Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rosalita's Arepas Con Queso Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rosalita's Arepas Con Queso

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2012

      These were yummy! I just wanted to add a little tidbit of information for everyone's edification. This is a Colombian arepa, which are sweet and taste pretty much like this. In Venezuela this would be something like a "cachapa." Venezuelans have arepas too, but they are not sweet and are made from precooked white cornmeal. These are by no means "Mexican" food as one commenter said. If you like "tex-mex" It's no wonder you didn't like them. Different continent. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      These were different than the last arepas I made. Very sweet! I had a hard time with the milk mixture the first time. I didn't let the milk sit and cool off long enough, so the cold buttermilk curdled as soon as I put it in. :( Luckily I felt like starting over at that point, so I did, this time slowly adding a spoonful of hot milk into the buttermilk at a time to temper it, while stirring the milk and adding bits of butter to cool it. Once the milk wasn't steaming anymore, I slowly poured the warmed buttermilk (plus milk) into the hot milk/butter. This worked MUCH better, and I was able to continue to cook. Thank you for sharing. Made for ZWT5, for the Groovy GastroGnomes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      DS & I really liked these. DH & DD couldn't eat them because of the cheese. DS loved the mix of sweet & savory. On the other hand, since I eat my cornbread with syrup I wanted to add syrup after I put each bite in my mouth. Then I'd bite into the mozzarella cheese & realize that I wouldn't like syrup with my cheese! :) This was a whole new recipe for us & we're really glad we tried it. I think next time I'll play around, making some without cheese for DH & DD and maybe even trying to add some chopped green chilies or red pepper flakes for a little kick. Thanks for sharing, Bren! Made for ZWT5 - Ali Baba's Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      They were ok. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I thought they were extremely greasy and kind of bland. But I prefer TexMex to true Mexican food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      Very good. I love the combination of sweet and savory, soft and crunchy. I had a little trouble flipping these, next time I think I'll make them a bit smaller. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT7- Emerald City Shakers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      I must say I have never had an arepa before and I'm so glad I tried your recipe. It was so delicious!!! I will be making these again. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      these were fantastic. Easy as pie to make (easier lol) and delicious. a terrific luncheon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      I've never had these before but I love them. Just wonderful and yummy. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I have loved arepas since first trying them at local street fairs here in NYC. They are sweet and salty, crispy and gooey - all in one tidy perfect package. With the ZWT visit to S/CA I decided to try making a lighter version to prepare at home which require a few substitutions including skim milk, light butter and soy cheese. Also, I "fried" mine in cooking spray which took a little more effort but the results were worth it. (To do that start with the heat high to get a crust then reduce to cook through.) The dough is so delicious, I could have (and did) eat it raw from the spoon. I think the ground corn adds so much to these. Thanks Nick's Mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      this is the first time ive ever cooked an arepa and your recipie is delicious! i will definately be making them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Well, I have nothing to compare this to since I have never had arepas, but I've heard of them!!! Very delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rosalita's Arepas Con Queso

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.0
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    49%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 63.4 mg
    21%
    Sodium 413.3 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes