13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

4 1/4 stars. This is a pretty good chai that is lightly flavoured. I used rice milk to be dairy free and simmered everything in a bit less water for about 17 minutes, as simmering rice milk from previous experience makes it separate. I used dark brown sugar crystals for the sugar and do recommend brown. I had to use 2 Rooibos tea bags as I didn't have loose leaves. I think this needs more spice but I liked the amount of sugar which wasn't too sweet, just perfect. Made for Comfort Cafe - Snow Queens, Round 01/10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat January 23, 2010

I am sorry but this ended up being sort of flat...didn't have the depth of flavor that I am used to in a chai tea. Anything that I may have done wrong? I think I followed the recipe to a tee. Will have to think on it and maybe try another day. Thank you for posting. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph July 01, 2008

This was pretty good. I don't think I'll make it again, but I think that's just more of my personal preference. I love Chai tea, but this just wasn't what I expected. Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York June 23, 2008

This was OK... The Netherlands and South Africa share an intermingled past, so Rooibos tea has been available here for years and years. It has a *massive* amount of vitamin C and NO tannin ! I drink Rooibos "pure" every day, no milk, no sugar etc and I also always steep mine for a long time. I wanted to try this variation to see how it compared to my "usual". The smell was lovely.. the cinnamon stitcks and ginger especially fragerant as this simmered. I must be honest however and say that I found that the taste didn't match up nearly well enough to the smell. Looking at the other reviews it must be entirely personal, and maybe I am so used to the taste of my pure Rooibos that this just doesn't taste right to me? Please see my rating system: 2 stars for a recipe that I was very pleased to try but which didn't suit my taste in the end. Other reviewers obviously enjoy it very much so PLEASE don't let my review put anyone off in any way. Give it a go for yourself. Rooibos is extremely natural and healthy so if this recipe does it for you, then go for it! Thanks for the chance to at least try something different with my favourite hot drink :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 04, 2007

I can only echo the praise of the others. This was a wonderful addition to my breakfast this morning. I simply love the spices and I also used non fat milk. I used a 3" cinnamon stick for a one serving amount and kept it in my cup while enjoying the chai.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 27, 2007

Very nice! I'm not sure if everyone knows that to get the most benefits out of Rooibus you need to boil it for a long while. So this recipe is perfect for it. I LOVED the spices! I used 4 organic Rooibus tea bags and half and half. I also added Splenda when it was done because I like it sweet! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed February 18, 2007

Celestial Seasonings makes a very good Roobius Chai which left me wondering of it was worth the effort to make my own. Fortunately, it was. This was spicy and delicious. I made mine with non-fat milk and sprinkled in a little non-fat milk powder to make it a little bit thicker. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 01, 2006

Hi, I love chai tea and this is delightful. A very different and not to sweet. It is also great cold!! Thanks for posting. Be well.Nan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nannie jo June 24, 2006

Sorry to say that I really didn't enjoy this and I'm not sure why because I usually really like chai. Maybe I let it steep for too long (the full 20 minutes) as it tasted almost muddy and it really wasn't sweet at all; I'm used to chai being almost too sweet. I tried it both iced and hot and was surprised to find that I actually liked it better iced. It was worth a try though. Thanks anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle June 21, 2006

Mmmm...warm, comforting & not too sweet. I didn't have whole milk so I used 1/2 & 1/2 & it worked just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo January 10, 2006
Rooibos Chai