8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe it is so good. It is the perfect comfort food. I love it because there's lots of cheese in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cupcake-Princess December 09, 2009

I am sorry to say that I was disaptointed.I did use orzo,which we love,but the dish was dry and did not have much flavor,perhaps I did something wrong...but made it just like the recipe says.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Els November 22, 2009

I thought this was really good. My DH said it was just okay. I cut the recipe in half and still had a ton leftover. I tried it cold today and thought it was quite good. I'm trying to figure out what to add to serve as a cold salad tomorrow. I like the idea of adding corn I think that would work well. It was quick and easy and I would make it again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starweaver July 07, 2009

This was very good. I wasn't quite sure what to expect. The family liked it very much. I added some corn to it and liked that. DH loved the cheese on top. I would like to try it with the orzo and broccoli as another reviewer stated. Maybe adding some ground beef. Made and Reviewed for 123 Hit Wonders tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ January 14, 2009

this rice was so easy and rich. DH and I loved it. Thanks for sharing with us. Made just as directed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GardenCook December 16, 2008

This has been a family favorite for years. I like to use it when I have leftover white rice. It's quick and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E_Street_Cyndi December 02, 2008

Yikes, I should have looked at the calorie content before deciding to make this one. I cut the butter and sour cream both in half, which cut the calories down to about 600 per serving. It was still cheesy and delicious and if it was good enough for Ronald Reagan, it's good enough for my family. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply November 06, 2008

I tried this for supper tonight. But when I went to get the rice, I was out. I improvised. I had a 16 oz. bag of Orzo and I cooked that. I used 4 cups of that and gave the rest to my son who eats his pasta with no sauce of any kind. Then, I followed the recipe exactly from there on. The only thing that the recipe didn't specify was when to add the sour cream. I added it when I added the cottage cheese to the onion and mixed it well. Then followed the recipe as written from there. It is a very good recipe and simple to make. The flavor of the cottage cheese mixed with the sour cream is yummy. And, the green chilies added dimension as well. YUM! The orzo worked quite well and I think it was just as good as rice would have been. I think one could add some chopped cooked broccoli as well and it would still be a good recipe. Thanks for sharing this, it is really good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OceanLuvinGranny October 29, 2008
Ronald Reagan's Rancho Rice