12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

GREAT TASTING SAUCE, & just the thing for my son & his wife who are wanna be vegetarians! Made up a double batch &, after tasting it for myself, sent it home with them! Almost reduced the amount of chili flakes, but am glad that I didn't ~ The taste was just right! [Made & reviewed for one of my adoptees for this Spring's Pick-A-Chef]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 15, 2008

I made this for DH and it met with an ok response. I used piri piri in the absence of chili flakes and that did pack a punch so he wasn't complaining there, he just said that other recipes I have tried tasted even better, so I think that it's a case of we are spoiled by Zaar and getting rather choosey. The good news it that DH said he wouldn't mind to have this again. And from the Pasta Fanatic that's not bad going. Please see my rating system: This one gets a lovely 4 stars. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch July 07, 2007

We really enjoyed this fast and easy sauce. I only used 1 tsp of the chili flakes as I used 3 hot Italian sausage in to bring the heat up a wee bit more. I also cut the salt down too (personal preference). Will be making this alot for our pasta. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n February 14, 2010

Great and easy recipe! I added a can of mushrooms as well because I had them on hand and liked the flavor, and since I didn't measure chili flakes, I think I put in a little too much, but that was my fault. Overall, loved the sauce and will make again! Thanks for sharing...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrapbook Lori February 01, 2010

Amazing sauce. Will be making this again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ama 786 August 14, 2009

This was delicious, and very easy to make. I added some Italian Sausage, which was very good. It is quite spicy, though; we served a different sauce to our small children. I will most definately make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmichellem March 20, 2008

This was very good and easy to make, tasting mellow yet fresh. I added some sauteed onion to the sauce, as per another reviewer's suggestion. I loved the little bite provided by the chili flakes. Served with spaghetti squash and Tofu Nut Balls (Tofu Nut Balls).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lumberjackie January 30, 2008

This is a very tasty sauce. It gets 5 stars here as my husbands comment was "I don't like tomato sauce but this is your best attempt so far". He seems to think it needs meat in it. I, on the other hand, love tomato sauce and I agree that this is one of my best attempts. I did decrease the pepper flakes as I have 2 people here who do not like anything too hot. You are so right that it smells delicious. How can you go wrong with garlic and basil. Mmmm. Thanks Susan for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV July 15, 2007

Wonderful sauce! I love the garlicky flavor. My kitchen smelled great while this was cooking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bert's Kitchen Witch July 07, 2007

I loved this delicious, simple sauce. I confess, I make a very similar sauce, but I don't add water and I cook it only 15 minutes, so my herbs (either thyme or basil) permeate the tomato sauce. This sauce was just as nice, and maybe the chili flakes get a longer time to settle in as a dominant flavor. This is like an Arabiatta Sauce - very nice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mme M July 02, 2007
Romantic Garlic Tomato Sauce