Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rooz Ma Lahem (Rice With Meat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rooz Ma Lahem (Rice With Meat)

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2009

      This is terrific and most definitely will be made many times at my house! I used ground turkey and made only a few slight changes -- I only used about 3.5 cups of rice, a whole onion, a half a red bellpepper, increased the cinnamon to about 3/4 teaspoon and I didn't add any garlic powder. Many thanks to you Chef Fifi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I dont know how to rate this as DH did not like the flavour of this at all! Whereas I loved it and so did DD (toddler). I used less rice for the amount of ground beef. I probably used less chickpeas too and more chopped onion than called for. Along with the allspice I used some of my own Baharat Aka Middle East Mixed Spices - the Real Mix & sea salt to taste. I did not add garlic powder or red pepper for colour as we don't like peppers much. I will not be making this again. Made for Ramadan Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      I made the recipe as written—except with only 4 cups of rice, as that was all I had on hand—and it went down a treat with German coleslaw left over from our 4th of July celebrations!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Thank you, Chef FIFI, for a great keeper recipe! I like to add whatever extra vegetable I have on hand to saute with the onions and meat (shredded carrot is my favorite!). The flavors are superb, and I find myself constantly returning to this recipe for a quick, wholesome meal the whole family loves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      I preferred this with the lamb. Nice as is, but I found that adding about a tablespoon of ground cumin to the meat added something that it seemed to be missing for me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      I love this recipe! It's delicious, unique, and always a hit with guests. I use a whole pound of meat, I add 2 cans of white beans instead of the chick peas, and I add 2-3 cups of shredded carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      I used ground lamb, and white and wild rice mixed. Also, used a little bit of beef boullion (1 tsp better than bullion beef boullion) to "goose up" the flavor a bit as it was a little bland and gamey. The boullion gave it a nice flavor boost. Also used mixed color sweet peppers and sliced black olives but no chick peas. Nice mediterranean dish to go with my freshly made spanakopita =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Wow, This was awesome. Thanks for sharing. Great Ramadan dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      I should start off by saying...I changed a few things, but I still gave it five stars because it was tastetacular as is. I added half a teaspoon of ras el hanout instead of all the spices it called for. I also added a can of tomatoes and a cup or so of chicken broth. I served it with flatbread. All I can say is num num num. Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      This was delicious. I'd never made anything like this before, and I wasn't sure how the spices would taste together, but my whole family loved it. I will definitely make this again. I added shredded carrots and substituted the chick peas with white beans, because that's what I had in the house. Terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Very nice. Used 1 whole onion (about 1 cup) so I sauted it till it was reduced and just turning golden before adding the meat. Also, a few minutes before serving I added a cup of frozen sweet peas as well. Served with long grain brown rice. Quick, easy and delicous weekday dinner that we all enjoyed. Thank you chef FIFI!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      I followed the recipe to the letter except for the red pepper as I didn't have any. I also used less seasoning salt because I watch my sodium intake. Nevertheless this wasn't very good. My family hated it. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      I made this dish during fasting month so I am sorry it took so long to write this review. When my husband saw me put in the cinnamon- he was mortified and turned his nose up at it and swore it wouldn't taste good. He was complaining the whole time I was cooking until I put a spoonful in his mouth... lol. He ended up eating three plates for it and still begged for more! It did have a unique taste but it was wonderful! Not only did my hubby love this put my two very picky toddlers ate everything on their plate! I did add more cinnamon and allspice than what was said but it was to my taste. I also added more red peppers! This is a fast and tasty recipe and we will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      This dish has a great taste and was easy to make. I served it as a main dish with lean ground turkey. My husband thought it was a little dry but loved the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Tastes great. I used ground turkey and the only change I made was to use only 4 cups of rice and add a bit of cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      I made this with three rice cooker cups of rice, which was plenty, and I used a whole pound of ground turkey. The flavor was wonderful. I didn't have red pepper so I shredded one carrot and added it. I think this would also be good with some tomatoes and perhaps some other veggies too. This is a keeper, and next time I'll prepare the whole thing in my rice cooker so I only have one dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      Wonderful! I used ground turkey breast, added a little chopped cilantro and green peas before serving and served a tomato & cucumber salad on the side! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      This has become my daughter's favorite! We do an entire pound of ground beef, and brown rice. It is wonderful! We never seem to have leftovers. Thank you for a great, easy recipe made with pantry staples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Loved the flavours. To avoid the dryness i added a bit of corn oil to the meat mixture. I would definately make this again to eat as a side dish with bbq'ed meat and i would have also liked to add roasted almond slices to decorate the rice with at the end. Thank you for this wonderful dish i truly enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      It's a grate tasteing and straight forward dish to prepare. i really enjoyed this one. thx fifi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rooz Ma Lahem (Rice With Meat)

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.8
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    16%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 25.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 237.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites