it will be a 5 star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Hearty and good, but not great. Certainly easy to prepare; maybe could use some more veggies to give it variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      Delicious and simple dish. Next time, I would increases the spices by (at least) 50% as another reviewer suggested. I would also make a little more sauce as there wasn't much per serving and my hubby likes a lot of sauce. Overall, the meat was tender and it tasted good - just a little bland for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      I really like this version of stew. I made a few minor changes - button mushrooms, lots of fresh rosemary and I served it over rice. It's easy and delicious, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Alright so I am walking down the meat counter and the butcher has this buetiful 6 pound deboned boston butt for 4 bucks (cuse he's gonna throw it in the dumpster tommorw). I'm like I'll buy the dam thing and figure out what to do with it. 1,2.6. I get on the zar and find this recipe. Most exclant I happend to have freash rosemarry and Basial in the garden to used that instead of dried. I only used a quater of the but for the stew the rest is for roast but this recipe is a total hit with the whole team. I halved button mushrooms instead of using protos but it came out fine. Most excelent, thanks Angie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Great Stew. I only had button mushrooms but it still cooked slow and with great flavor. The meat was so tender and the onions really added a lot. Served with Portuguese Fried Potatoes / Batas a Portuguesa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Outstanding Recipe! This is a fantastic company dish. Everyone raved! I used White Vermouth for the wine and everything as listed! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      We loved this stew! We used for pork leg steaks cut up and substituted chicken broth for the white wine, as that is what we had available. Really really nice blend of flavors and not at all overpowered by the rosemary. Served with roasted vegetables and potato wedges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Delicious and so easy to make! I used fresh basil and doubled the mushrooms, but otherwise followed the recipe. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I enjoyed this so much. It reminded me of veal piccata. I added red pepper flakes for a little kick, capers and I squeezed a whole lemon in mine! I also served it over quino instead of rice. It was a great meal that I plan on making over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This recipe provided us with an enjoyable, and different meal. It was also quite easy to make. The seasoning is unusual for me, but nice. I think I'd like to experment with amounts a bit to make it really mine. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      This stew reminded me that rosemary has been missing from my Portuguese food!! I didn't use the mushrooms, and added a lot of garlic and a bit more paprika. Delicious overrall!!!! The sauce is perfect on top of Portuguese rice or with potatoes. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      This was wonderful! Very different stew. I upped the spices by 50% and used fresh rosemary with 2T. Only because I like really pungent foods. I did have to add 1/2 cup water as it was getting too thick. I served this over wide egg noodles. It is very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Delicious--a differet wonderful pork stew! We used pork stew meat and red wine. Super easy and delicious with Macaroni Grill Rosemary Bread Romano's Macaroni Grill Rosemary Bread. We will be having this again soon. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      This is one of the best pork recipes I have had. I used cubed pork Sirloin, abd served with mashed potatoes. I also used fresh herbs from my garden (double the amount of dried). I left out the mushrooms (my husband doesn't like them).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      Sound great, please give me the option of adding this to my cookbook Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      i intend to try this this week.---can't wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rosemary and Lemon Pork Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (354 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 548.5
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    37%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 151.9 mg
    50%
    Sodium 509.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 51.5 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites