8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very tasty chocolate sugar cookie. I made 3 dozen heart shape cookies and decorated them with red icing. The dough was easy to handle if you follow the instructions to chill it for 1 - 2 hours. Since I wanted to ice this cookie,I didn't sprinkle my pastry cloth with sugar, but used just "a little" flour. I will use this recipe again. It's a great cookie with icing as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shar-on February 10, 2004

Really easy recipe; tasty and not too sweet. Perfect for decorating with icing or eating as is. Our family says "thumbs up!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kc in la December 06, 2009

This dough is easy to make, and to handle. Wrap it up in small individual segments to chill, and it will handle better. It has a mild chocolate flavor. I didn't add any sugar on top, instead dipping the cookies in tempered chocolate and they were perfect - not too sweet or dry or crunchy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RunnerMom February 14, 2009

These are way yummy. For a spin (for my hubby) I used a lined mini cupcake pan, put a small rolled ball of dough into each cup, then I pushed a peanut butter cup into each ball, then I put another ball on top of each p-b cup. I baked them for 9 minutes. They came out PERFECT and WAY YUMMY! I personally like them plain so I made me a couple. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunpalm December 08, 2008

I'm finishing the last batch in the oven now. They are very mildly chocolate and very subtle in sweetness- which makes them perfect for my intended use of double-diping them in chocolate. Thanks for a pleasent twist on a classic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney Elizabeth February 11, 2008

This recipe was very tasty. Pretty much foolproof (which is great for me!). It isn't quite so chocolately as I would have hoped, but it's chocolatey enough so that you can do all sorts of fun icings and toppings to it (I made a blackberry frosting, it was a great topping!). My friends are all amazed at my awesome baking skills now, but really, it's all about the recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyColada February 13, 2007

These were very nice cookies. I used all sorts of shapes! My mum and brother liked them very much. A good base cookie for decorating, in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FancyCat October 02, 2006

These are delicious chocolate cookies! I think I rolled them a bit thinner than 1/4" so they were nice and crispy. The texture/crispiness was amazing. Instead of completely icing these I outlined the cookie shape in a thin piping of dark chocolate. These are great cookies to work with that give great results!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE June 04, 2006
Rolled Chocolate Sugar Cookies