37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As strange as this recipe may sound, my curiousity overcame me, and I had to try it. My whole family loves this jelly. It is great put on waffles, or on PBJ sandwiches. Try it! It's great!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekkah August 13, 2002

I was making fruit jam when I came across this recipe. I just had to try it. It came out wonderful. I am planning to make several batches of this recipe, the candy apple jelly recipe and the banana marmilade recipe to give to friends for christmas with a half gallon of ice cream.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya Searle September 23, 2002

This is a really great recipe. My batch only ended up making 1 1/2 pints on my first try, but I will definately try again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkgriffith November 10, 2002

The first time I made this exactly according to the recipe, and it wasn't quite strong enough for my taste, but I didn't have any rootbeer extract, so ever since I've just put in an entire 12oz bottle of pop (minus one sip for the cook) and left out the 1/2 cup of water. The color and flavor are stronger that way. I've made this recipe several times recently with different kinds of pop; rootbeer, orange cream, and grape. I think the grape is my favorite so far. Tip, use the liquid pectin as stated in the recipe. Once, I was out of liquid pectin, and tried to make a batch of orange cream jelly with this recipe and a package of powdered pectin. I got a very liquidy, very sweet syrup. Great for italian sodas, but if you want jelly, use liquid pectin.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jxenja August 17, 2003

I am back to review this again. The first time I made this was in 2003 and had suchwonder ful success with it I am back again. What a wonderful recipe. The soft drink choices are endless!! I used Mello Yello and IBC cream soda this time around with wonderful results and taste!! I urge beginners and everyone to try this! Is very easy and very good!! You MUST use liquid pectin!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy in Fla May 07, 2005

where I live, liquid Certo is sold in a box of 2-85 ml packages. I found 1-85 ml pkg. work great with this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martina September 02, 2003

I was quite interested so, I made this and we LOVE it! I also added a teaspoon of root beer extract to "punch" up the root beer flavour, quite tasty! My next project is "orange cream"soda jelly.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crze2ck July 27, 2003

First off, this makes 3 and a half x 1/2 pint jars. No jelly with less than 5 cups of ingredients makes 6 cups of product. That being said, this turned out excellent. I used 12 oz of root beer, no water, a 3oz packet of liquid Certo and it jelled great. I don't care for root beer at all, but my family loves it. My SO tasted out of the half jar and declared "This is great!".

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiny kitchen, big chef October 30, 2009

I enjoyed making this. I tried it using Dr. Pepper. I used the whole can of soda and a pkg. of Certo instead of water and it gelled out nicely. My only problem was convincing my conservative friends to actually try it. Once I brought it out they all sampled it on a cracker and were fine with it, no oohs and ahhs though. Upon surveying them, they all seem willing to try the orange creme once I make that. I'd like to make a Blackberry Vernors also.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potatoes Browning July 29, 2008

After processing in a hot water bath, you can turn upside down on a towel. This hurries the sealing process.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song February 09, 2006
Root Beer Jelly