13 Reviews

I used vanilla ice cream. Next time I'll add a little more ice cream to make it creamier and thicker. Nice drink for the kids but nothing says you can't add a shot of your favorite liqueur for the adults. Made for 2012 Zaar Cookbook Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 March 11, 2012

I couldn't find the Rootbeer Float Ice Cream so used vanilla and we all loved this. It was so refreshing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol August 05, 2011

Brought back wonderful memories drinking this! I didnt have any luck finding the Breyer's root beer float ice cream so I used french vanilla and we enjoyed a thick creamy shake. Cant go wrong with A & W root beer! Thank you so much CoffeeB for sharing! Made and reviewed for the Veg* N Swap #13 in the Vegetarian/Vegan Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 18, 2009

Oh my gosh YUM!!! Next time I will tweak a bit to get a little thicker, but the taste was so good!! Couldn't find the ice cream listed, so I used some chocolate chip I had left over from another recipe. THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe June 02, 2009

this is as good as it gets for a float, I topped mine with some whipped cream :) loved it, thanks Sue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 07, 2009

I made this for myself and 16 yo DS, as he is off for Easter Break, for an afternoon treat!! I made his with real vanilla ice cream and AW rootbeer, but made mine the light vanilla ice cream and diet AW rootbeer!! I tried to get the Breyer's rootbeer flavored ice cream, as I have seen it in my store before, but it wasn't there this time, so had to sub the vanilla!! But for us in the end, what is not to love about this recipe!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe!! Made for Stars tag!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 April 06, 2009

Delicious! My kids just loved this and so did I!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 February 13, 2009

Easy, fun and just like the old days. Great recipe. When I was growing up we had root beer floats all the time, this brought back memories. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser February 09, 2009
Root Beer Float Shake