37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just made this Jelly for the third time. It so easy to make and will make a unique Christmas gift. This time i eliminated the water and used 12 oz of rootbeer and it turned out better with more rootbeer flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH December 14, 2003

I admit it, I hate root beer. So, I substituted Coca-Cola for the root beer. My kids love it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Hayward November 03, 2003

I love making jelly!! This is really good stuff. I added 1/2 cup of root beer schapps instead of the water for more root beer flavor. It turned out great. I cooked it a little longer just to be sure that the alcohol cooked out.DH wants me to try birch beer next!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Z* September 25, 2003

I love it. It is quite sweet though. I also added a teaspoon of root beer extract. I got 3 250-ml jars and a small dab as a taster. I will certainly make this again. I've made meat balls in grape jelly --just might have to try it in the root beer jelly!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 August 20, 2003

Okay, to be honest with you, I would not have chosen this recipe to make, but Dreamgoddess made me do it. Boy am I glad she did!!! I am the one that is always telling everyone how easy jelly is to make, and this recipe proves me correct. It has got to be the easiest jelly I have ever made. The taste is wonderful. Not at all what I expected (I am not a great big root beer fan). I will definately make this again. It will be wonderful to put into gift baskets. A 5 STAR recipe all the way.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen May 19, 2003

This is a great jelly. I was looking for several different unique kinds, and this was surely one of them! I have been giving them as gifts and rootbeer is definently the most intriguing and requested. I love rootbeer, so I wanted to bring out the taste some more and added about a teaspoon of rootbeer flavoring (found in market near extracts).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JellyPrincess April 25, 2003

We loved this recipe. I too was canning jellies and jams and ran across this. I had never heard of root beer jelly so had to try. DS was in heaven that I used his favorite flavor of soda in a product he could use for breakfast!!! Needless to say this was a hit with everyone. Thank you for this recipe, too fun.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 18, 2013

I don't know what I love the most about this recipe - that it comes from 1935, that it's unusual and so differant, that it's so EASY to prepare or that it just plain taste good. I guess all of the above. Have to say I was pretty leary about it but figured why not try and so glad I did. I did add a teaspoon of root beer extract just to make sure it had enough flavor, other than that followed exactly. Next time I think I'll double the recipe so I can use the whole bottle of pectin. I was afraid it wouldn't set with just have but it was perfect. Thanks DiB's for a fun, interesting and yummy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 October 23, 2009

As crazy as this recipe sounds...it's Fabulous!! I made it along with cherry cola, and cola flavors for Christmas gifts for the neighbors last year. Everyone loves it! However, the recipe only makes 4 1/2 pint jars of jelly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Labor Nurse July 11, 2009

I will not rate this since I did not have good results with this. I wanted to make this for Christmas gifts this year. Like another reviewer, my recipe only made 1 1/2 pints, not the 6 1/2 like recipe stated. I followed the recipe, only adding dram of rootbeer extract to add more of a rootbeer flavor, also like other reviewers suggested. The Certo liguid pectin was in two pouches, I added only one. The end result was a pretty colored jelly, but it was very thick. I had some on toast, and while the taste was not bad, it was not great either. I was so hoping to like this. I may give it another try, and if I do I will come back and rate this. I am glad so many had good success with this, but for me I will stick with your Candy Apple Jelly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula December 10, 2007
Root Beer Jelly