28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice. Used 1 whole onion (about 1 cup) so I sauted it till it was reduced and just turning golden before adding the meat. Also, a few minutes before serving I added a cup of frozen sweet peas as well. Served with long grain brown rice. Quick, easy and delicous weekday dinner that we all enjoyed. Thank you chef FIFI!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Primordial February 10, 2011

I followed the recipe to the letter except for the red pepper as I didn't have any. I also used less seasoning salt because I watch my sodium intake. Nevertheless this wasn't very good. My family hated it. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip July 16, 2008

I made this dish during fasting month so I am sorry it took so long to write this review. When my husband saw me put in the cinnamon- he was mortified and turned his nose up at it and swore it wouldn't taste good. He was complaining the whole time I was cooking until I put a spoonful in his mouth... lol. He ended up eating three plates for it and still begged for more! It did have a unique taste but it was wonderful! Not only did my hubby love this put my two very picky toddlers ate everything on their plate! I did add more cinnamon and allspice than what was said but it was to my taste. I also added more red peppers! This is a fast and tasty recipe and we will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alli Bee February 29, 2008

This dish has a great taste and was easy to make. I served it as a main dish with lean ground turkey. My husband thought it was a little dry but loved the taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Coco #2 February 24, 2008

Tastes great. I used ground turkey and the only change I made was to use only 4 cups of rice and add a bit of cumin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElephantLady February 08, 2008

I made this with three rice cooker cups of rice, which was plenty, and I used a whole pound of ground turkey. The flavor was wonderful. I didn't have red pepper so I shredded one carrot and added it. I think this would also be good with some tomatoes and perhaps some other veggies too. This is a keeper, and next time I'll prepare the whole thing in my rice cooker so I only have one dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy May 29, 2007

Wonderful! I used ground turkey breast, added a little chopped cilantro and green peas before serving and served a tomato & cucumber salad on the side! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn May 23, 2007

This has become my daughter's favorite! We do an entire pound of ground beef, and brown rice. It is wonderful! We never seem to have leftovers. Thank you for a great, easy recipe made with pantry staples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Happy at Home May 13, 2007

Loved the flavours. To avoid the dryness i added a bit of corn oil to the meat mixture. I would definately make this again to eat as a side dish with bbq'ed meat and i would have also liked to add roasted almond slices to decorate the rice with at the end. Thank you for this wonderful dish i truly enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Latte March 07, 2007

It's a grate tasteing and straight forward dish to prepare. i really enjoyed this one. thx fifi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maya's Mama January 27, 2007
Rooz Ma Lahem (Rice With Meat)