Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Romantic Garlic Tomato Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Romantic Garlic Tomato Sauce

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2008

      GREAT TASTING SAUCE, & just the thing for my son & his wife who are wanna be vegetarians! Made up a double batch &, after tasting it for myself, sent it home with them! Almost reduced the amount of chili flakes, but am glad that I didn't ~ The taste was just right! [Made & reviewed for one of my adoptees for this Spring's Pick-A-Chef]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I made this for DH and it met with an ok response. I used piri piri in the absence of chili flakes and that did pack a punch so he wasn't complaining there, he just said that other recipes I have tried tasted even better, so I think that it's a case of we are spoiled by Zaar and getting rather choosey. The good news it that DH said he wouldn't mind to have this again. And from the Pasta Fanatic that's not bad going. Please see my rating system: This one gets a lovely 4 stars. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      We really enjoyed this fast and easy sauce. I only used 1 tsp of the chili flakes as I used 3 hot Italian sausage in to bring the heat up a wee bit more. I also cut the salt down too (personal preference). Will be making this alot for our pasta. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Great and easy recipe! I added a can of mushrooms as well because I had them on hand and liked the flavor, and since I didn't measure chili flakes, I think I put in a little too much, but that was my fault. Overall, loved the sauce and will make again! Thanks for sharing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Amazing sauce. Will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This was delicious, and very easy to make. I added some Italian Sausage, which was very good. It is quite spicy, though; we served a different sauce to our small children. I will most definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was very good and easy to make, tasting mellow yet fresh. I added some sauteed onion to the sauce, as per another reviewer's suggestion. I loved the little bite provided by the chili flakes. Served with spaghetti squash and Tofu Nut Balls (Tofu Nut Balls).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      This is a very tasty sauce. It gets 5 stars here as my husbands comment was "I don't like tomato sauce but this is your best attempt so far". He seems to think it needs meat in it. I, on the other hand, love tomato sauce and I agree that this is one of my best attempts. I did decrease the pepper flakes as I have 2 people here who do not like anything too hot. You are so right that it smells delicious. How can you go wrong with garlic and basil. Mmmm. Thanks Susan for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      Wonderful sauce! I love the garlicky flavor. My kitchen smelled great while this was cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      I loved this delicious, simple sauce. I confess, I make a very similar sauce, but I don't add water and I cook it only 15 minutes, so my herbs (either thyme or basil) permeate the tomato sauce. This sauce was just as nice, and maybe the chili flakes get a longer time to settle in as a dominant flavor. This is like an Arabiatta Sauce - very nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      For the ease of this, it was wonderful! I added some ground sirloin and I served it over Cappellini. I guess it is romantic, it packs some heat! :) Thank you ms.susan!!! Made during ZWT3 by a Floozie - Remembering Amy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Really delicious. I was tempted to add a chopped onion, but refrained from doing so. The sauce was rich, and thick and tasted most wonderfully of garlic and basil. I served it over linguine and we were all immensely satisfied. I will try it again with onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Romantic Garlic Tomato Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.1
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    53%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1021.4 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites