Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Romano's Macaroni Grill Penne Rustica by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Romano's Macaroni Grill Penne Rustica by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2010

      I've made this a couple of times for company after first trying it out with my family. Everyone loved it! I've never had this at Macaroni Grill but two different couples, after having this at our house, went to Macaroni Grill and ordered this. Both came back to tell me that mine was better. There's no better review than that!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      I read the reviews and set aside an hour so no stress. I cut the recipe in half, not quite enough sauce, but the taste was exactly like Macaroni Grill, I get it every time we go. I would also not cook it as long, I like the cheese more in place instead of melted in. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      I LOVED this recipe!! I followed the recipe exactly, I was unsure of the dijon mustard as I don't really care for it but I was pleasently surprised! Even my husband who isn't fond on cream sauces enjoyed it. It took some time but it was well worth it. This is a keeper, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      This is not at all like the restaurant's. Too strong on the thyme, and the sauce is not flavorful. I followed your recipe - wouldn't make this again... Sorry!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      We've had this dish at the restaurant and this recipe is terrific. Unwilling to spend $26/lb. for prosciutto, I substituted lean ham. (Italians forgive me!) I also substituted half and half for the cream with great final flavor. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Delish, loved this, I have never had it at Macaroni Grill, this is perfect, than you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      This was awesome! I only had half & half (instead of heavy cream) & it turned out great! I also reduced both the mustard & rosemary to 1/2 teaspoon each (personal taste). Didn't bother baking it in the oven. Was perfect! This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      I always order this when I go to macaroni grill. And honestly I think this was better than the real thing! I was in heaven... honestly was one of best Italian dishes I've ever made (or eaten for that fact)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I love this dish at Macaroni Grill and my family moved last summer and there is not one within 100 miles of us now. This recipe is the exact duplicate of the original!! My DH kept eating and eating!! I can not thank you enough for posting this recipe. It was easy and delicious. I made it with the a Wilted Spinach Salad with roasted garlic and toasted goat cheese. It was better than eating it in the resturant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Perfect! I wouldn't change a thing. It tastes identically like Romano's. Good job!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      This recipe turned out just like the entree at the Macaroni Grill, but it took a long time to make. Be warned! Start at least an hour before you want to eat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      My husband really loves this dish and this is all he ever orders when we go to Macaroni Grill. I tried that it was very close. The flavor was very good, however I would not use as much pasta since the dish at the restaraunt has more sauce to pasta ratio. We also recall the sauce at the restaraunt has more of a kick, next time I will add more cayenne pepper. Otherwise, this was very good and my kids loved it too! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I kept to the ingredients but left out the mustard but addeed Artichoke hearts. I pan fried the chicken and coated it in flower, Paprika, and pepper. I also cooked the shrimp in a pan and dusted it with Paprika.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! Taste's exactly like The Macaroni Grill's penne rustica. Amazing! Makes a ton of pasta.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      The sauce that went over the noodles was terrific. Did not like the taste of the proscuitto, so would definitely use ham as someone else suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Yummy! The only thing I did was to use dried rosemary instead of fresh, and I left out the shrimp. Tasted yummy though, thanks for posting! I think all in all it took me about an hour. I would definitely recommend it, although I like to cook a little lower fat recipes so this will be an occasional dish for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      This is our family's favorite meal. I have tried it with scallops as well. The sauce is perfecly balanced and oh so rich. The bomb!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      OMG. Rarely do copy cat recipes meet the quality of the original. This one does, exceeds it actually. Macaroni Grill closed about a year ago here and this was my FAVORITE dish there. I omitted chicken and used 3/4 pound of jumbo shrimp. Next time will use 1+ pounds. Subbed brandy (2 T) for marsala. Layered diced pimentos inside vs. topping. Absolutely amazing; made it to Best of 2009 Cookbook. If only I could find a recipe for their amazing rosemary bread. Divided into two casseroles and froze one. Will post back later how the frozen one turns out. After seeing the ingredients I know why the orig was so good, lots of fat :) but for a splurge so worth it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      This tastes EXACTLY like the restaurant version! I divided everything into two 8 x 8 pyrex dishes, omitted the shrimp (because my husband is allergic to shellfish and I always wanted him to try this dish), and also used the packaged/precooked Oscar Meyer chicken. It was still a bit labor-intensive for this simple cook, but SO worth the effort to be able to make Penne Rustica at home. No typed words can adequately express how grateful I am to Ms Ladybug for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      This was really fantastic. It provided 4-5 hearty servings with leftovers (several lunches, which were also delish!) A few changes. I used a rotisserie chicken because I had one. However, 2 chix breasts didn't provide enough meat compared to the amount of pasta for my DH and the big 20-something guys that live here. Next time I'll use 3 chix breasts. Since I didn't have any more chicken on hand, I threw on 12 more shrimp and it was perfect. (I keep frozen uncooked shrimp onhand, they thaw in a few minutes.) Grilling the shrimp gave the dish a terrific smokey taste that was perfect with the creamy sauce. I used bacon instead of prosciuitto, which I realize changes the taste of the dish slightly. If I were having company, i'd probably go get some, but for us, the bacon was a perfect sub. (What's better than chicken, shrimp and bacon in a creamy cheesy sauce?) Also, I combined all the ingredients in the pasta pot, mixed well and then poursed into a large oval baking dish. Also, 500 degrees seemed too hot as the topping was starting to burn about 1/2 thru the baking time, so I turned heat down a bit. Next time I will bake a little longer at 450 degrees. Thanks for sharing. I'm ready to make this one again -- a great family OR company dish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Romano's Macaroni Grill Penne Rustica by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (899 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1426.6
     
    Calories from Fat 676
    47%
    Total Fat 75.2 g
    115%
    Saturated Fat 40.1 g
    200%
    Cholesterol 291.0 mg
    97%
    Sodium 3255.2 mg
    135%
    Total Carbohydrate 116.5 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 14.0 g
    56%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 65.9 g
    131%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    shrimp

    prosciutto

    rosemary


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes