Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Root Beer Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Root Beer Jelly

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2002

      As strange as this recipe may sound, my curiousity overcame me, and I had to try it. My whole family loves this jelly. It is great put on waffles, or on PBJ sandwiches. Try it! It's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      I was making fruit jam when I came across this recipe. I just had to try it. It came out wonderful. I am planning to make several batches of this recipe, the candy apple jelly recipe and the banana marmilade recipe to give to friends for christmas with a half gallon of ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      This is a really great recipe. My batch only ended up making 1 1/2 pints on my first try, but I will definately try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      The first time I made this exactly according to the recipe, and it wasn't quite strong enough for my taste, but I didn't have any rootbeer extract, so ever since I've just put in an entire 12oz bottle of pop (minus one sip for the cook) and left out the 1/2 cup of water. The color and flavor are stronger that way. I've made this recipe several times recently with different kinds of pop; rootbeer, orange cream, and grape. I think the grape is my favorite so far. Tip, use the liquid pectin as stated in the recipe. Once, I was out of liquid pectin, and tried to make a batch of orange cream jelly with this recipe and a package of powdered pectin. I got a very liquidy, very sweet syrup. Great for italian sodas, but if you want jelly, use liquid pectin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      I am back to review this again. The first time I made this was in 2003 and had suchwonder ful success with it I am back again. What a wonderful recipe. The soft drink choices are endless!! I used Mello Yello and IBC cream soda this time around with wonderful results and taste!! I urge beginners and everyone to try this! Is very easy and very good!! You MUST use liquid pectin!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      where I live, liquid Certo is sold in a box of 2-85 ml packages. I found 1-85 ml pkg. work great with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      I was quite interested so, I made this and we LOVE it! I also added a teaspoon of root beer extract to "punch" up the root beer flavour, quite tasty! My next project is "orange cream"soda jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      First off, this makes 3 and a half x 1/2 pint jars. No jelly with less than 5 cups of ingredients makes 6 cups of product. That being said, this turned out excellent. I used 12 oz of root beer, no water, a 3oz packet of liquid Certo and it jelled great. I don't care for root beer at all, but my family loves it. My SO tasted out of the half jar and declared "This is great!".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      I enjoyed making this. I tried it using Dr. Pepper. I used the whole can of soda and a pkg. of Certo instead of water and it gelled out nicely. My only problem was convincing my conservative friends to actually try it. Once I brought it out they all sampled it on a cracker and were fine with it, no oohs and ahhs though. Upon surveying them, they all seem willing to try the orange creme once I make that. I'd like to make a Blackberry Vernors also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      After processing in a hot water bath, you can turn upside down on a towel. This hurries the sealing process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      Just made this Jelly for the third time. It so easy to make and will make a unique Christmas gift. This time i eliminated the water and used 12 oz of rootbeer and it turned out better with more rootbeer flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      I admit it, I hate root beer. So, I substituted Coca-Cola for the root beer. My kids love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      I love making jelly!! This is really good stuff. I added 1/2 cup of root beer schapps instead of the water for more root beer flavor. It turned out great. I cooked it a little longer just to be sure that the alcohol cooked out.DH wants me to try birch beer next!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      I love it. It is quite sweet though. I also added a teaspoon of root beer extract. I got 3 250-ml jars and a small dab as a taster. I will certainly make this again. I've made meat balls in grape jelly --just might have to try it in the root beer jelly!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      Okay, to be honest with you, I would not have chosen this recipe to make, but Dreamgoddess made me do it. Boy am I glad she did!!! I am the one that is always telling everyone how easy jelly is to make, and this recipe proves me correct. It has got to be the easiest jelly I have ever made. The taste is wonderful. Not at all what I expected (I am not a great big root beer fan). I will definately make this again. It will be wonderful to put into gift baskets. A 5 STAR recipe all the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2003

      This is a great jelly. I was looking for several different unique kinds, and this was surely one of them! I have been giving them as gifts and rootbeer is definently the most intriguing and requested. I love rootbeer, so I wanted to bring out the taste some more and added about a teaspoon of rootbeer flavoring (found in market near extracts).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      We loved this recipe. I too was canning jellies and jams and ran across this. I had never heard of root beer jelly so had to try. DS was in heaven that I used his favorite flavor of soda in a product he could use for breakfast!!! Needless to say this was a hit with everyone. Thank you for this recipe, too fun.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      I don't know what I love the most about this recipe - that it comes from 1935, that it's unusual and so differant, that it's so EASY to prepare or that it just plain taste good. I guess all of the above. Have to say I was pretty leary about it but figured why not try and so glad I did. I did add a teaspoon of root beer extract just to make sure it had enough flavor, other than that followed exactly. Next time I think I'll double the recipe so I can use the whole bottle of pectin. I was afraid it wouldn't set with just have but it was perfect. Thanks DiB's for a fun, interesting and yummy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      As crazy as this recipe sounds...it's Fabulous!! I made it along with cherry cola, and cola flavors for Christmas gifts for the neighbors last year. Everyone loves it! However, the recipe only makes 4 1/2 pint jars of jelly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I will not rate this since I did not have good results with this. I wanted to make this for Christmas gifts this year. Like another reviewer, my recipe only made 1 1/2 pints, not the 6 1/2 like recipe stated. I followed the recipe, only adding dram of rootbeer extract to add more of a rootbeer flavor, also like other reviewers suggested. The Certo liguid pectin was in two pouches, I added only one. The end result was a pretty colored jelly, but it was very thick. I had some on toast, and while the taste was not bad, it was not great either. I was so hoping to like this. I may give it another try, and if I do I will come back and rate this. I am glad so many had good success with this, but for me I will stick with your Candy Apple Jelly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Root Beer Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (964 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 372.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.3 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 96.1 g
    384%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid pectin

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites