36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found this recipe on another website and have made it several times. It is perfect and feeds quite the crowd. I always make 1.5 the sauce then split it and put one casserole in the freezer for later since it's so time consuming. LOVE IT THOUGH!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairestoneofall February 12, 2009

Oh wow! I couldn't tell that this was made at home -it was exactly like the Macaroni Grill's Penne Rustica. I did make some changes though - I used proscuitto (simply b/c that's what Macaroni Grill uses) and I opted to use roasted red peppers instead of the pimento. I also added a small amount (@ 1/2 tsp garlic powder to the sauce) and some emeril's essence. Wow this was ultra yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newlywedws March 13, 2007

I also made this for my BF and it was way too heavy. So this time I am cutting down on the butter and cream. I also tossed some fresh spinach into it and YUMMY.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of 3 hungry boys October 16, 2011

I just want to give credit for this recipe. It's amazing. I fell in love with this dish when I went to the restaurant over 5 years ago and since then make it for special occasions family birthdays, Mother's day etc. My teenage son requests every year for his birthday. This Recipe is fantastic and comes closest if not better than the real thing. I now have to double the recipe because it's gone in minutes with everyone going back for 2nds and 3rds Enjoy and make it as it states - it'll be a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noelbunch August 30, 2014

I made this last night with chicken marsala..delicious!! Thanks for the recipe. I fell in love with this dish after having it at Macaroni Grill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimendaruff August 19, 2013

I just finished making this recipe. It was delicious and I highly recommend it. I gave the recipe only four stars however because the proportions were a bit off. As some have mentioned there is WAY too much butter called for. I had to let some of the butter drain off while it was cooling down. Honestly I would probably use half the amount called for. Some people recommended not using as much cream which is definitely accurate. I made four servings which was plenty for four people, and I used 2 cups of cream. That was fine, but I could have gotten away with only 1 3/4 cups cream. Recipe took about two hours to make and cost me a little under $40 for four servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rzimm001 April 09, 2011

I always order this when I go to Macaroni Grill so I wanted to try to make it at home. It was a lot of work and the recipe is not well written. It takes too long to make especially since you are using 8 cups of heavy cream and all that butter. Ours came out way too oily. It tasted good but we had to drain in all that oil...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coolnewyorican December 30, 2010

This sounds like a great recipe.
People need to notice the content amounts and that it says a serving of 15.
Enter a lower number and the recipe will change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csykora November 05, 2010

This sounds amazing! But, I looked at the fat content and I would have to starve for a week to make this worth it. I am afraid I would enjoy and there goes the heart and cholesterol. lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dennison7 October 30, 2010
Romano's Macaroni Grill Penne Rustica