Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roman Stew (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roman Stew (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2011

      Excellent stew. I prepared it exactly as written including adding cornstarch and water at the end to thicken the broth. I loved the spices used for this dish. Made for ZWT7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Really good stew. Made it as posted. Would not change it at all. Could be served with pasta, rice or mashed potatoes. Just the right amount and selection of spices to suit our tastes. Spoiled hubby who does not like to compliment food; when asked his opinion, asked if he had to give a number (as in stars) He gave it 4, that is high praise from him, and even better to tell you, he had thirds. Wonder if it would have been even better the next day, had there been left-overs. Lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      Excellent stew and it is cooked in the crock pot giving an added plus. After the meat was browned and placed in the crock pot the onions and garlic were also cooked in the skillet. I think that browning both gave a lot of added flavor to the dish. The tomatoes were poured into the skillet to quickly de-glazed and capture all the browned bits from the pan. A little cornstarch and water were added about the last hour of cooking. The stew was served over Spinach and Artichoke Mashed Potatoes for a real taste sensation. Made for ZWT 7.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Wow - did this ever smell good while it was cooking! The whole house smelled great. The beef came out very tender and the stew had a great flavor. Next time, I think I would add just a little less cinnamon. It was great over mashed potatoes. Thanks mikekey! Made for Aussie Swap #14.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      The meat was tender. Maybe next time I'll omit cloves. My BF told me it was too much. I'll try to add cornstarch next time, cause when I wanted to do it, it was too late. It was in the crockpot for 7 hours. Thanks Mikekey :) Made for 123 hit wonders.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      It just really didn't blow me away. It was good but not good enough to do again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Nice Flavor! I did not use cloves because I really don't like the taste. I also could not find stew meat so I used chuck roast and just browned on both sides. When it was finished cooking I just pulled the beef into chunks. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Superb flavor! I could harldy wait to taste this after smelling it all day! I made no changes to the recipe. Served it over mashed potatoes.... it was excellent! As per the suggestion in step 5, I did add some cornstarch in water near the end of cooking time. I'll use this recipe lots during the chilly winter months. Those spices are just right to warm your bones. Thanx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roman Stew (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.3
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    38%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 108.8 mg
    36%
    Sodium 451.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 37.9 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites