Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Romano's Macaroni Grill Chicken Scaloppine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Romano's Macaroni Grill Chicken Scaloppine

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2011

      While I've never been to Macaroni Grill, this recipe deserves all the 5 star reviews it's gotten and more. While it was a little involved to make the end result was more than worth it. I did make a few minor adjustments made on other reviewers comments and personal preferance but not enough to really change the recipe much and feel it'd be just as good as directed. Cut the recipe in half for me and DH, my chicken breasts were really large so pounded them thin to make sure they would cook through, added onion and garlic to the saute and when mixing an extra tablespoon of capers as we just love them and wanted to really taste them. Also, a larger adjustment was that I just could NOT bring myself to make this with a full pound of butter and serve to my family so cut that in half - thinking if it didn't thicken I'd just use some corn starch. Well, not a problem - it still turned out wonderful and DH is already asking if there's any left overs. This is truly a company worthy dish that I'd be proud to serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      There is way too much butter in this recipe. We have had this many times at Macaroni Grill....and when making based on this recipe, we only used 1/4 stick of butter, Not 4 sticks.<br/>Way too much. Otherwise, this recipe is great......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This sauce is a modern rendition of Julia Child's Buerre Blanc sauce. The acidic base of the reduced lemon and wine is what helps hold the butter in suspension. Now days we add cream to stabilize it and make it easier on us. Don't microwave it to rewarm it. It breaks down. Reheat gently and wisk till smooth. If it becomes broken (butter separates from lemon/wine base) you can fix it by heating it and wisking in a bit more !!BUTTER!! If you reduce the butter in the recipe your sauce will be much more acidic. Yes it is rich. But it is intense, and you don't need much. (I know you want to dunk your bread in it, but try to resist.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      We had this last night for dinner. We did do a couple things different. After we cooked the chicken we went ahead and cut it into pieces just for easier consumption. Also, the next time we make it, we may cut the lemon requirement down by a quarter. We couldn't find panchetta so we used a cured country ham instead and it worked just fine! It still had that same salty taste. We didn't want to use bacon since it has a distinct flavor of its own and in my opinion in tends to overpower. This is my favorite dish at MG and I was ecstatic to have it at home! We will be making this over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This recipe is delicious and tastes almost exactly like the one at Macaroni Grill! I have made this about five times because my husband loves it, but due to the high calorie content we only eat it on special occasions. I also only add about 1 stick of butter instead of a whole lb. For those who can't find pancetta in the supermarket, you can substitute bacon instead and it tastes just fine. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      My wife and I just went to Macaroni Grill two weeks ago, and this recipe tastes just like the Chicken Scaloppine that I had. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This was excellent. It is the dish I get almost everytime I go to Romano's and have searched for the recipe. I added a few slice black olives to mine just because we really like them. But absolutely tasted like Romano's. I am passing the recipe on to my mom and plan on making it again this week! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      My Mom made this when I was over for dinner one night and we ALL raved over it - even my Dad who is not a big italian fan! She just did the chicken and sauce and we had another type of pasta with it so I can't comment on the other stuff - but the sauce...oh that was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      I am a HUGE Mac Grill Chicken Scallopini fan. This was the first recipe I have tried in my quest to copy the dish, and I have to say that I loved it!!! I did use the whole lb. of butter to make the sauce, and the recipe is perfect. Make certain that you let the wine and lemon juice reduce by 1/3 before adding the cream. I substituted a light cream for the heavy cream, because it made me feel better about using an entire lb. of butter! lol!! As well, I couldn't find Pancetta (Italian Bacon) so I subsituted Prosciutto (Italian Ham). The prosciutto is not as fatty, so I cooked it in a tablespoon of olive oil. Because I knew we could not eat all of the recipe in one sitting, I did not mix the sauce with the chicken mix and vegetables, but rather placed them in separate dishes for each guest to assemble on his plate. For left-overs the next day I simply reheated the sauce alone in a small pan, on low heat. The microwave does tend to separate the sauce and can not be used to reheat very well. The pan reheat, however, turned out great. Good luck and Happy Cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      This was very good, but I think the sauce needs some tweaking. It was very rich, but the flavor lacked something. I'll definitely make this dish again, but next time I'll turn the sauce into a garlic cream sauce. Also, I thought 1 lb. was an obscene amount of butter, so I used just one stick. I made half a recipe of chicken, but still ended up with enough chicken and vegetables for a satisfying meal for four women, plus enough leftovers for three. Another note about the sauce: When I reduced the butter to 1 stick, I only ended up with enough sauce for the first four servings. I saved the chicken and veggies and reheated them in the oven the next night, and made a fresh batch of sauce. This meal was as good as the first, but I still had some leftovers, so I mixed the sauce and chicken together and microwaved them for lunch the next day. It turns out this sauce just doesn't hold up well in the microwave. The butter separated out, and it wasn't very good at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Have made this a few times, and have found the following helpful. Use Lemon/Salt combo to season the flour. Coat the pan with olive oil, and put ground garlic, parsley, and whatever other spices you like on the pan...it will of course sear into the chicken. Add some real bacon bits to the pancetta/mushroom/other stuff combo. The recipe is great, I have found that those little tweaks really bring the flavor out even more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Just like at Macaroni Grill, I get this all the time, at least I used to!!! Halved the recipe but made the full amount of the lemon butter sauce because I like my food saucy(see my name?) Make sure you pound out the chicken til its really thin, don't overcook it and then even though I halved the recipe I still used the full 6oz. of pancetta. I cooked the chicken as directed, removed the chicken from the pan and then I cooked the pancetta, sliced thinly, with the mushrooms in the same skillet as the chicken was in. Then I added the capers, artichoke hearts and sauteed that together with the pancetta and the mushrooms for just a few minutes. Then added some of the lemon butter sauce to that and then I put the already cooked chicken breasts or tenders in that mixture and let it cook together on a very low flame for few minutes until pasta was done. Served it with grated parmesan cheese. Very good, very easy, even better than at the restaurant because you can increase the flavors as you like them. Try it!!!!Update: Made again and realized that when I made it the first time, I mentioned that I halved the recipe, however, I did still use the same amounts of everything EXCEPT for the amount of chicken. The other thing I noticed was for the lemon butter sauce, the recipe calls for 4 sticks of butter!!!!! Must be a typo. I used the amounts of sauce ingredients as stated and I maybe, maybe used 3/4 of one stick of sweet butter. No wonder no one else has made this recipe!! I am a true sauce lover and there is no way you could use 4 sticks of butter in the sauce and have it be edible!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This was so good, my husband LOVED it and wants me to make it again! I did not make the lemon butter sauce ~ I don't care for it. The flavor is better without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Thank you sooo much for posting this recipe. TGIFridays used to make this recipe, they discontinued it. Don't know why-it was scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      this may even be better than Macaroni Grill's. This is the only dish I have ever ordered and I love it, but the closest one is 50 miles so we don't go there enought. Now I don't have to!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      OMG! I LOVE this recipe, thank you so much for posting it! Macaroni Grill is my favorite, the closest to me is over 3 hours, and every time I get there I get the same thing - Chicken Scallopini! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      This is my all time favorite recipe....I Love Macaroni Grill. I like being able to make it from home whenever I want. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Oh my goodness! This is exactly like the Macaroni Grill's which is one of my all time favorite meals. The closest Macaroni Grill is about 80 miles from where I live so I am so excited to be able to make this at home now. Thank you SOOOOO much for posting this recipe! I will definitely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      This was delicious. I made it mostly as written. I didn't have any pancetta, or artichoke hearts but didn't want to wait. I didn't dredge the chicken (boneless/skinless)but just browned it in a bit of butter and olive oil. I actually halved the sauce recipe because I couldn't bring myself to use a whole pound of butter. It was delicious. It was lemony, but not crazy lemony, and buttery, but not heavy. I would use the sauce recipe just on pasta alone - it was that good - but it was excellent with the chicken as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      I have made this many times. It is so delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Romano's Macaroni Grill Chicken Scaloppine

    Serving Size: 1 (781 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2113.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1137
    53%
    Total Fat 126.4 g
    194%
    Saturated Fat 71.5 g
    357%
    Cholesterol 424.0 mg
    141%
    Sodium 1087.6 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 167.1 g
    55%
    Dietary Fiber 14.2 g
    57%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 75.9 g
    151%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pancetta

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes