Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rose Water and Cardamom Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rose Water and Cardamom Custard

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2009

      Lovely! I would increase amount of rosewater next time to intensify the lovely flavour, and use the whole tsp of cardamom.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      This was so good! I halved the recipe as I suspected my DH and DS may poo poo anything containing Rose Water. Ha! More for me! I used 1/4 tsp cardamom and 1/2 tbs of rose water as this was new to me as well. I had asked lemoncurd if the cream needed to be whipped prior to adding in (the answer was to add as a liquid, not whipped), but she mentioned that the consistency of this custard was medium and if I wanted a thicker custard I could add a little more custard powder. So I did, about 1 tbs more. The rose water was subtle, but noticeable and the cardamom was fantastic. It got even better with the addition of the ground pistachios. Lemoncurd, thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I can see why your DH loves the Rose Water/ Cardamom combination-DELISH! Nick's Mom

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      I had great hopes for this custard, but it didn't work out well for me. I suspect the brand of custard powder I used (Morinaga), was the culprit, so am not assigning stars. The custard never thickened properly, even after the addition of 2 additional tablespoons custard powder. I hoped that chilling would help, but the end product was only about as thick as dairy eggnog. It was quite sweet, too, also perhaps because of the custard powder. I do like the combination of cardamom and rose water, and may try this flavoring with custard made from scratch. Thank you for the idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Delicious and unusual custard/pudding. I wasn't able to find custard powder so used an equal amount of cornstarch (probably could have used less) but followed directions as written, however with the amount of cornstarch I used the pudding/custard thickened up right away. Thanks for sharing this interesting recipe and if I find custard powder I will try again and revise this review.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      This was very easy to make and very quick. It tastes much better after sitting in the fridge for a few hours. The taste grows on you, it is abit unusual, sort of like a turkish delight flavoured custard. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      Please don't laugh...this was 1/2 gone before it got to the fridge. :O I used 5TB cornstarch & 1TB vanilla powder. IT WAS SOOOO DELICIOUS!! I'm one who craves rosewater. ;) Next time I will try 6TB cornstarch because I think it was suposed to be thicker. The only disapointment was the next day it was like a milkshake. But still DELICIOUS so I put it in a glass & drank it. :) I was confused at first about why this was a custard (I hadn't heard of custard powder) - I would call this a pudding because to me custard = egg based. Regardless, this was simple, easy & fairly quick. It did take quite some time to chill but I had already eaten most of it by then anyway, lol. And it's fabulous still warm!! I'm making some more very soon. Thanks, lemoncurd!!!<br/><br/>NEW REVIEW!! I FOUND CUSTARD POWDER!!! I MADE IT PROPERLY!! Gosh, it was so long ago that I first made this. I have been looking forever searching under cardamom & pudding. I forgot that 'custard' is in the title not pudding. GAH. I found it when adding recipes for the Go to Saudi Arabia! segment of the regional excursions around the NA/ME Forum 6/13. Anyway, this is still the most fabulous, delicious pudding around. i *had* to share with dd. It did NOT separate in the fridge overnight. I'm so happy I found this recipe again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      What an interesting way of making an elegant dessert out of simple custard powder! I loved the way the flavors of cardamom and rose subtly stood out without being too overpowering. I love rose water so I used 3 tbsp. Another variation that we could use is adding fresh or dried rose petals to the milk along with the cardamom powder and sugar, bringing it to a boil and switching off the heat to let the flavor infuse for about 20 minutes or so before continuing with the other steps. I saw this being done once on an Arabic cookery show. Apparently this method gives a rich, aromatic rose fragrance to the custard. Thanks lemoncurd...this recipe will be added to mys list for dinner party desserts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      This was really really good. I didn't have cardamom, so I used cinnamon instead. It was very rich. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rose Water and Cardamom Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.5
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    43%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 65.1 mg
    21%
    Sodium 108.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 50.3 g
    201%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    custard powder

    rose water

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes