Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Romano's Macaroni Grill Chicken Cannelloni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Romano's Macaroni Grill Chicken Cannelloni

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2010

      I made this recipe over the weekend. Everyone loved it. And it was easy to make. I used cottage cheese (drained for a couple hours thru cheesecloth) instead of the ricotta and it was fine. Next time I would add some garlic. I might also add some fresh basil to the sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This is my favorite dish at Macaroni Grill, and when I found this recipe and tried it - with no changes - it was phenomenal! It is very rich, so a little goes a long way. This served with a nice herb foccacia bread and a side salad is a fantastic meal. My husband had one bite and asked when I was going to make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This was fabulous! I made several changes, because the recipe I was actually hoping to duplicate was Maggiano's Chicken Spinach Manicotti. I doubled the chicken and spinach and eliminated the tomatoes and marinara. I poached and shredded the chicken, and blanched the spinach in boiling water for 20-30 seconds until wilted. I also added about 1/2 cup of asiago/romano/parmesan shredded cheese mixture to the filling. I made my own alfredo sauce, and topped with the 3 oz. Parmesan plus another 3 oz. of the asiago/romano mix. Again, I made a lot of changes but the recipe was a great base and it turned out really wonderful. I think it was even better than the restaurant version!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      After eating this at macaroni grill I had to try it myself. The first time I made it with the tomatoes and they were a bit overwhelming but it was still amazing. I've only made this with a homemade alfredo sauce which you must do! Sauté some garlic in butter then when golden add heavy whipping cream until it starts to boil and then reduce heat while continually stirring. then add shredded parm/asiago/Romano as well as basil and oregano. Stir until cheese is melted. You'll never buy alfredo sauce again. The last time I made this dish I put a few spoons of sundried tomato basil in the filling and it is just right. I've made the pasta from scratch a few times and that is fun but the strorebought manicotti works great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Where is the beef, I mean the chicken?? I found the chicken to ricotta ratio to be way off compared to the restaurant's version. I used 1/2 the ricotta cheese & still tasted mostly like ricotta & spinach cannelloni. I think the recipe needs way more chicken (and less ricotta).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      Very good, as is. Found as another reviewer did, that egg roll wrappers give the final product a much lighter and delicate quality. Also, instead of combining the marinara and alfredo sauce, I prefer to pour on the marinara and then zig zag the top with the alfredo. Using low fat or fat free cheeses and Ragu light parmesan alfredo substantially reduces the amount of fat in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      EASY AND DELICIOIUS.. used large wonton papers instead of lasagna noodles. Add fresh garlic and Tastefully Simple's Onion Onion and a little parmesan cheese to the chicken mix.
      Dropped the marina sauce on top of the alfredo instead of mixing. Simply delicious and looks elegant. Served with fresh steamed broccoli and fresh sliced pears w/grated cheddar cheese...A good family meal, the kids 8 and 13th loved it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      Love this! I have made it several times with only a couple of changes, homemade noodles, marinara, and alfredo sauces, and omitting the sun dried tomatoes. Excellent, the whole family loves it, thank you so much!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Loved this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

    • on February 02, 2008

      Fantastic! I sprinkled some italian seasoning on my chicken and baked at 350 for 20 minutes before dicing. I omitted the sun-dried tomatoes and used a larger amount of marinara versus alfredo (about 2 to 1). The result was wonderful. Instead of lasagna noodles I used the large egg roll wrappers available in the produce section of my store. These worked beautifully and are a bit more delicate which is perfect for canneloni.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I have made this recipe before, and it is spot on to the Macaroni Grill version. The ONLY things I change are making my own homemade sauces (homemade marinara and an asiago cream sauce, which the restaurant uses)and subbing diced roma tomatoes for the sundried tomatoes, I am not a big fan of those. Also, if you have a blender or food processor, put the chicken in there instead of dicing it, it comes out much closer in texture to the restaurant version. If you prefer it chunky, follow this, it's all about what you like!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This was a fabulous copy of Macaroni Grill's version- always my favorite when I go there (this sauce is also a perfect copy)! I loved it with sun-dried tomatoes, but ommitted them the second time I made this (hubby is not a fan of them). I doubled the spinach and added some Italian seasoning. This amount made a double batch for us, so I was able to cover one tray with foil and freeze it. Tow weeks later I pulled it out for an easy dinner, and it cooked up just as well as the original night's tray! Thanks SO much for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      Excellent, and tastes just like the restaurant version. I would recommend cooking the spinach before combining into the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      I used the pre-cooked chicken strips in the meat case - this was excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      I found this recipe to be simple to make and wonderful to eat! I made the recipe exactly as it calls for and would not change a thing. I like sun dried tomatoes, but don't like it when their flavor overpowers a dish. I did not think they did in this recipe. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Very good! I omitted the sun-dried tomatoes (don’t like) and the ricotta cheese (cut calories). To make the filling, I cut three small chicken breasts in half and boiled in a saucepan until done then diced it up. I microwaved frozen choppped spinach for about 5 minutes (3 min less than actual cook time) and then added 1/4 cup to the chicken. Added the cheese and spices, mixed well, then stuffed into store bought cannelloni shells. Do use quality brands for the sauce that top the cannelloni, it will matter. I used Bertolli Alfred Sauce w/aged parmesan and also their Marinara with burgundy wine. I have to mention that I cut the ricotta cheese to cut calories but it wasn’t missed at all. I think it might have been too rich for us if I had used it. For the filling, I also bought a block of mozzarella cheese and grated it myself for a more homemade taste. I highly recommend this dish! Thanks KelBel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      I made a double quantity of this deliciously flavoursome recipe, and have therefore been able to put some meals in the freezer. I made this almost exactly to the recipe. My only changes were to double the spinach and omit the sun-dried tomatoes (a personal taste preference: I find sun-dried tomatoes a bit sharp), and to add a small handful of toasted pine nuts to the cannelloni filling. We really enjoyed this, and it was very easy to make. Next time, I’ll add some garlic and some herbs, probably oregano and thyme. Thank you, KelBel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Romano's Macaroni Grill Chicken Cannelloni

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 591.4
     
    Calories from Fat 316
    53%
    Total Fat 35.1 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 18.7 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 134.6 mg
    44%
    Sodium 1858.2 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 41.5 g
    83%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lasagna noodles

    alfredo sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites