65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this a couple of times for company after first trying it out with my family. Everyone loved it! I've never had this at Macaroni Grill but two different couples, after having this at our house, went to Macaroni Grill and ordered this. Both came back to tell me that mine was better. There's no better review than that!!! :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pondinthecountry July 22, 2010

I read the reviews and set aside an hour so no stress. I cut the recipe in half, not quite enough sauce, but the taste was exactly like Macaroni Grill, I get it every time we go. I would also not cook it as long, I like the cheese more in place instead of melted in. Thanks for the recipe!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momoffive12345 March 12, 2011

I LOVED this recipe!! I followed the recipe exactly, I was unsure of the dijon mustard as I don't really care for it but I was pleasently surprised! Even my husband who isn't fond on cream sauces enjoyed it. It took some time but it was well worth it. This is a keeper, thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimb1048 February 18, 2011

This is not at all like the restaurant's. Too strong on the thyme, and the sauce is not flavorful. I followed your recipe - wouldn't make this again... Sorry!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddnl_13003823 September 10, 2011

We've had this dish at the restaurant and this recipe is terrific. Unwilling to spend $26/lb. for prosciutto, I substituted lean ham. (Italians forgive me!) I also substituted half and half for the cream with great final flavor. Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewToRecipes February 06, 2011

Delish, loved this, I have never had it at Macaroni Grill, this is perfect, than you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio January 01, 2011

This was awesome! I only had half & half (instead of heavy cream) & it turned out great! I also reduced both the mustard & rosemary to 1/2 teaspoon each (personal taste). Didn't bother baking it in the oven. Was perfect! This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej July 11, 2010

I always order this when I go to macaroni grill. And honestly I think this was better than the real thing! I was in heaven... honestly was one of best Italian dishes I've ever made (or eaten for that fact)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TakeHomeChef June 08, 2010

I love this dish at Macaroni Grill and my family moved last summer and there is not one within 100 miles of us now. This recipe is the exact duplicate of the original!! My DH kept eating and eating!! I can not thank you enough for posting this recipe. It was easy and delicious. I made it with the a Wilted Spinach Salad with roasted garlic and toasted goat cheese. It was better than eating it in the resturant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smurfette the Chef May 26, 2010

Perfect! I wouldn't change a thing. It tastes identically like Romano's. Good job!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii May 08, 2010
Romano's Macaroni Grill Penne Rustica by Todd Wilbur