8 Reviews

Excellent stew. I prepared it exactly as written including adding cornstarch and water at the end to thicken the broth. I loved the spices used for this dish. Made for ZWT7.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario May 28, 2011

Really good stew. Made it as posted. Would not change it at all. Could be served with pasta, rice or mashed potatoes. Just the right amount and selection of spices to suit our tastes. Spoiled hubby who does not like to compliment food; when asked his opinion, asked if he had to give a number (as in stars) He gave it 4, that is high praise from him, and even better to tell you, he had thirds. Wonder if it would have been even better the next day, had there been left-overs. Lol!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grannydragon March 26, 2008

Excellent stew and it is cooked in the crock pot giving an added plus. After the meat was browned and placed in the crock pot the onions and garlic were also cooked in the skillet. I think that browning both gave a lot of added flavor to the dish. The tomatoes were poured into the skillet to quickly de-glazed and capture all the browned bits from the pan. A little cornstarch and water were added about the last hour of cooking. The stew was served over Spinach and Artichoke Mashed Potatoes for a real taste sensation. Made for ZWT 7.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 06, 2011

Wow - did this ever smell good while it was cooking! The whole house smelled great. The beef came out very tender and the stew had a great flavor. Next time, I think I would add just a little less cinnamon. It was great over mashed potatoes. Thanks mikekey! Made for Aussie Swap #14.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 23, 2008

The meat was tender. Maybe next time I'll omit cloves. My BF told me it was too much. I'll try to add cornstarch next time, cause when I wanted to do it, it was too late. It was in the crockpot for 7 hours. Thanks Mikekey :) Made for 123 hit wonders.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 20, 2007

It just really didn't blow me away. It was good but not good enough to do again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momo st-amand December 09, 2007

Nice Flavor! I did not use cloves because I really don't like the taste. I also could not find stew meat so I used chuck roast and just browned on both sides. When it was finished cooking I just pulled the beef into chunks. Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattio925 September 22, 2007

Superb flavor! I could harldy wait to taste this after smelling it all day! I made no changes to the recipe. Served it over mashed potatoes.... it was excellent! As per the suggestion in step 5, I did add some cornstarch in water near the end of cooking time. I'll use this recipe lots during the chilly winter months. Those spices are just right to warm your bones. Thanx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 24, 2007
Roman Stew (Crock Pot)