37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I did not care for this recipe much. Although I agree that it is easy to prepare and the meat is very tender, the wine was entirely too overpowering and could stand to be diluted a little. I used dry white wine, as directed. It was served over rice and I thickened it just a tad, but no where near enough to change the flavor. The spices together would have been great if the wine was not so strong. I may decide to try again, I will use half wine and half water, because, like I said it was easy and the meat was very tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAteMyGluestick August 02, 2006

This was the first time I had tried a Portugese dish. I was unsure what to serve with it. I finally selected garlic bread, tossed green salad, and a simple poundcake for dessert. I liked the stew itself. The flavors really meld well together & I liked the earthy taste of the rosemary, the depth of the wine, & the sharpness from the lemon. I did throw in a cup of frozen green beans near the end of the cooking time just to add some color. I also garnished with the suggested cilantro. I usually enjoy cilantro, but would not add it to this recipe next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe with me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D March 22, 2005

I really liked this recipe. My family is very picky when it comes to trying new foods, but they all enjoyed this meal very much. I used apple juice instead of wine (because it's cheaper and I prefer to save my wine for drinking :P) and it worked very well. This was my first attempt at cooking a real meal, and I am very happy with how well it turned out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trevor N. January 04, 2014

Lovely simple low fat meal with subtle flavours. I added a little tumeric to the rice while it was cooking which gives it a nice colour and extra flavour to compliment the pork stew. The chopped parsley garnish adds that little extra and really enhances the taste as well as the presentation. I used a Viognier wine in the recipe and also had a glass to accompany the meal :-).<br/>Next time I might add some sliced green chillies just to give it that little extra to bring the overall flavour up a notch and I think then it will be a 5 star.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaneH62 March 23, 2013

Hearty and good, but not great. Certainly easy to prepare; maybe could use some more veggies to give it variety.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole February 29, 2012

Delicious and simple dish. Next time, I would increases the spices by (at least) 50% as another reviewer suggested. I would also make a little more sauce as there wasn't much per serving and my hubby likes a lot of sauce. Overall, the meat was tender and it tasted good - just a little bland for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super Simple Sandy November 21, 2011

I really like this version of stew. I made a few minor changes - button mushrooms, lots of fresh rosemary and I served it over rice. It's easy and delicious, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader January 27, 2011

Alright so I am walking down the meat counter and the butcher has this buetiful 6 pound deboned boston butt for 4 bucks (cuse he's gonna throw it in the dumpster tommorw). I'm like I'll buy the dam thing and figure out what to do with it. 1,2.6. I get on the zar and find this recipe. Most exclant I happend to have freash rosemarry and Basial in the garden to used that instead of dried. I only used a quater of the but for the stew the rest is for roast but this recipe is a total hit with the whole team. I halved button mushrooms instead of using protos but it came out fine. Most excelent, thanks Angie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tread July 23, 2010

Outstanding Recipe! This is a fantastic company dish. Everyone raved! I used White Vermouth for the wine and everything as listed! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) March 11, 2010
Rosemary and Lemon Pork Stew