38 Reviews

What a fun cookie! I halved the recipe and still ended up with alot! I served these at my ladies Bible study group and they were devoured in no time! Everyone loved the fact that they were so different for the ordinary. The cookies held their "drop" shape while they baked, so if you are planning to ice them I would recommend rolling them into balls and flattening slightly. However these cookies are super even without the added icing! Thanks for sharing this fun treat!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * May 04, 2003

These cookies are very good. Soft and chewy the way a good cookie should be.:) The only thing I would say is to make a double batch of the frosting. One batch did not quite cover all and with double you can put on a little extra. Very yummy.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth.B April 27, 2003

What a delicious, unexpected flavor! Zatarains makes root beer extract and sells it online for much less than other vendors, so I ordered some for this recipe and am I ever glad I did! Mine ended up crisp, but as Pamela said they do hold their drop shape unless you flatten them out... we enjoyed them as is. I actually tripled the frosting recipe in order to cover all of the cookies, and boy are they delicious. I can't wait to share them with others and get their reaction... the flavor is such a wonderful surprise! Thanks so much for this outstanding recipe!!! Dianne

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady September 13, 2003

I took these to a family gathering and they were as big a hit with the adults as with the kids. I will definitely make these again and again. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NettieMae September 14, 2003

Kudos for an original idea! Very easy to prepare. I purchased root beer extract through Watkins products--I like their quality. I would also recommend doubling the icing recipe---I really had to scrape the bowl to get all the cookies frosted.
I took a chance in making these cookies, as I wasn't sure how many family members are root beer fans (I know my son is). I think you may have to let folks know ahead of time that these are root beer-flavored. The brain can make some pretty strange associations when it doesn't have all the information needed, and when my husband, daughter and son tried to guess the flavor, they came up with Pepto-Bismol and cough syrup (Why would anyone make a dessert with those flavors?--lol). I told them it was root beer, and they all said "OH YEAH!" I made the cookies yesterday (full recipe), and they are already half gone.
P.S: I also use the root beer extract in the sauce when making pulled pork.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graciebonica October 07, 2010

What a wonderful idea! My first batch was half the recipe and I used McCormicks Root Beer Concentrate. Soft and yummy!!!!! With the second batch, I used the entire recipe and was able to find Old Hickory Brand Root Beer Extract. Not as much flavor as before AND the color was horrible, the frosting is the color of wet cement. Taste is ok, but still prefer the root beer concentrate. Thanks so much for such a unique cookie. jarsmm101

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryellen Wample October 17, 2003

I have to revamp my original rating of three stars. I froze them and I now find that they seemed to have picked up the root beer flavour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 June 19, 2003

Very little flavor, very disappointing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hdanley2878 November 17, 2015

Refreshingly different and scrumptious! I made exactly 5 dozen cookies (60) and I did have to double the frosting for them all. Lovely to find something so unique. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making April 16, 2014

Awesome!! I love the uniqueness of the recipe & the flavour, too. Cookies are nice & moist & fancied up with the frosting. I just used skim milk in place of the buttermilk & half & half and still found the cookies to be rich enough. I also had to double the frosting to do all the cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb April 24, 2011
Root Beer Float Cookies