12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this recipe! I have never been to a Macaroni Grill so I can't compare it but I have had chicken marsala before and this version was delish. I made as posted except to leave out the shallot (didn't have one on hand) and I doubled the sauce. I served over rice. There wasn't a bit left. Thanks for posting a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook October 26, 2007

Very nice chicken marsala dish. Easy to prepare and it had a nice flavor. Although we liked it, I felt there was something missing when compared with some of the other marsala dishes I've reviewed. I think it could be the proportion of marsala and chicken stock which differs a bit from the other recipes I've reviewed using veal. We served the chicken over angel hair pasta and grated fresh parmesan reggiano cheese over the top. Thank you for a nice meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny September 03, 2008

I thought this was good, but I messed it up somewhere. To me it didn't taste like Macaroni Grill's, but it wasn't bad. The sauce wasn't quite right. I tried to add a bit more wine, but that made it too sweet. So maybe next time I'll use some extra chicken sauce instead on wine. Thanks for the recipe, I'll just have to tweak it a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Mommy July 19, 2007

This is an incredibly flavorful dish. I cut down on the butter by half and it was still very rich. Have to admit, I was licking the plate to make sure I'd gotten every drop of the incredible sauce. Beware....your stove top will be very very messy when you are done, due to the spattering when the chicken is browning.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva May 17, 2007

I tripled this recipe to feed a group visiting from out of town. They thought it was wonderful! My mom bought the ingredients for me and accidentally bought sweet Marsala (my fault, I didn't specify). However, I added some extra chicken stock and a bit of soy sauce to help balance out the sweeter wine, and it was fine. I did add a little cornstarch to thicken it because I was worried it would be too sticky sweet if I allowed it to thicken solely through reduction. My only complaint is that we were a little short on sauce; people were putting it on the buttered noodles I served with the dish. I would definitely make half again as much sauce next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellyjobell April 14, 2014

Turned out Awesome! Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkremina October 18, 2013

Chicken marsala is my fiance's favorite dish, but I've never made it myself. I came across this recipe and it sounded perfect. The dish turned out delicious! Very flavorful and easy to prepare. I served it with garlic roasted mashed potatoes. Doubling the sauce is a must! Next time I may even triple it so we can have enough to put on top of the potatoes. I left half of the mushroom mixture in the pan when cooking down the sauce to infuse some of that flavor into the topping. It turned out really well (my fiance had two helpings. Always a good sign :). This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TinaVee43 May 08, 2013

Very good and easy to make. I did not have shallots on hand so I diced half a small onion and added a little cream to the sauce. Next time I will double the sauce but otherwise great dish. DH loved it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom of 3 hungry boys June 05, 2012

Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynnster February 07, 2011

Delicious! I served mine with Macaroni Grill Rosemary Bread and and Carrabba's Bread Dipping Spice with olive oil. Great meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover January 19, 2011
Romano's Macaroni Grill Chicken Marsala